We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Auberge Carmel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Normandy Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Lobos Lodge(Carmel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wayside Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Lodge(Carmel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
230
81
41
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
81
41
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelais chateauxaubergine restaurantsignature breakfastcharming courtyardturn down serviceeuropean feelsmall touchescookiesbell staffincluded in the room ratebreakfast was includedthe general managerluxury hotelpastryrooms are comfortablea lovely stayfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 381 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Carmel was great. Special city. Cosy , friendly , it was a great plesure to wallk around . Nice shoping , by the way. Very good italian restaurants . The people was ameising , very frendly . Evrything was great but the hotel. Expensiv , looking and smeling old . The room was small , the breakfast poor . I will never recomand it.

Stayed: July 2013
4  Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed with a hot cider, our cases were delivered to our room and our car parking was taken care of. The room, although smaller than on our last visit, was cosy, with coffee,and delicious snacks! The bathroom had underfloor heating which was wonderful and we were provided with robes and slippers.
The chef's sampler dinner was amazing. So many tastes and textures, and real artistry in the presentation, an amazing experience, and expert service throughout.
After a restful night in a comfy bed, the breakfast was nicely served and the croissants delicious.
Our car was returned to us on our departure with little goodies for the journey home.
A fun night away, thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms, with the larger bathrooms. All quite cosy, but the extra space is nice. Also the stairs to the upstairs rooms are hard work for older guests.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I will begin by saying there must be better rooms at this hotel than the one to which we were relegated, room 22, as it was NOT up to well known Relais and Chateau standards nor close to giving value for the $500 we paid for one night.

The room was advertised as a "Courtyard View Queen". In fact, this was misleading as the large group of four windows in this room overlooked a City Hall parking lot, not the courtyard. The sheer curtain that could be closed to give privacy from the parking lot had a very visible hole in it. Shabby, Really! The room is up a very narrow, somewhat steep and winding staircase, not elderly friendly for sure. The room is surprising small with minimal lighting and the closet was absolutely tiny. Think 'small' hotel room size as something one would find acceptable in the 6'eme of Paris only at half the price. Shower stall was also small and with a steeply sloped and slippery flooring.

After our morning showers we discovered there were no slippers, so one had to walk around on a carpet with daily usage by other guests and staff. Then to our dismay, after eying the Nespresso machine since arrival, there was no cream or half/half to be found in the frig. which made the coffee machine unusable for us.

All would be forgiven and no need to write such a poor review if upon arrival there would have been even a small apology from the rather pretentious welcoming staff, like making up an excuse that this room was the only one left or better yet, offer their new guest a small discount while making up the apology about the room size, location and stairs, etc. Although breakfast was included and well served in the Restaurant Dining room we had to pay $15 for 2 espresso lattes (they did come with milk!).

Overall, a huge disappointment as our previous 2 nights were in San Francisco at the Drisco in Pacific Heights where we had a splendid stay in a very spacious City View Suite (views of SF) with far superior room amenities and amazing breakfast with cappuccinos included at only 2/3 the price of this hotel in Carmel. Basically, I felt it was a rip, but if you can avoid room 22, and you have to be in Carmel, it might be OK.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank alexofsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Carmel for the weekend and stayed at this wonderful boutique hotel. Sure it's expensive but i could not find a single reason that it wasn't worth it. The check in process was welcoming, including fetching or car from a parking lot next door and getting all our bags out. We felt like we were in our own bedroom given how comfortable and homey it was. It also came with a Bose speaker system and Nespresso coffee maker. We were visiting the area to run a half marathon in Monteray. There was a knock on our door at exactly 4am as we requested delivering a packed breakfast including exactly what we asked for. When we got downstairs our car was at the entrance and there were two bottles of water in the cup holders. There's also a nice treat awaiting you when you return to your room after dinner! Go! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNYC980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Carmel is a great getaway with a diversity of things to do - beach, hiking, shopping, dining, and simply relaxing. We did all that and having L'Auberge Carmel to retreat to in the evening was the topping each day. Rooms are comfortable with the beds super luxurious and spacious modern bathrooms with heated floors! The ultimate is the quiet and lovely courtyard "patio" with tables/chairs - was so nice to relax here and felt like home.

Have to compliment the breakfast that is included for guests. Delicious and especially the breads and pastries! Fresh orange juice! Lingered over breakfast both mornings - great start to the day.

You have to stay here when in Carmel! (The reason didn't give perfect 5 stars is that the bedrooms may soon need some changing in furniture due to wear (not the perfect bed, just the other furniture pieces). Go to Point Lobos National Park - it is absolutely amazing and scenic - wonderful hiking and not too strenuous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews