We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveler rating
630
334
178
107
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
334
178
107
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews california market time share pacific edge ocean view wood burning fireplace vacation club sunset lounge big sur townhouse suite full kitchen carmel highlands point lobos main building two story views are spectacular living room road noise
Filter
Updating list...
971 - 976 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a glorious week at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands resort. We were lucky enough to stay in a one bedroom in the timeshare portion of the resort. The rooms were located on a hill overlooking the beautiful Carmel Highlands coast. Our villa had a full kitchen, a very comfortable living room, king bedroom and a huge bathroom with a large jetted tub and a separate stall shower. The one bedroom could accommodate 2 couples privately, wooden sliding doors separated the bedroom from the living room which had a queen sofa bed. The fireplace in the living room was prepared daily by the housekeeping staff, all that was needed was to strike a match to enjoy a cozy fire. The bathrobes were a nice luxury provided for our use while at the resort to wear in the room or for the short walk to the hot tub.
The resort provided fire pits scattered through out the property for the guests to enjoy at their leisure. The heated pool was close to the main lobby, it was small but well maintained and it was surrounded by nice redwood lounge chairs.
We visited Point Lobos reserve which was nearby and was the highlight of our trip. The hiking trails and the views along California's coastline was spectacular.
We had a very nice breakfast at the California Market restaurant with very good service and amazing views. The Sunset bar was comfortable but the drinks where very expensive. We didn't try the Pacific's Edge restaurant after seeing people walk out because of the poor service and considering the choice of amazing restaurants in nearby Carmel by the Sea. I would love to return to Hyatt's Carmel Highlands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful week with us! The views are amazing and we are glad you enjoyed our California Market! We hope you will join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our review is of the 1-King Bed, Ocean View Room variety,
The view of the ocean off the little deck was spectacular. The room also had a large sliding glass door and the view was even great through it. The room itself was rather smallish, with no true sitting area (except for the enlarged ottoman at the foot of the bed). Bathroom area was almost claustrophobic. The bed was older and was not very comfortable, but the pillows were nice and comfy. This room included some niceties: pair of binoculars to ocean watch with, AM newspaper service (SF Chronicle), nightly turn-down service, firewood/fireplace, mini-fridge, keurig coffee maker, free valet service (use it if you stay in one of the rooms to the west of the main lobby, because of limited parking), and white robes to lounge in.
One of the things I was NOT impressed with was the Ice service -- the Ice machine nearest to out room gave us about 6 total ice cubes in 2 attempts. VERY good thing that room service was around to quickly correct for this problem. In fact, ALL the employees we came in contact with were extemely nice and helpful. Just beware of the call you will probably get on your first night wanting you to attend a "presentation" on the property (HINT: time share..) or to get you to commit to a special deal on additional nights any time during the next year -- we found these rather annoying!
Even though we had a good time here, I'm not so sure that the value is there for the incredible amount of money it cost.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJ4advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received warm, friendly service. We hope you will consider visiting our unique property again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We initially planned to stay only 1 night there, en route from San Francisco to Los Angeles via the Pacific Coast Highway and when we arrived at the place the calm and view were just so incredible that we added a second night, forcing us to get up early to reach LAX and catch our flight home!

The room itself was really nice (although, it might soon benefit from a little lifting), and from the bed, just open the stores and see the trees, hills and ocean. Sunrise and sunset are beautiful. This was just so relaxing, staying there, on the balcony and watching.

The hotel staff was nice at all stages and valet parking is convenient, also we got help with our many suitcases with all the stairs we hd to go to reach our room.

View from the Restaurant was nice too, we took the Valentine's evening prix fixe menu and this is where we have been disappointed: the food whilst good (and "nouvelle cuisine") some of the dishes lacked presentation or quality (my sea bass for great, my wife's veal was undercooked and the plate not warm enough). Appetizer was good but not extraordinary and the dessert a little bit disappointing. We had a great Californian sparkling wine suggested by the sommelier (after I explained him that being French I would not want to taste french champagne, but prefer a good local product). Lastly for the restaurant, service was a little bit simple, style in serving needs to be improved. I'm sure they will.

So overall conclusion is very positive, despite the disappointing restaurant, and yes I would certainly return to this property and take again an Ocean view room.

Business note: Internet access was included in the price and worked well.

Room Tip: You want to rent an Ocean View room and watch sunset/sunrise from the balcony, otherwise it would make little sense to stay there
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageur_Londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback regarding your Valentine's Dinner and we are happy you chose to spend the special evening with us. We are glad you enjoyed the breathtaking views and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We own a timeshare at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands. It is first class all the way. The units are nicely appointed and intimate. A perfect place for a romantic getaway, but we have also brought our two kids (in a 2-bedroom unit) so it works for families as well. The staff is very nice and helpful. Many months of the year are foggy in the highlands which makes the fireplaces and hot tubs a highlight. Starting in October is when the sun comes out - summer months are generally overcast, foggy and cool. Take a hike through the nature reserve across the highway and you will see amazing sights of nature...Take a drive down the Big Sur coastline and have dinner at Rocky Point restaurant at sunset with 360 degree coastline views or head to Carmel and eat at the Post Ranch Inn, drinks at Hog's Breath bar and window shop the local art. Head to Monterey and visit the Aquarium and Cannery Row. The restaurant at the resort The Pacific's Edge is for a special occasion, amazing culinary artistry and views, not cheap - very memorable.
We thoroughly enjoy every visit and will return for years to come.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBbeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed such a wonderful, memorable stay with us! We truly hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This place is easy to review:
Spectacular views
great rooms
great lounge with great staff
great overall staff
terribble breakfast. worst pancakes, had to be out of a box and barely warm food. with no concern from the waiters or manager. Use the in room kitchenette for you breakfasts.

Room Tip: just ask for full ocean view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfcvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful property and stunning views, and we are so sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast and that you did not receive good customer service regarding this. We will look into your comments to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews