We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveler rating
622
332
176
106
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
332
176
106
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalifornia markettime sharepacific edgeocean viewwood burning fireplacevacation clubsunset loungebig surtownhouse suitefull kitchencarmel highlandspoint lobosmain buildingtwo storyviews are spectacularliving roomroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
947 - 952 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is what I need to say about this hotel, it was located on a prime piece of land, but the amneties need to be updated.

We stayed at this hotel for my girlfriend's birthday. I booked the Townhouse, which was 2 stories, along with a massage and a late check-out. Along with this was a dinner over at their in-house restaurant called "The Pacific's Edge" Restaurant.

The reason why I'm giving this place a 3 out of 5 is because of how expensive this place was to stay, there were a couple of other places I stayed here that were more worth the price, but I wanted to give this place a try since it's Hyatt owned, and their properties are usually cleaned properly, up to date, and well equipped. That wasn't the case for this property. It seems like the electronics (TV, LodgeNET system, and iPod/iPhone dock) wasn't even functioning properly, we had to give them a call 3 times, one for each TV, and the iPhone dock, they spend about 20 minutes for each TV, and the dock they replaced from another unit. It wasn't all bad though, their in-house therapists that we got for our massages did a great job, and the view from the room was completely stunning. They had an in-room jacuzzi, which was completely relaxing, although I would recommend bringing bath salts, they don't provide any and we had to go to the local Safeway just to get some. ^_^

The other part of our trip and this hotel was the "The Pacific's Edge" Restaurant, the ambience was great, there were children and other couples there, so it didn't seem like a strange place, but it was perfect for romance also. Their wine selection was great, but the thing it seemed like they were lacking was the ability to properly cook their food. I have no idea if the prices were based on the location of the restaurant or if they thought they did a spectacular job cooking the food, but I've had food at other restaurants in the Carmel/Monterey area that had great views and ambience for a better price.

In short, I want to make people to be sure to take a look at the hotel's styling before staying there, it may be your make it or break it escape.

Room Tip: Their rooms never get filled during the week, the best thing to do is book for a cheaper room, then there will be an option to upgrade your room at the end for a better value.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments as we want all of our guests to enjoy dining with us, and have a trouble free experience. We are sorry you had issues with some of the items in your room. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and it is our escape from home to go find peace and quiet. The views are amazing and the fire places in each room just makes it more rewarding...nothing like a crackling fire and a fresh ocean breeze.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

We are happy to hear that you stay with us regularly! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We just finished a 3 day stay and enjoyed this resort. Flat iron steak and chicken were delicious but the peanut butter bar was out of this world. This place is pricey. We had the awaken rate which included breakfast. They gave us a dollar limit which did not cover the pricey breakfast! The manager was great in taking care of that mistake. Bell staff was amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queentooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us and that we took care of the mistake with your bill. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is perfect hotel for visiting Carmel-Big Sur region. Very nice rooms and facilities overlooking the ocean. Carmel is 6 minute drive and Big Sur is 15 minutes. Point Lobos state park is 1 mile away. It is a MUST see. Julia Phieffer park on the coast is also must see.

Room Tip: Get ocean view. worth the money
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NHFWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the wonderful local attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We spent 2 evenings in a one bedroom ocean view. Our room had an amazing view with a large deck. The room was clean, large, and comfortable. There was a wood burning fireplace ready to light with plenty of wood and kindling available. Great jacuzzi tub, with no shortage of hot water or pressure. The kitchen was complete, right down to the corkscrew. The room service was fast and the options very sufficient.

We had breakfast both mornings on site on the terrace which had a great view and great overhead heating. We had dinner in the main dining room and the food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lehner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and the wood burning fireplace! We hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews