We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveler rating
300
265
119
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
265
119
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil fornaiono elevatoroldest hotelocean avenuehistoric propertycharming hotelceiling fanthe main streetstreet parkingfew blocksperfect locationbuffet breakfastcarmel by the seaart galleriesturn down serviceshort walk to the beachroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 752 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Stayed 2 nights at the Pine inn in July. Location is great, only a short walk to the ocean. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Parking can be challenging, they have a small lot, but not big enough for all guests so if you don't snag a spot you're hunting for street parking. Inn is old and showing it's age. Rooms have no AC so it was warm. Our room window looked out on the roof of the building, loud and employees use the roof to walk between buildings so there were people outside the window at all hours.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Napatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for your comments. Parking is definitely an issue for the Pine Inn as well as for the entire village. We have been trying unsuccessfully for 20 years to build an underground garage. The City doesn't think that there is a parking issue so no garage.

The Pine Inn is an old hotel (1st hotel in Carmel) and is designated an historic resource. We try to capture some of that old time charm with the furnishings and ambiance.

John Lloyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

A great inn, in the center of Carmel, with a great restaurant. We had a suite with 2 queen beds and large sitting room. The decor was perfect for the setting. A little pricey, $350/night. Breakfast included. Overall, I'd go back.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

This was the second time we have stayed at the Pine Inn in Carmel. The hotel is beautiful and is in a great location. However this time we had a bad room. There was no air conditioning, and we had west facing windows that really allowed the heat to build up, even with the windows open. The staff provided a fan but it was not enough to cool down the room. Staff even suggested not opening the windows because the a/c units for the rest of the hotel were below the windows in our room and allowed more heat in. The nights were miserable as the room didn't cool down until about 5AM. It was a rough two night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Good Morning,

I am truly sorry that the heat caused a problem. Being that we are a beach town air conditioning is not normally needed. However, there are a few days per year that we could all use A/C. As noted above, we do have fans for those warm days.

John Lloyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

John and his team have been tremendous to work with over the last twelve years. We have never had any issues and are always surprised as to how good this property is at making you fell at home. We look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cshoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Thanks for being such a loyal customer.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Get past the quirky japanese chintz decoration and the dark foyer and you'll find good sized rooms with clean, decent beds, bedding and showers. We had 2 queen beds in our room and plenty of room for a family of 4 with large bags. There was also a separate seating area in an attached brick floored room which was a nice bonus. No air conditioning but the rooms are well ventilated so even in July this wasnt a problem. Great location for exploring the centre and beach.Car park is first come first served but we managed to park there both days we stayed. If I had to pick something to improve the lobby stair carpet need a good clean which is off-putting when you enter. We ate at the restaurant (need to book for the weekends) and found the service to be very swift and the food lovely. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for reviewing the Pine Inn. All of us here appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

John Lloyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews