We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely experience not to miss...”
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience not to miss...”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My husband & I recently stayed at L'Auberge for 2 nights for his birthday. We had never been to Carmel-by-the-sea & wanted to check it out. When we checked in, we were informed that we were upgraded (really? how nice!). Our room (#29) was on the lower floor & absolutely lovely. The bed & pillows were heavenly! The room & bathroom were spacious as well. There was a lovely courtyard that all the rooms faced & at night with the windows open, you could hear the waves of the ocean. The city is so quaint! That being said, the hotels & B&B's are close together. We live in the country & are used to quiet when we sleep. While the hotel & streets were quiet at night, we asked for a room fan to be brought up for white noise. That was all we needed (and honestly, that wasn't necessary). The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful in getting us aquainted with the city, reservations, or any questions that we had. Ellie was wonderful! And George, the manager, was so accomodating. Breakfast was included and was very tasty. The homemade granola was not included on the complementary breakfast, but was well worth paying for. Excellent! Would highly recommend & would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KckbxrSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    67
    36
    14
    10
See reviews for
39
236
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the L'Auberge in late October, 2010. We have stayed in many locations throughout the Monterey Bay area(Spanish Bay, Casa Palmero, among others). But I have to say that the L'Auberge rates high on the list: Their service standards are the highest I have ever witnessed, the staff made us feel at home, the room was extremely comfortable and spacious. And the dinner at L'Auberge was a memorable experience with outstanding food and great wines to match!

This is the place to stay in Carmel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

L'Auberge is an expensive hotel but worth it. The building is a lovely renovate 1929 apartment house with a inner courtyard with flowers and fountains, the permanent water running sound is very relaxing.
Our room #17 was quite confortable and big. King size bed, and a jacuzzi, the wc had heaten floor. There was lots of space and nice closet for our clothes.
The staff has very nice and delicate, and fulfilled all our requests quickly and efficiently.
The restaurant has degustation menu 75$/person that allows you to try real good food. Also, an excellent breakfast, included in our room costs and included cafe, yogurt with fruit, eggs cooked the way we choose and chocolate croissants.
We loved our stay and if we return Carmel, we'll be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarMourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at L'Auberge Carmel for two nights in September. We like small, independent hotels and this one fit the bill perfectly. Our room was small, but comfortable on the second floor and the bathroom was huge. There is a courtyard which was wonderful and secluded from the street. It was great for breakfast (which is included in your room rate) or for a drink before dinner. Since the weather can be a bit cool in Carmel, it also had heaters close to each table. Our only complaint was that it was difficult to get attentive service in the courtyard which meant walking 20 steps to the concierge to make a request.

The 12 table restaurant was wonderful, featuring 3 - 5 course meals where you can select from the menu. We found the service a bit slow for our liking, but the food was varied and prepared very well. The wine list was a tad expensive, but had a great selection of wines from California and France.

The hotel is a block off the main street leading down to the beach, so it was a great location for walking around town and down to the beach. The scenic drive which meanders along the beach was great for a run in the morning as well as for seeing eye-popping waterfront homes. The only downside was that we found the room a bit noisy in the early morning when garbage and delivery trucks make their runs into Carmel.

The hotel is a bit pricey ($375 per night) plus a $25 per night charge for tips and gratuities so you don't have to tip the doorman or room service staff. It is a Relais Chateaux, so we were a bit surprised at the slow service in the restaurant and courtyard. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCouple763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

L'Auberge Carmel is an expensive hotel (rooms are $400+) which tries very hard to be a five star hotel. Unfortunately, the building is a 1929 apartment house and is quite limited by things that cannot be changed. Quite frankly, we did not find our room to be very comfortable and we would not choose stay at L'Auberge again.

Let me explain. The building (especially its exterior features) are lovely. The hotel surrounds a beautiful courtyard which is well maintained, charmingly appointed, and filled with blooming plants. The rooms (at least the one we had, #16) are small and cramped.

Our room had a bed, two straight backed chairs and two small bedside tables. There was also an ottoman at the foot of the bed. There was no chest in the room. All clothing and suitcases had to be left in the closet which made them hard to access. During our three day stay at L'Aubere, we could not unpack.

When we made our resservation, we were told we would have a "Courtyard view room". When we checked in, we were very disappointed as the only "view" to the courtyard was a tiny window at which you would have to stand to barely view the courtyard. To me, that was not a courtyard view. I immediately pointed this out to management. Their response was that our room was an "upgraded special queen bed room with a courtyard view." I notified our travel agent that we were not pleased.) The last day of our stay, the hotel offered to move us to another room, but, by that time, moving would have been an effort, and we chose to stay in our original room.

The room was dark. In addition to the tiny window overlooking the courtyard, there were several other windows, but, unfortunately, the bed was placed in front of them. Very unfortunate as the room was claustrophobic. The room was also painted a drab green/gray that did not make it more cheerful.

Because L'Auberge is not air conditioned, it was necessary to leave as many windows open as possible at night so that the room would not be stuffy. This included the bathroom window. As a result of open windows, you could hear voices in the courtyard at night (it would awaken me) and traffic noise on the street.

Now for the positive: The staff at L'Auberge works very hard. Even though the hotel has no designated parking, the staff makes sure that your car is available any time you need it. Also, an excellent breakfast is served each morning in the restaurant. This is included in your room cost. The restaurant is a charming white tablecloth place. The service there is very good. The breakfast varied each morning but always included great yogurt with fruit, eggs (cooked several different ways), and pastries.

Overall, I think L'Auberge is over priced for what it is. It is a converted 1929 apartment house, complete with a few musty smells. I think the owners/staff have done everything they can to try to overcome the limitations of the space, but haven't succeeded. Our stay there was not particularly comfortable, it was very expensive, and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank perennialgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a great place to stay - right in Carmel. We were there for one night and the staff could not have been more wonderful. My wife and I decided to stay here based upon the reviews and the location rather than because of the restaurant, but much to our pleasant surprise, the restauraunt is the real reason for this gem. We had the four course menu and it was fabulous. If you do nothing else, eat here! It will set you back five bills, but it is worth is!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is our first time staying at L'Auberge Carmel,although not our first time in Carmel. This is a lovely hotel and our room is very comfortable.

I am surprised however, for a hotel in this class that there is no coffee pot in the room. We have traveled from the East Coast and for the first couple of days we wake up at 4AM. Breakfast is not served until 730 AM and the coffee service is not available until 6AM. We called at 510 AM and inquired if we could have coffee earlier. The night auditor said he was doing paperwork and would make it at 6AM. When we checked in we were led to believe it wouldn't be a problem if we woke up prior to 6AM, that someone would be happy to make the coffee a little earlier.
All of this would be solved simply by putting coffee makers in the rooms! The staff caters to us in every other way....it really doesn't make sense that they are seemingly indifferent on this issue.
I would still recommend staying here. We are really enjoying ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
860 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
552 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Property: L'Auberge Carmel
Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing