We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveler rating
622
332
177
106
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
332
177
106
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalifornia markettime sharepacific edgeocean viewwood burning fireplacevacation clubsunset loungebig surtownhouse suitefull kitchencarmel highlandspoint lobosmain buildingtwo storyviews are spectacularliving roomroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
954 - 959 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hotel is nestled on the side of the Carmel highlands area with an excellent view of the beautiful sunset! Staff is friendly and helpful! Pool area is great with a number of hot tubs. Fairly accessible to Carmel and close to the national park. For the cost of this hotel the in room amenities are very weak. No bar, furniture is outdated and very damaged. Carpet is gross and window treatments are very outdated. This is not a $300+ hotel. I am an avid Hyatt guest and the quality of this hotel surely is not up to their standards.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy you enjoyed the beautiful views and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

All the rooms have great views of the ocean. Peaceful, serenity, pure beauty. Not a great place to go with kids though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoy the relaxing property and the beautiful views. We hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Without doubt, the setting at the Hyatt Highlands is spectacular, especially on a clear day. Service was excellent. We enjoyed the lounge in particular, it was a lovely place to sit. The dining experience was equally very nice, the views splendid. The rooms felt rather small, though, and there was nowhere to sit. The notion of a wood-burning fireplace in a bedroom is outdated; not to mention unhealthy. The stale smell of the fireplace was noticeable in the room. We left the pool when smoke from a fire in a nearby room filled the area.

Room Tip: See if they have rooms without a fireplace if you are sensitive to smoke issues.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nativekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry you did not enjoy the wood burning fireplaces in some of our rooms. We sincerely hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The very pricey king ocean view room is musty and small. This is an old hotel that is sea worn. I couldn't stay the smell so we ate the second night and went to our favorite Carmel retreat in the valley called Bernadus. We thought we would try something new as we always stay at bernardus. The Hyatt seemed like a good bet. Not so.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelette4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with stunning views, delicious dining options and warm friendly service for a great experience at our unique property. We are sorry this was not the case with your visit. We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and we hope you will consider visiting our property again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I have been an owner here since 2006 and have never regretted purchasing a Hyatt timeshare. I have visited many of the Hyatt timeshare locations, but am so very glad that this is my home property. The units continue to be upgraded, the kitchens most recently. Though smallish, they provide everything you might need to avoid eating out, allowing you to enjoy the view from your deck. The wood-burning fireplaces are wonderful to enjoy on a cold night and will hopefully never be replaced by gas. For two people they are perfect, more and it would be a bit tight. The location is everything here - as nearly perfect as could be for a Big Sur vacation spot, yet close to the charming village of Carmel and the Monterrey Pennisula.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up - the higher up, the better the ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

We are happy that you enjoy our beautiful property and that you get to visit us frequently! We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews