We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$200
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $449/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$209
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$184
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$355
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$700
$600
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveler rating
568
320
166
101
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
320
166
101
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalifornia markettime sharepacific edgewood burning fireplaceocean viewbig sursunset loungetownhouse suitefull kitchencarmel highlandspoint lobostwo storymain buildingliving roomroad noisespa tubhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
907 - 912 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel about 2-3 years ago (twice), when they had time-share promotions.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway or a family retreat. This one can be great choice. The ocean view from our room is simply awesome, the balcony overlooking the ocean is great and relaxing, and we also love the size of our room (1 bedroom condo) and the restaurant. The ocean view from the beautiful main restaurant will just make your breath away!

That said, the location of the resort is a big far away from all the tourist attractions (e.g. Carmel and Cannery Row), which can be a good thing and a bad thing. Good - you get a very peaceful and forest-like setting to relax (lots of wood-burning fireplace smells), if you love mother nature that is. The Bad - for younger children, they might be bored, except that they do have a nice swimming pool, but it's NOT heated (at least when we visited it). Overall, we had a great stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are wonderful!
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whchuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

As others have said, it's all about the view here. Note: As I understand it, there is a Hotel portion of the property and an Owners area. We had asked for an upgrade (to a higher/larger unit), but none was available, so I'm assuming we were in the Hotel area of the property.

I wish our room had been larger. The sink area was outside the tub/commode area, but any running water from the sink was very much a "part" of the room sounds. With only 2 of us in there, we still had to coordinate brushing, shaving, etc. The room had a nice-sized closet. We were here for 3 nights, so it was good to be able to hang things. But we had to carefully arrange the room to accommodate our bags, etc. There was also some drawer storage available. The bed was comfortable, the pillows lush, and the towels were nice and thick. Overall very nice, but it was not a large room.

We were about as low on the hill as we could be (albeit on the top floor of our building). After pre-paying months ago, I would have been upset if we were on a lower floor. There was noise from Highway 1 from morning til dusk. After dark it was much quieter as traffic decreased. When walking the grounds, which were SPECTACULAR, it became apparent that being just one building back/up would have been much quieter. The lowest row of buildings blocks the highway noise to some extent. We had a very nice, large, balcony. If you could imagine the road noise being waves breaking (which we could hear at night), it was much easier to listen to...

The smell of burning wood is pervasive in the area. However, we lit our fireplace on the first 2 nights, and by having the draft going up the flue, our room had much less of the smoky smell inside. (I know we were contributing to the overall smell outside however.....) The chambermaids, or someone, made up the fireplace each night, so it was ready to light when we came in for the day. Nice touch.

The biggest surprise for us (first time visitors) was the bar/restaurant. Breakfast here was superb. We would then be out exploring all day and tended to have a larger lunch. This would allow us to sit in the bar area (numerous spots with unbelievable views!) and order from the smaller bar menu for dinner. The nice part about this was we could simply walk to dinner. The bad part is that we didn't get to explore some of the other dinner spots around Carmel that we thought we might visit.

We did have dinner in the restaurant on the last night. It was good, if on the expensive side. After the relaxed bar atmosphere of the previous 2 nights, the service was a bit overwhelming, but that's to be expected in a restaurant of this caliber.

The only other surprise was that we were forced to use valet parking due to only 4-5 spots being offered near the building we were assigned to. The valets were very efficient and the car was ready in practically seconds. But this extra step made it just easier to walk to dinner rather than ordering the car and driving. Not a complaint really, just something to be aware of.

Overall, a very nice stay with heart stopping views.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donhuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is situated in a very beautiful setting amongst the highlands of Carmel. The actual premises are very old; however updates have been made to the rooms in an attempt to modernize and provide luxury. You will be paying a fairly high price for the view, which is wonderful, rather than for the amenities of the room.
This is a sleepy town and the hotel conforms to that genre. The dining room and bar are closed by ten pm.
There is little to do thereafter.
Be advised that most of the rooms are equipped with wood burning fireplaces. The smoke that can prevail in your room and that which resides on the hotel's location is very intense. If you have bronchial issues you will have a difficult time here. I was unable to stay for more then eight hours. Disappointing for such a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We offer several options for dining and entertainment, and our helpful concierge is happy to recommend activities nearby. We are a short drive to many restaurants and options for nightlife, as well as wonderful outdoor activities. We do have wood burning fireplaces for those who prefer them, but we are happy to accommodate room requests whenever possible. We sincerely apologize for your experience, and we do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Highlands Inn is located in a beautiful spot overlooking Monterey Bay. The majority of rooms have ocean views. Each room has a wood burning fireplace which comes in handy during the crisp nights. The rooms are very clean and elegant with parking nearby. Valet parking is also available. Complementary water is provided on the first day. Breakfast is included. The dining room also has a fireplace and a gorgeous view. The food is very good. The only con is the price of the rooms. However, the price is comparable to other high quality hotels in Carmel and Monterey.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

First, this is a review of the Hyatt Vacation Club portion of the resort. These are also part of the Interval International inventory and they do have an attached hotel for non owners.

The inn has very classy grounds, with mountain stream/waterfalls, several hot tubs nestled amongst the trees, and even an outdoor fire area. The rooms had jacuzzi tubs and a fire place, where housekeeping built a ready to light fire every day.

The ocean views are stunning, when the fog isn't heavy. It has a very distinct moutain resort setting, but is not too far from Carmel downtown area -- about a 15 minute drive.

While we did not eat there, it does have a higher end restaurant with stunning views of the coast. There is a great room in the main building with a nice lodge ambience. There is a modest fitness center with nice equipment.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You want to be in the middle of the resort and not close to the entrance road into the resort. There are ground floor units with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews