We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nicest and Most Charming Hotel in Carmel!”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed July 17, 2009

A wonderful and restful place to stay in Carmel. The staff was exceptional, friendly, and responsive to all our needs. The Hotel is located at the end of Ocean avenue next to all the fine dinning and shopping in downtown Carmel. The parking lot was nice in back of the hotel off the main street and easily accessed. Had a beautiful ocean view as well. Right next to Pebble Beach golf and Poppy Hills. Perfect for a shopping trip and golfing get away. You will love this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat_Helm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 636 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

Our stay at the Pine Inn was wonderful. We did not have any reservation, but staff was willing to work with us to get us a room at the price point we could afford. The decor on the room was Victorian and our bed was a queen. We did not have a good view, however, since the hotel was just on Ocean Ave, we were pretty much walking out to where everything was going on...shops, restaurants, art galleries. They also have a nice restaurant in the back and a breakfast (Panera-like) bistro. The hotel is historic and has a wonderful lobby. There was a wedding rehearsal on their outdoor patio, just below our window and we were worried that it would be too noisy for our room but it wasn't! We just closed our window and didn't hear anything. Will stay again if I get an opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This is a lovely place to stay. The room was lovely and we enjoyed easy access to the town. We were extremely disappointed when a small box of jewelry was taken from our room while we were at breakfast on May 27. We were checking out that Monday and I hadnt expected our room to be cleaned prior to our departure so I left a small, sealed box with a lovely silver and abalone necklace, earrings along with a moonstone set on the nightstand. When we returned from breakfast our room was made up and the box gone. Very sorry to say.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Idame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2009

The management and staff have in place a written procedure for investigating lost and found items. As with this review, we had a manager and a staff person visit the room to look for the missing item. As the item was not found it was logged in our lost & found log as such.
The Pine Inn has a long history of trustworthy staff members to include the room attendants. The room attendant in question has been employed at the PIne Inn for more than ten years without a mark on her record. I empathize with the reviewer, however if the item was left in the room, we would have found it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Absolutely LOVED the hotel. Great history! Could see the ocean once the fog lifted. Great cross ventilation. Clean, and homey. The staff was comprised of the most courteous, accomodating people! It reminded me of the days years ago when staff at a hotel actually valued the customer. The decor was a little bright, and I would probably trade those bright red jackets on the front desk employees for burgundy...but oh well!!! Loved the candy on the turned down bed, and the Sunday paper at the door. I definitly will return, and will recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Dated. The first thing you see is some painting of some clown dressed like a frat boy/corporate pimp hanging on the wall when you get there.

The rooms are small and musty. The noise from the street is intrusive.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tomfinn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I have been staying at this hotel for several years during the Pebble Beach Concourse weekend. I was on their waitlist for years to get into the hotel and finally got a room for not only my wife and me, but, as the years went by, three other rooms for friends of ours. Each year, we were told upon checkout that we would be contacted to confirm our rooms for next year. Until this year that is! This year, they gave our rooms to others and provided the explanation that their rooms were booked on their website and they had no control over their website! It is impossible to find rooms during the Concourse weekend and this hotel has now left eight people who were loyal customers, searching for rooms. Beware of their business practices and their explanations! When I asked to talk to management, the general manager refused to talk to me. So much for valuing loyal repeat customers.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Traveler99srf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Their queen bed is actually a full and for good reason. They couldn't fit a queen in the room. Very uncomfortable room for 2 people for a long weekend. The smell from the Lush store below never left. Staff was friendly but that didn't come close to making up for one of the poorest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Wouldn't go back if they offered a free stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kh3519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $209 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing