We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel .”
Review of Carmel River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel River Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 699 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were upgraded to a cabin and it was wonderful! We had a large, very comfortable king bed, a fire place, two great chairs with a fridge and microwave. There was a patio and a grassy area for the dog to play. Overall the property was lovely and we enjoyed walking around with our dog and seeing all the cute cottages. It is centrally located and the front desk staff was very friendly. I would highly suggest it for a nice respite in a lovely town. The bathroom was large and wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years. I am new to trip advisor. After reading other recent reviews I felt compelled to share our thoughts & experience. If you are looking for new, room service & state of the art amenities, this is not the place for you. It is true that some of the cabins have not been renovated yet, but you can always ask for ones that have. There are a variety of options to choose from. Given we have two kids, like to travel with our dog at times, plus prefer to save money on food, we often opt for the cabins with kitchenette & separate bedroom(s). We are willing to put up with older style to get the convenience of a kitchenette, stocked with plates, cutlery & cookware. And there has never been an issue with cleanliness.
There have been times when my husband & I stay alone & then we will request an updated room with jacuzzi tub, fireplace and patio.
No matter the room, we always find a relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff & the kids have fun playing in the pool & exploring the grounds. We all love to lay in the hammocks and read or nap.
I can't say enough about the staff. Always very helpful. Just describe what you need and they will do their best. Last year we booked for our kids bday and had family join us. We were able to use the lawn area by the pool, and BBQ'd. Everyone had such a great time we are going to do it again this year.
And, you can't beat the location. End result, it is rustic & quaint and we highly recommend if you prefer unique cabin type stay vs. the usual hotel room.

Room Tip: Go to their website and review the different types. If in doubt, call them and they will help match...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here one night, and won't be returning. The staff was very friendly and helpful, it's just that for the money, we expected more (of some things, and less of others, but I'll get to that in a minute).

This place is in serious need of a remodel - does Extreme Makeover have a motel edition? If so, the Carmel River Inn should be first in line.

The less of some things part? It felt like we were on the set of Arachnophobia 2 as we found several spiders in our room - live ones, yuck! What we needed more of? Well, there wasn't even complete bedding on one of the beds, and while the office did their best to accommodate, one shouldn't have to ask for these things, they should be there to begin with.

I guess the problem with lodging in a place like Carmel is that you have to pay $250 a night or more to expect anything decent. I guess in the end I'm just jealous of the owners of this establishment, and many others in the Carmel area, who haven't done a thing to update it since it was new, which was probably in the 60s, and yet still find suckers like yours truly that will pay good money to stay here in spite of that.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank IdahoModestmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed one night here arriving very late and very hungry. The check in guy chris was so helpful ringing around bars and restaurants to find us something open and then making sure we had directions to find it thanks chris for your help.the place itself is clean and practical my first taste of an American motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights. The room was just old are ready for retirement or refurbishment. Tiles were cracked or missing in the bathroom, lighting was minimal, carpet down to threads, bed was soft. We were on the ground floor so had a small patio overlooking the brush out back. The river may have been down there? On the plus side, the coffee maker and hair dryer worked well. The shower was ok too. This is our fourth and final time here.

Room Tip: Ground level have outside access in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Susan-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel River Inn

Address: 26600 Oliver Rd, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923-9219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $127 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the stunning Big Sur coast, Carmel River Inn sits amid a pastoral river setting, providing guests with a basecamp to the adventurous areas around them and the opportunity to truly enjoy the natural surroundings of the Monterey Peninsula. Carmel River Inn offers guests two different experiences, our inn rooms suitable for a good night's sleep or a cozy cottage to unwind and relax, tucked into 10 acres of gardens, forests and meadows. If you have any questions about our facilities or services please contact us and we would love to tell you more! Front Desk is open 24 hours. Pet fee is $20 per pet, per day. Physical Address: 26600 Oliver Road Carmel, California, 93923 Most accurate address to use for GPS directions: Highway 1 at Carmel River Bridge Carmel, California 93923 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel River Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing