We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location - Romantic Get Away”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We went to this hotel for Valentines Day - it's older but it's right downtown Carmel - it has a great complimentary breakfast in the morning - and the restaurant there in the evenings is wonderful.

The rooms are a bit funky - ours had old oriental screens but oh what a view - we could see the ocean through the trees.

Everything was within walking distance and the weather was wonderful! This was great!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 631 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2010

The venue itself has lots of charm, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in terms of proximity to the beach, and the front-desk service is always with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank npg077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Overall, I felt the hotel was a bit out of touch and a step behind. It could be AMAZING, but it just misses at every turn. There's a fine line between charming and run down and for me, the Pine Inn felt a bit run down.

The best part of the hotel is the location. It's right on Ocean Ave in the heart of Carmel. The staff is friendly and the lobby is beautiful and a throw back to days gone by. Where it all went wrong for me was the guest room. The room just seemed a bit dingy. It was tidy, but just out dated and dark. The lighting was bad, the TV was old and the bathroom was cold and drafty. It needs a makeover.

The bed was comfortable, but if you are sensitive to noise you might have problems. The windows are single pane, so you can hear people, cars, garbage trucks etc which made it a bit difficult to sleep.

Additionally, if you need to be on your computer it can be a problem. The wireless signal did not reach our room, so I had to go down to the lobby.

In terms of food, the restaurant attached to the hotel is IL Forniao which has a good reputation. I found it to be okay. I had a mediocre breakfast there which was a bit over priced. The service was friendly but very slow.

If you don't travel much and just want to get away from the kids, i think this place could have a throw back romantic vibe, but if you're used to staying in great hotels, i think you might have a hard time loving this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

The Pine Inn is an historic hotel located on Ocean Ave in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. The Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel in 1889 and still carries the historic decor that made it famous. The furniture is a mix of Asian and European antiques hand selected by the current owner. We have recently renovated the bathrooms and are in the process of installing flat screen TV's in all the rooms all the while maintaining the old world style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We loved the Pine Inn!! Our room was so quaint and charming - and very comfortable. The location is perfect, we walked to the beach and to dinner. Everyone that we encountered that worked at the Pine Inn was so friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Carmel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed in a suite with a little patio overlooking picturesque roofs with a view of Carmel Bay. It was lovely, the room was well-maintained, and we had a fireplace. We love the little round coffee shop adjacent to the hotel and the ability to stroll through the town. The beach is magnificent, and you are a short drive from just about everything important including the 17-Mile Drive, Lobos State Reserve, shopping and restaurants. The shopping is really fine, and you can get the NY Times.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstridLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Wonderful location and quaint elegant vintage hotel. Stayed for a weekend. Room was small - value $200 per night was good for location. Construction outside was annoying for a couple of days - especially mornings. Breakfast at in-house restaurant was good but expensive....typical Carmel. Walking distance to all downtown attractions and beach. Great character and service. No Business Center....which could be good or bad. We would stay at the Pine Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Pine Inn. We were treated to a Winter Special that included their wonderful buffet breakfast as well as credit toward dining at their restaurant for dinner With both those items, along with the charming room, it was a very reasonable stay. The Inn was charming and located right on Main Street in Carmel. It was a beautiful building, with a welcoming bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room, and with accessible parking right behind the Inn. And, the lace cookies in the inhouse bakery were also wonderful. The room was very pretty, and Carmel itself was wonderful. The Pine Inn was a perfect spot to explore the area around and about Carmel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaZNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $209 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing