We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We wanted to spend our 40th wedding anniversary in a special place and picked Carmel by the Sea. This small quaint hotel was wonderful. Quaint, but charming. Room was adorable but thee service was the best we have ever seen. Cookies and milk at night, a menu the first night in the restaurant with out names and special occasion on it. A very special place. Great valet service.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor If staying during a warm time. No air conditioning and the second story is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bshadrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    53
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
31
210
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff was over the top do anything possible for you! They thought of every little detail it is one of my top 5 best ever hotels! It should be on everyones must stay places I really can't say enough about it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is one block off Ocean Avenue, the main commercial street of Carmel By The Sea, so it is close to shops and pleasant walking. It is quiet and peaceful. The rooms and bathrooms are a nice size. The staff could not be more helpful. Valet parking is part of the service fee and very efficient. Turndown service includes homemade cookies and milk. Homemade caramels are a guest treat. If you have trouble with stairs, this may not be the place for you. The rooms are entered off of a charming courtyard which has a rather steep flight of stairs. The second story rooms have additional stairs.

Room Tip: I had a nice room 27 on the first level of the courtyard, looking out on Monte Verde. It had a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked two rooms for five nights to celebrate my parent's 50 Anniversary. The staff was tremendously friendly. Great location to explore the shops and restaurants. Loved the cookies and milk at night. Great wifi reception in the rooms too

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserstuhl, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Carmel is a San Francisco weekend getaway place, also worthwhile for others. It offers high quality shopping and dining in a wonderful ambiance. Prices reflect the environment but are worth it. We stayed at L'Auberge a special house in US built on experiences from Bohemia in Balkans, Europe almost hundred years ago.

Service was perfect and the rooms very nice and the best was the open air lounge in the middle of the house.

Vallet parking was included and the service generally was great.

Breakfast was included but the right side of the menu costed extra which we understood afterwards - our mistake.

If you want to see how US little cities used to look like go to Carmel. If you want to pamper yourself, go to L'Auberge.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms but all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tunkete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel 24rooms, no gym but stillmust stay . Incredible little courtyard that reminds you of Europeand is very inviting . Great rooms and don' t miss out on the chocolate chip cookies and milk at turndown, even if your on a diet lol. Easy access to shopping and all. Will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixmontreal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

L'Auberge is a lovely oasis in the middle of Carmel. The hotel is small, only 20-ish rooms. We had the Queen with a Japanese soaking tub. The room is much smaller than I usually get, but the ambience of the hotel more than made up for the room size. It is pricey, but again, I felt well worth it. The bed was superbly comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, with radiant heated floors. The breakfast was lovely. The courtyard is wonderful. Literally felt pampered, the staff is that exceptional. We could have stayed much longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Property: L'Auberge Carmel
Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing