We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location on the coast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
La Malbaie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location on the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff was welcoming and helpful getting around places in Carmel. The neighborhood is very safe and clean. The beach is at 5 minutes by foot. There are a few goods restaurants nearby. Room was very nice, clean and quiet. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The best we had in a bed and breakfast. We recommend the Green Lantern to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yzzabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    110
    43
    11
    8
See reviews for
65
146
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary. Chose third floor walk-up room with fire place...smart move. Clean, quite and easy check-in. Very pleasant front desk clerk. Close to Ocean Ave and the beach. In making reservations ask for price first and ask if they discount for AAA. A little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: They have rooms with fireplaces at extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequentraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here the week before Thanksgiving on our Honeymoon as a last minute decision. We were in Southern California and driving up the coast and wanted to stop for a few days in the Carmel area. We found through Trip Advisor an awesome room rate deal and booked it for the next day for two nights! The staff are incredibly nice and helpful. We arrived late in the evening and they were very accomodating! Parking was easy right out from of the inn. Complementary breakfast included a warm quiche, fruit, waffles, hot tea, coffee, cocoa, etc. The rooms look a little dated (like cute grandmother's house style), but very clean and cozy. It was very cold when we stayed here. The heater in the room was mounted to the wall and set to come on/off through out the night. Small heater, but very powerful and warm! We loved staying here, and would definitely come back again soon! Easy to find, great location, 1 block from the main drag. 4 Blocks from the beach, and less than 20 mins to Monterey!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Charming and well located B & B within easy walking distance of Ocean Avenue shopping and Carmel beach. Pretty outside but awful in the rooms which need serious renovation. I did not get value for my money in terms of the room accommodation (through Expedia, $152.23 per night + $17.23 in taxes). In "Walnut", there was no window I could open and it got very stuffy during the day during Thanksgiving week. A fan was provided but it was inadequate to cool off the room during the daytime when the sun was out. The showerhead was so low that at 5'9" I had to bend down to get under it. No safety bars were installed in the shower, either. The bathroom cabinet was scraped and dented and the trim around it needed to be caulked.

The outside covered area for ice contained an old and dirty microwave. Another guest reported a black widow web inside the area above the doorframe.

A very nice breakfast is provided with your rate and the staff is always friendly and helpful.

This was my second visit but I will not return. The hotel is getting too run down and the lack of A/C (even in Carmel!) is a problem.

Room Tip: Do not select Walnut. No windows to open and directly backs to kitchen of reception area. Some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neighborTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Romantic little cottages in quiet road in Carmel. Clean cute rooms (distributed in different cottages) very friendly staff. Nice snacks for the afternoon tea. Healthy and good breakfast (fresh fruits, different kind of breads, nice choice of teas), some cheese would have been nice. Only a few blocks from the beach and the village center, everything can be reached by foot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night whilst traveling down Hwy 1 to LA. We stayed in the Pine room a small bedroom and bathroom within a larger cottage building. The decor is a little dated but everything was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable.
The B&B is close to the beach and we had a lovely walk around the area taking in the quirky and beautiful houses in Carmel. The B&B puts on tasty afternoon snacks and there is always tea and coffee facilities available. We also loved the breakfast, a good selection of cereal, fruit, toast, bagels, make you own waffles etc.
The staff were friendly and helpful. I wold love to go back to Carmel and would book to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_schof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Decided to stay in Carmel and after an internet search found the Green Lantern. Fantastic location, not far from the beach and the main shopping areas. The rooms are small but clean. The staff were helpful. A very relaxing place to stay. Enjoyed breakfast and ended talking to the other guests

Room Tip: rooms are small so if you have a lot of luggage I would not book the cheaper basic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Property: Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing