We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pine Inn is full of Victorian charm and homey ambiance.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
1 review
“The Pine Inn is full of Victorian charm and homey ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our 45th wedding anniversary. The Victorian decor is both beautiful and homey. The lobby is beautifully decorated as was our room--"a favorite of the staff." Though it is the oldest hotel in Carmel, it is very clean and very attractive. The staff was extremely helpful, even to the point of making our dinner reservations for us. The inn is located just four blocks from the ocean, and the area around the hotel has block after block of unique shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UsCarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    189
    96
    27
    16
See reviews for
63
342
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The Pine Inn is a beautiful hotel in Carmel, CA. When I entered, there were about 10 steps up to the front desk. I have problems with steps and asked if there was an elevator. I was told no, but I could have the room that was handicap accesible. I didn't know what to expect. What we got was a room that was spectacular. The decor was elegant, the bed was heavenly and the stay was delightful.
Susan Cynamon
Millburn, NJ

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suecynamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

my wife and i were very pleased with the pine inn. the lobby is stunning (people were coming in off the street just to gawk at the old fashioned, red wall-papered lobby) and our room was comfortable and charming. the service is attentive: it was clear to me that they were trying to bolster their tripadvisor ratings, which i view as a good thing because it means they are working hard at customer service. the building is old and charming...a great b&b style place to stay. the location was perfect - right in the heart of carmel and within walking distance (really a 2-minute drive) of the beach. i highly suggest getting up early and taking a walk on the beach in carmel, then you can come back for the complimentary breakfast at 8am. not sure how the other hotels were in carmel, but this place was a highlight for us on our central coast swing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeseeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Pine Inn (Carmel-By-the-Sea) ,California
We would like to compliment (General Mgr., John Lloyd, and his entire staff Mgr. Donna, Ali, Karla, Elizabeth, and Lucille) as they are professional, and customer service oriented.

This past weekend, I had hoped to get a room reservation at the Pine Inn (this was short notice). Donna, made it happened as they were booked for the weekend.

Hotel rooms at the Pine Inn, are always clean and immaculate. Our room is cleaned daily and supplied with clean towels and toiletry. The housekeeping staff is exceptional.

On short notice, I have wanted to make a dinner reservation. Staff has made those dinner reservations for us, when I couldn't. We appreciate their efforts.

We always look forward to our accommodations at the Pine Inn Carmel-By-the-Sea.),CA Jerry and Sandy Kundert, Sacramento, CA

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cashew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, and Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

This hotel is much bettter than its TripAdvisor ratings suggest. It is centrally located in the charming town or Carmel and convenient for golf and sightseeing on the Monerey Peninsula and for Steinbeck country - not to mention Highway 1, Big Sur and the Hearst Castle. It has a beautiful and tastefully decorated lobby and an exceptional restaurant. We were in the "West Wing" which is in fact across an alley from the Inn itelf. The room was small but well appointed. Overall, I thought this was an exceptional hotel and incredible value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

What a lovely hotel, yes, charming elegance. Rooms were spotless, front desk, bellman just right and the free breakfast was great served in a lovely setting, their class act restaurant. I can't understand why this hotel isn't rated higher. I'm a traveler, staying in many hotels and I'd give it an A for sure. It's right in the middle of town, so you can walk everywhere, and there's a parking lot across the street. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

A wonderful and restful place to stay in Carmel. The staff was exceptional, friendly, and responsive to all our needs. The Hotel is located at the end of Ocean avenue next to all the fine dinning and shopping in downtown Carmel. The parking lot was nice in back of the hotel off the main street and easily accessed. Had a beautiful ocean view as well. Right next to Pebble Beach golf and Poppy Hills. Perfect for a shopping trip and golfing get away. You will love this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat_Helm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing