We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Decided to stay in Carmel and after an internet search found the Green Lantern. Fantastic location, not far from the beach and the main shopping areas. The rooms are small but clean. The staff were helpful. A very relaxing place to stay. Enjoyed breakfast and ended talking to the other guests

Room Tip: rooms are small so if you have a lot of luggage I would not book the cheaper basic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    123
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
163
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent two peaceful nights in the Elm room which is at the back of the property away from the road. The room was lovely and comfortable, decorated in a charming older style with a huge comfortable bed. Breakfasts and afternoon tea served in a communal room were complimentary and delicious. The motel is just a short walk from the shops and restaurants in Carmel. It is also not far from the beach. Angled parking on the road is adequate. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and the staff. We were able to take advantage of a good room rate offered which made it very good value. We would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: anything but the Elm room so that it available for us next time we visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marknz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a wonderful get-away in Carmel. The Green Lantern Inn was everything that was promised and more. The staff could not have been more helpful if they tried. Always with a smile. They enjoy their jobs and it shows. If you stay here please try their breakfast. It is a must. Rooms are well appointed (I stayed in Holly) and the sounds of the ocean at night were wonderful. A note though, Please be aware of height requirements and also age when choosing some of the rooms. The steps are steep to some rooms and plentiful. and some rooms have awkward height issues. Would I stay here again? You Bet, I'm trying to make a reservation now for next year. Carmel sunsets and the Green Lantern Inn everynight! A WINNING COMBINATION!!

Room Tip: If you are tall or of a certain age be aware of which rooms you reserve. Always ask the staff befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent only one night at the Green Lantern but it was perfect for our needs. Great location! Our room (Pine) was small and cozy and well appointed.

Breakfast was delicious with good choices available.

We think they'd do well to invest in some energy efficient light bulbs and double-paned glass to bring down energy costs but that's certainly up to them - the room and public area are very comfortable and welcoming. Staff was great.

Room Tip: One note: If anyone in your party is particularly tall, check with the management before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safarilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Perfect location to walk to the beach or the main street and enjoy the dining and shopping. Our room was small but clean and quiet with friendly staff. Very nice breakfast selection of both hot and cold foods and yummy egg casserole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prindy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Carmel California usually a destination spot for visitors to California, or for folks like my wife and myself who live in CA and like to extend a trip with a special day or two sharing wonderfully eclectic variety of food available here, art galleries offering a wide spectrum of local, California and International artists, and if you are planning to see the sunset where Ocean Ave meets the beach (yes you can bring some wine) The Green Lantern is a perfect spot to stay.
It is one block from the main street, Ocean Avenue. Turn left and head to the beach or turn right and explore.
Room have been redone are clean, airy and light with a fresh ambiance we both enjoyed. We stayed in The Laurel and as described :"Cozy retreat with private stairway leading to this sunny dormered room", it reminded us of an English B&B. Sitting and enjoying the partial ocean view as we ate our crackers and cheese (visit The Cheese Shop at Carmel plaza-pricey but wonderful) and drank an award winning Sangiovese we picked up at Ranchito Canyon Vineyard in San Miguel outside of Paso Robles (this small production - 1200 cases - boutique producer of old vine wines worth the small side trip if you are going south on the 101 - contact Bill and Teresa Hinrichs for some wonderful tasting).
The Green Lantern was well priced with friendly personnel, easy self parking, a buffet breakfast and wine tasting in the evening and great location.This was not our first visit, nor will it be the last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Green Lantern is very close to the main street in Carmel By the Sea. Everything is within walking distance and close to the beach. The staff is great, B&B quaint and breakfast good. The prices are reasonable - look at their website for the best deals - not travelocity, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the redwood sweet, especially if you have more than one person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasonsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Property: Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel
Green Lantern Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing