We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“quirky wee b and b” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #15 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
348 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“quirky wee b and b”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in the holly house, bathroom downstairs, fridge, micro in the middle and bed at the top. Very unusual, reminded me of a hobbit hole! Any way the low down
Breakfast - good could not complain even made waffles - OK its not the kinda breakfast you would get in scotland or for that matter the UK, but, it was still good.
Location 10min tops to the center 10min tops to the beach - perfect
The staff were realy helpful and very friendly, top marks there.
wi fi - free

The room we had had no air con. It was very warm when we stayed but with the windows open air con was not an issue, no noise from out side, very quiet.

the room was expensive BUTnot by carmel standards, I would come back here again. The Mrs loved it.

Made for good photos

Room Tip: The Holly house was a blast, but probably not suited to the infirm. So if you are able bodied it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn_Toulose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    111
    43
    11
    8
See reviews for
65
146
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent two nights here to celebrate my 75th....very cozy, nothing fancy, but great space! Clean comfortable. Kitchen, living room, and nice bedroom, and a nice gas fireplace.
A little to many plastic flowers. Very nice lady who run the cottages, she is very accommodating!
The cottages are off the beaten path.
If you are looking for a nice small cottage, that allows dogs, this is certainly not a bad choice. It is a little dated.
Breakfasts served, as well as cheese and wine in the early evening....

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josmshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you are looking for 'fancy', this is not for you. It is very European in feel, small but very clean rooms, a wonderful common area and gardens, terrific breakfast, all at a very reasonable price for the area, heck, for anywhere. Love it.

Room Tip: The ones with a little patio are just the greatest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Green Lantern. Although the rooms are old, they are clean and the location is great. The breakfast and afternoon snacks make up for the rooms being slightly rundown. I would definately stay here again. The price was very reasonable for Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is our second time staying here. We first stayed in 1999. We came back to celebrate our 40th anniversary and we are so glad that we did! The room was lovely and private. The staff is so warm and welcoming. The breakfast is very nice and afternoon snacks are great. We would buy a bottle of wine in town and then come back and get some cheese crackers and whatever the hot item was for the day and take it out to the garden. It was wonderful. We thank them fr making our five days relaxing and memorable.

Room Tip: Can't get the swimming pool to unselect. They do not have one. Any room one is great. We had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2grandmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Clean and cute and very friendly staff. As others have noted, it's not ultra modern, but that's a virtue. Everything's in fine shape, and it's a lovely, charming place to stay. Excellent, generous breakfast; you can even make your own waffles! Carmel itself was a bit too hoity-toity for our tastes, but it's a fine launching pad for a trip down the magnificent coast to Big Sur, and this is a fine economical place to stay. Plan to have lunch and dinner elsewhere though- restos are very pricey in Carmel (better options nearby in Monterey)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankW-Dr_Bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I guess the quirky nature of this property is entirely in keeping with the arty farty village of Carmel by the sea. I stayed in a small 'turret' topped building named Holly which offered appalling headroom, hopeless access, a very narrow staircase to get to the bed, which was located in a loft. The shower was tiny (and I am very slim), the bathroom was difficult to get into and the walls appeared to be paper thin as the noise from the adjoining room made sleep near impossible. However, those issues aside, it's quaint and whilst I wouldn't want to stay in this room for more than a couple of nights, for an overnighter it was quite adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Property: Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing