We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$492
$288
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,003
$799
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$675
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$400
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$311
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$588
$512
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$539
$499
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $581/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$900
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
293
262
118
42
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
262
118
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil fornaiono elevatoroldest hotelocean avenuehistoric propertycharming hotelceiling fanthe main streetstreet parkingfew blocksbuffet breakfastperfect locationcarmel by the seaart galleriesturn down serviceshort walk to the beachroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 740 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here in this historic hotel. Although we had a few problems, the staff were exceptionally fast to respond to our needs. It isa beautiful hotel in a great location to walk to everything in Carmel, plus a beautiful ocean view. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigator45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The location of the Pine Inn is 5 stars. We loved stepping out of our room and walking the shops and neighborhoods.

However, the accomodations are too expensive. Yes, Carmel is pricey, but the room furnishings are dated (one of our washcloths had a big hole). We did appreciate the LG 47" LCD with HD cable.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Il Fornaio isn't one of our favs (also pricey for average food), but it is convenient for those who enjoy a restaurant on the premises. There is a cute bakery area for tea/coffee and pastries for purchase complete with a sitting area/fireplace. We were disappointed that our weekend stay did not include breakfast (weekday stays breakfast is included).

We will find different accomodations next time we visit. If the Pine Inn lowered their room rates a bit, we'd consider staying again since we are not in our room that much.

Finding parking in their lot is difficult. Street parking is usually the option.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mototravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

I am responding to this review just to let future guests know that the Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel circa 1889. As we are an historic resource in the city of Carmel-by-the-Sea, we have kept the decor and ambiance consistence with an historic hotel. All of our rooms feature Pierre Deux fabrics and themed artwork and furnishings.

Regarding the comment that we are pricey, our room rates start at $169 for a double bed and a standard queen bedded room is $179. Included in the room rate is a full American breakfast buffet, Monday through Friday. At this time, we are also offering a $20 per person dinner credit in our in-house restaurant, Il Fornaio which, is also included in the room rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We had 19 people in 11 rooms ... all ocean views, to celebrate my wives' 60th Birthday Party! The staff was great, the rooms were very comfortable, the weather was unbelievable, and the Ocean Room at Il Fornio was off the lobby and the location for "dinner & dancing". Would highly recommend for a weekend in Carmel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clydeleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We love staying at the Pine Inn, especially in December. It's nice to be right on Ocean Avenue, within walking distance of everything! Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayVisit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Located right on Ocean Avenue and in the centre of Carmel's Golden Rectangle this is a really nice hotel with access on foot to everything Carmel has to offer. The hotel takes up most of one block with street access on 3 sides and a quaint courtyard within. The room was small (but that was a deliberate choice on my part) yet comfy and well equipped. Il Fornaiao restaurant is right on the premises and is an excellent choice for a meal at any time of day. The parking can be a bit tight as there are limited spaces but in 4 days there I always found a space. If the weather's fine there's nothing else to ask for.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank NeilFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews