We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to explore Carmel and Monteray”
Review of Carmel River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel River Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    195
    77
    51
    33
See reviews for
181
267
52
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Carmel River Inn in the Sloat Cottage, which as of June 2013, was not renovated. It was okay, not great. Few things. It is an older unit, which is fine, except that it has a wood burning fireplace in the unit, so upon entering the cottage, every time we entered, there was an overwhelming smell of smoke, it never dissipated. We were traveling with young children and there are ill fitting wooden slat blinds on the windows so you can never get the cottage dark (not good with little ones) - one of the reasons being that the light outside of each unit stays on all night, you are unable to control it. While the bathroom was clean, we were not comfortable putting our kids in the tub for a bath. The finish on the tub was cracked and peeling off - fine for an adult taking a shower, not for bathing children. Last thing is to make sure you know what you're renting in terms of space. Prior to booking I called the property to explain our needs, I was told the Sloat cottage was a 2 bedroom unit where you have to walk through the first bedroom to get to the next. Sounded good. Except that it's not a 2 bedroom. 'Bedroom', to me, implies a room with a door. In the Sloat cottage you walk into a sitting area/kitchen which has a maybe 2/3 height 'wall' and behind the wall is the bed, that area is apparently considered the first bedroom (but again, in my mind, there is no door so it's not really a 2 bedroom unit. We were anticipating a room for parents and a room for the kids). In addition there is a heating unit that goes between the 2 sleeping areas and it is open on both sides so unless the kids, or adults, sleeping in the 1 actual bedroom in the back, are deep sleepers, there is no chance you can talk or watch tv in the first sleeping area. The windows were leaky and the front door didn't seal (to the point you could clearly see light shining around it!) so we woke up in the morning with a number of those bugs that look like giant mosquitos flying around. The beds were okay but very creaky so another tough thing when trying to sleep multiple people in a small space. We did appreciate having the small fridge, sink and supply of glasses, plates and utensils. The staff was friendly enough, the other folks staying on the property were pleasant and those with dogs, at least while we were there, were good about not letting their dogs bark incessantly. Would I stay there again? Not sure. It was okay for the money, and an okay location being literally on Highway 1 and about 3 minutes from the shops/restaurant area in Carmel, but I would have appreciated a better description of the cottages to know what we were getting in to. I definitely would not stay in Sloat again with children! Another thing, which we did not know ahead of time, is they charge $25 per night to use a PackNPlay (portable crib) - for $25/night I could have purchased one!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Rickett Cottage #25 is handicap friendly if someone is in need. The room is clean and newly renovated with a fireplace, plantation shutters, small refrigerator and coffee. There's no desk although there are two chairs and a small end table with a light. A side door leads to a secure fenced patio for our Welsh Pembroke Corgi. Free WiFi was a pleasant surprise.

The area is surrounded by mature trees, trails and lovely gardens that are starting to bloom. If needed a person could walk to the market and shopping across Highway 1.

Room Tip: If using your GPS enter the location from Highway 1 and not through residential streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAuster719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We Have Stayed at Carmel River Inn five Or Six Times In The Past, One Time We Had A Heating Problem, everytime Was a Very good Time, we Travel A Lot Because Were Retired, We deal With A Lot Of Hotel managers, And We belive Moonstone Propertys Should do Everything To Keep There mang. MAUREEN Happy because She Does A GREAT Job For The Propery By Treating The Guests Like Family, She Was So Helpful In Everthing, We Will Give Carmel River inn A Recommendation To all Of Our Friends because of MAUREEN, She Was Great And Will Make Your Trip A GREAT TRIP THank YOU MAUREEN Once Again LEE & SANDY

Room Tip: Get A Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had requested a double queen (or double double) and a roll-away bed. When we arrived, the hotel had not received the note about the roll-away, but said they could accommodate us. The bed was delivered, but there was no room for it. The manager did help us move the very heavy furniture in order to use the bed, but it was no easy and he wasn't particularly happy to help. The room worked for us, but the roll-away was very poor and uncomfortable. The grounds are quite nice, but the place really needs some updating, painting, etc. It's pretty tired and worn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were traveling in Carmel with our dog, so we reserved room 22 (the smallest bungalow on the property), in the very back a bit off by itself. I swear, the room was only a little bit longer than our Honda Pilot. (Although, I admit, we can't fit a double bed in our SUV, so it was bigger.) But it is pretty, clean and neat. There is no table or desk, so typing on the computer was a bit awkward. Outside it had a small patio with a three foot high fence, enough to keep one Dobe happy off leash between room and patio. Beyond that are fields to play and run in, if no other dogs are nearby. Our dog loved being off leash smelling the plants and animal holes. There was also a dog wash area so if you visited the beach you could rid your dog's fur of sand. The staff were friendly and nice, the flowers around the bungalows were lovely. It was a nice place to stay for two nights.

Room Tip: If you are without a dog, I would opt for a bigger room. We chose this bungalow so our dog could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenberg village, ca
Level Contributor
390 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a really great family reunion. Tina and Maureen handled all the reservations and made sure they were exactly what each person wanted. They even had a nice note in the rooms welcoming our group. All the cabins were very nice and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel River Inn

Property: Carmel River Inn
Address: 26600 Oliver Rd, Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923-9219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the stunning Big Sur coast, Carmel River Inn sits amid a pastoral river setting, providing guests with a basecamp to the adventurous areas around them and the opportunity to truly enjoy the natural surroundings of the Monterey Peninsula. Carmel River Inn offers guests two different experiences, our inn rooms suitable for a good night's sleep or a cozy cottage to unwind and relax, tucked into 10 acres of gardens, forests and meadows. If you have any questions about our facilities or services please contact us and we would love to tell you more! Front Desk is open 24 hours. Pet fee is $20 per pet, per day. Physical Address: 26600 Oliver Road Carmel, California, 93923 Most accurate address to use for GPS directions: Highway 1 at Carmel River Bridge Carmel, California 93923 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel River Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing