We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, pretty, rustic”
Review of Carmel River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel River Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, one year old daughter and I stayed here for one night in March 2013. We stayed in a small cabin which was comprised of the bedroom, the kitchen (which included a small table with chairs, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, decent counter/cabinet space and dishes), a small bathroom and closet. The bedroom was equipped with a twin bed (which is where my husband slept) a full (or queen...I can't remember exactly) which is where my daughter and I slept, tv, lamp, wall heater. The dog slept on the floor between the two beds. Yes, it was a little small; we had to sit on the beds as there was no other seating, but it was just enough space for us for one afternoon/night. We took the dog for a stroll amongst the grounds, which were rustic and pretty, and even walked into the adjacent neighborhood. We enjoyed it and I feel it was a good deal. The man at the desk was nice and helpful with information when we checked in. Our cabin was located about midway (if one walked from the hotel/pool area to the end of the property) and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_Him_her_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 699 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second stay here. The fist time we chose it because we were traveling with our dog. This last time we chose to stay here because the first experience was so good. We stayed in a remodeled cabin. The grounds are nicely landscaped with numerous flowering plants, tall trees, and water fountains. The room is cozy, comfortable, and clean. This is not a 5 star hotel and doesn't claim to be. There are no extreme frills or fancy amenities. It's is a quiet, quant, and comfortable place to stay. The grounds are great for a dog. It is a easy ride to town, restaurants and shopping. We had brought a bottle of champagne with us and were thrilled to see that they stock a couple of wine glasses in the room. They also had plates and flatware, which we appreciated as we also ordered takeout and ate in the room. We will for sure stay here, along with our dog, on our next trip to Carmel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwitter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved this place. We stayed with our dog and found a couple of large wonderful grass areas for ball playing. The little cabin we had was clean and adorable with good atmosphere. There are little patios with outdoor seating which was lovely. It's only about 5 minutes into central
Carmel (by car) and close to a shopping center.

Room Tip: Perhaps don't get the cabin next to laundry, but it does have a private patio in the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Offthebeatenpath011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were upgraded to a cabin and it was wonderful! We had a large, very comfortable king bed, a fire place, two great chairs with a fridge and microwave. There was a patio and a grassy area for the dog to play. Overall the property was lovely and we enjoyed walking around with our dog and seeing all the cute cottages. It is centrally located and the front desk staff was very friendly. I would highly suggest it for a nice respite in a lovely town. The bathroom was large and wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years. I am new to trip advisor. After reading other recent reviews I felt compelled to share our thoughts & experience. If you are looking for new, room service & state of the art amenities, this is not the place for you. It is true that some of the cabins have not been renovated yet, but you can always ask for ones that have. There are a variety of options to choose from. Given we have two kids, like to travel with our dog at times, plus prefer to save money on food, we often opt for the cabins with kitchenette & separate bedroom(s). We are willing to put up with older style to get the convenience of a kitchenette, stocked with plates, cutlery & cookware. And there has never been an issue with cleanliness.
There have been times when my husband & I stay alone & then we will request an updated room with jacuzzi tub, fireplace and patio.
No matter the room, we always find a relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff & the kids have fun playing in the pool & exploring the grounds. We all love to lay in the hammocks and read or nap.
I can't say enough about the staff. Always very helpful. Just describe what you need and they will do their best. Last year we booked for our kids bday and had family join us. We were able to use the lawn area by the pool, and BBQ'd. Everyone had such a great time we are going to do it again this year.
And, you can't beat the location. End result, it is rustic & quaint and we highly recommend if you prefer unique cabin type stay vs. the usual hotel room.

Room Tip: Go to their website and review the different types. If in doubt, call them and they will help match...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here one night, and won't be returning. The staff was very friendly and helpful, it's just that for the money, we expected more (of some things, and less of others, but I'll get to that in a minute).

This place is in serious need of a remodel - does Extreme Makeover have a motel edition? If so, the Carmel River Inn should be first in line.

The less of some things part? It felt like we were on the set of Arachnophobia 2 as we found several spiders in our room - live ones, yuck! What we needed more of? Well, there wasn't even complete bedding on one of the beds, and while the office did their best to accommodate, one shouldn't have to ask for these things, they should be there to begin with.

I guess the problem with lodging in a place like Carmel is that you have to pay $250 a night or more to expect anything decent. I guess in the end I'm just jealous of the owners of this establishment, and many others in the Carmel area, who haven't done a thing to update it since it was new, which was probably in the 60s, and yet still find suckers like yours truly that will pay good money to stay here in spite of that.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank IdahoModestmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel River Inn

Address: 26600 Oliver Rd, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923-9219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $127 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the stunning Big Sur coast, Carmel River Inn sits amid a pastoral river setting, providing guests with a basecamp to the adventurous areas around them and the opportunity to truly enjoy the natural surroundings of the Monterey Peninsula. Carmel River Inn offers guests two different experiences, our inn rooms suitable for a good night's sleep or a cozy cottage to unwind and relax, tucked into 10 acres of gardens, forests and meadows. If you have any questions about our facilities or services please contact us and we would love to tell you more! Front Desk is open 24 hours. Pet fee is $20 per pet, per day. Physical Address: 26600 Oliver Road Carmel, California, 93923 Most accurate address to use for GPS directions: Highway 1 at Carmel River Bridge Carmel, California 93923 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel River Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing