We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Right in the middle of town, great location. States it has parking, but beware, we were told that since it was a holiday weekend and they were completely booked, it was first come - first serve, so parking may not be there. Also, no breakfast provided on the weekend! Otherwise, very nice place with a very nice staff!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypcgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

After reading so many "outdated hotel" reviews, I was not expecting much and was SO shocked to see how lovely this hotel is in reality. Who is bashing this hotel??? It reminds me of a European style hotel that is full of charm and history. The location is fabulous, the staff was amazing, the breakfast was delish and even the linens were up to my high standards. Did I mention that we had a walk-in closet???!!!

I actually feel bad for this hotel re: the online reviews, it doesn't seem fair and had me alarmed. I'm so glad we kept our reservation and stayed at this charming old hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
385 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We went to this hotel for Valentines Day - it's older but it's right downtown Carmel - it has a great complimentary breakfast in the morning - and the restaurant there in the evenings is wonderful.

The rooms are a bit funky - ours had old oriental screens but oh what a view - we could see the ocean through the trees.

Everything was within walking distance and the weather was wonderful! This was great!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The venue itself has lots of charm, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in terms of proximity to the beach, and the front-desk service is always with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npg077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Overall, I felt the hotel was a bit out of touch and a step behind. It could be AMAZING, but it just misses at every turn. There's a fine line between charming and run down and for me, the Pine Inn felt a bit run down.

The best part of the hotel is the location. It's right on Ocean Ave in the heart of Carmel. The staff is friendly and the lobby is beautiful and a throw back to days gone by. Where it all went wrong for me was the guest room. The room just seemed a bit dingy. It was tidy, but just out dated and dark. The lighting was bad, the TV was old and the bathroom was cold and drafty. It needs a makeover.

The bed was comfortable, but if you are sensitive to noise you might have problems. The windows are single pane, so you can hear people, cars, garbage trucks etc which made it a bit difficult to sleep.

Additionally, if you need to be on your computer it can be a problem. The wireless signal did not reach our room, so I had to go down to the lobby.

In terms of food, the restaurant attached to the hotel is IL Forniao which has a good reputation. I found it to be okay. I had a mediocre breakfast there which was a bit over priced. The service was friendly but very slow.

If you don't travel much and just want to get away from the kids, i think this place could have a throw back romantic vibe, but if you're used to staying in great hotels, i think you might have a hard time loving this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
The Pine Inn is an historic hotel located on Ocean Ave in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. The Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel in 1889 and still carries the historic decor that made it famous. The furniture is a mix of Asian and European antiques hand selected by the current owner. We have recently renovated the bathrooms and are in the process of installing flat screen TV's in all the rooms all the while maintaining the old world style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We loved the Pine Inn!! Our room was so quaint and charming - and very comfortable. The location is perfect, we walked to the beach and to dinner. Everyone that we encountered that worked at the Pine Inn was so friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Carmel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed in a suite with a little patio overlooking picturesque roofs with a view of Carmel Bay. It was lovely, the room was well-maintained, and we had a fireplace. We love the little round coffee shop adjacent to the hotel and the ability to stroll through the town. The beach is magnificent, and you are a short drive from just about everything important including the 17-Mile Drive, Lobos State Reserve, shopping and restaurants. The shopping is really fine, and you can get the NY Times.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing