We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like Royalty”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were only planning to stay in Carmel for one night at another nearby hotel and then we were going to head out to San Francisco. Well we enjoyed Carmel so much we wanted to stay another night and the hotel we were staying in but they were already booked, but highly recommended the Pine Inn. We called and were greeted by a very welcoming voice on the other end of the phone. Alli made us feel very welcomed and she met our needs when we arrived. We were pleasantly impressed with the decor and the beautiful spacious room we stayed in. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable and the spa robes they provided were luxurious. We never had to phone the front desk for anything and was treated just as nice when we left as when we arrived. This was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and I will highly recommend it to others. I am global event coordinator and am usually treated very well especially when a contract is going to be signed. I did not disclose this information at all and was treated as if I was a big client. That is customer service at its best for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingzulufools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 652 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

Carmel is a lovely town with lots of great shops and a truly gorgeous beach. However, the Pine Inn is not the place to stay to enjoy it. The other reviews do not seem to accurately represent our experience of staying at the hotel. The room had a layer of dust, and we were woken (without warning or apology) by builders clambering around on the roof literally outside our room. Furthermore, the room itself was actually in a separate part of the block and therefore a real pain to get to with cases and of course parking was an additional walk away. We hope to return to Carmel soon -- but rest assured we won't be staying at the over-priced and over-rated Pine Inn.

P.S. Breakfast was not even worth bothering with. A rude and disinterested staff member simply went around looking grumpy, while the selection of food on offer was very poor indeed. It was a disappointing end to our stay at the Pine Inn. Avoid it.

P.P.S. We would however recommend the great restaurant in Carmel: Demetras.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveZion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2010

With all due respect to the guest writing this review, we were in the process of painting the outside of the East Wing building, which is located right next to the main building. Knowing that the painters would be around the outside of the building, I wrote a letter describing the process and scope of the painting to be performed. The letter was placed in each guest room for viewing. As the letter stated, the painting would begin daily at 9 am and conclude daily at 4 pm. Furthermore, the letter stated that if there were any concerns I could be reached at extension # 403. I (we) never heard from any guests complaining about the painting.

The parking lot is located behind the hotel and is just as accessible from the East Wing as it is from the main building, perhaps even quicker to reach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Right in the middle of town, great location. States it has parking, but beware, we were told that since it was a holiday weekend and they were completely booked, it was first come - first serve, so parking may not be there. Also, no breakfast provided on the weekend! Otherwise, very nice place with a very nice staff!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypcgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

After reading so many "outdated hotel" reviews, I was not expecting much and was SO shocked to see how lovely this hotel is in reality. Who is bashing this hotel??? It reminds me of a European style hotel that is full of charm and history. The location is fabulous, the staff was amazing, the breakfast was delish and even the linens were up to my high standards. Did I mention that we had a walk-in closet???!!!

I actually feel bad for this hotel re: the online reviews, it doesn't seem fair and had me alarmed. I'm so glad we kept our reservation and stayed at this charming old hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We went to this hotel for Valentines Day - it's older but it's right downtown Carmel - it has a great complimentary breakfast in the morning - and the restaurant there in the evenings is wonderful.

The rooms are a bit funky - ours had old oriental screens but oh what a view - we could see the ocean through the trees.

Everything was within walking distance and the weather was wonderful! This was great!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

The venue itself has lots of charm, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in terms of proximity to the beach, and the front-desk service is always with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank npg077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Overall, I felt the hotel was a bit out of touch and a step behind. It could be AMAZING, but it just misses at every turn. There's a fine line between charming and run down and for me, the Pine Inn felt a bit run down.

The best part of the hotel is the location. It's right on Ocean Ave in the heart of Carmel. The staff is friendly and the lobby is beautiful and a throw back to days gone by. Where it all went wrong for me was the guest room. The room just seemed a bit dingy. It was tidy, but just out dated and dark. The lighting was bad, the TV was old and the bathroom was cold and drafty. It needs a makeover.

The bed was comfortable, but if you are sensitive to noise you might have problems. The windows are single pane, so you can hear people, cars, garbage trucks etc which made it a bit difficult to sleep.

Additionally, if you need to be on your computer it can be a problem. The wireless signal did not reach our room, so I had to go down to the lobby.

In terms of food, the restaurant attached to the hotel is IL Forniao which has a good reputation. I found it to be okay. I had a mediocre breakfast there which was a bit over priced. The service was friendly but very slow.

If you don't travel much and just want to get away from the kids, i think this place could have a throw back romantic vibe, but if you're used to staying in great hotels, i think you might have a hard time loving this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

The Pine Inn is an historic hotel located on Ocean Ave in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. The Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel in 1889 and still carries the historic decor that made it famous. The furniture is a mix of Asian and European antiques hand selected by the current owner. We have recently renovated the bathrooms and are in the process of installing flat screen TV's in all the rooms all the while maintaining the old world style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
918 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#22 of 25 in Carmel
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $209 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing