We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks for a wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a charming place! Our room was very cozy yet spacious. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. As an added bonus, a delicious breakfast was served daily. Jen was very helpful offering advice and travel tips. I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbenton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    122
    44
    12
    8
See reviews for
78
154
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

When we walked in to The Green Lantern Inn in Carmel it immediately reminded me of childhood summers in the 1960's and 70's in southeast Ireland. This b&b Inn has an old world magical feel to it. We stayed in The Birch room which was comfortable, clean and cosy. A fridge in the bathroom, while odd in another location, somehow wasn't at all odd here! A short walk from The Green Lantern was the absolutely magnificent beach. There are also many top class restaurants and shops to browse very close by. Breakfast is excellent and we also had some wine and cheese in the late afternoon in the reception area. All in all this is a lovely place to stay and we were sorry to leave in the end.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredGent1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The grounds of the Green Lantern are beautifully tended; they're lovely to walk through and look at the flowers and foliage. The rooms need a bit of care. They are older, kind of small with bathrooms that are also small. The bed was comfortable. Homes in this area are very close together, but the walk to the beautiful beach is short and pretty.

Breakfast was okay; not really much out of the ordinary. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was in the same building as the office and we could hear noise from that. Ask for a room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've fallen in love! With Carmel! And where better to stay than the beautifully old fashioned, gentile, cosy and welcoming Green Lantern. Both Carmel and the Green Lantern are a blast from the past, in the very nicest way possible. From the warm welcome to the cosy accommodation to the scrumptious breakfast, and not forgetting the lovey surprise of nibbles of cheese, crackers and fruit, these made our sadly brief stay in Carmel one that I will long to repeat again sometime in the future. If you're looking for a stop off on a US west coast road trip as we were, look no further than Carmel and the Green Lantern as an oasis of calm. If it's a longer trip to Carmel that you're planning, close the Green Lantern and relax in the beautiful, comfortable surroundings knowing that at least one person on this earth, me, is green with envy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollonemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Green Lantern Inn. Very attentive innkeeper, cosy and clean rooms, a full breakfast spread, a collection of DVDs and books to borrow from the reception area ... And location was great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
439 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We've stayed at this bungalow-style B&B for a number of years and always come back. The rooms are always clean, beds comfortable and bathrooms basic. Decor is tasteful antique. Each small bungalow is surrounded by pretty gardens. Good coffee and homemade goodies are provided for breakfast (complimentary),
The Green Lantern is a block off Carmel's main drag (Ocean Avenue) and about three short blocks to the iconic beach.
Inexpensive (we paid $110.00 for a double) with a staff that's helpful and always smiling. Plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floors of the bungalows/buildings are best for tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueNWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights there and absolutely loved it. The location is perfect - close to the beach and to Ocean Ave. - a great shopping and eating area. If you like places with charm and personality this place is it. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable, and we made good use of the fridge. The breakfast/gathering room was vintage comfortable, and very welcoming. Breakfast and afternoon snack time were excellent and both Jen and Greta were so friendly and helpful. We loved the uniqueness of the Green Lantern Inn, and would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeannWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Property: Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel
Green Lantern Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing