We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Was Like A Step Back In Time.....................................!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
sacramento
1 review
“This Was Like A Step Back In Time.....................................!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Absolutely LOVED the hotel. Great history! Could see the ocean once the fog lifted. Great cross ventilation. Clean, and homey. The staff was comprised of the most courteous, accomodating people! It reminded me of the days years ago when staff at a hotel actually valued the customer. The decor was a little bright, and I would probably trade those bright red jackets on the front desk employees for burgundy...but oh well!!! Loved the candy on the turned down bed, and the Sunday paper at the door. I definitly will return, and will recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inthelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    202
    101
    29
    17
See reviews for
64
359
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Dated. The first thing you see is some painting of some clown dressed like a frat boy/corporate pimp hanging on the wall when you get there.

The rooms are small and musty. The noise from the street is intrusive.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tomfinn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

I have been staying at this hotel for several years during the Pebble Beach Concourse weekend. I was on their waitlist for years to get into the hotel and finally got a room for not only my wife and me, but, as the years went by, three other rooms for friends of ours. Each year, we were told upon checkout that we would be contacted to confirm our rooms for next year. Until this year that is! This year, they gave our rooms to others and provided the explanation that their rooms were booked on their website and they had no control over their website! It is impossible to find rooms during the Concourse weekend and this hotel has now left eight people who were loyal customers, searching for rooms. Beware of their business practices and their explanations! When I asked to talk to management, the general manager refused to talk to me. So much for valuing loyal repeat customers.

  • Liked — Location--but very noisy!!!
  • Disliked — Their utter lack of respect for loyal repeat customers
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler99srf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

Their queen bed is actually a full and for good reason. They couldn't fit a queen in the room. Very uncomfortable room for 2 people for a long weekend. The smell from the Lush store below never left. Staff was friendly but that didn't come close to making up for one of the poorest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Wouldn't go back if they offered a free stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kh3519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

Stayed in Suite 60 after a terrible experience at Cypress Inn. The room is very spacious and clean. The decoration is quite far out, with bright green carpet, flowered sofas and a chinese wooden divider as a headboard. But for overpriced Carmel it was a good deal at $290 per night. Breakfast is awful!

  • Liked — Two very big rooms for $290.
  • Disliked — The decoration.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

We had a great time in Carmel and I think Pine Inn was a great value. I would give The Pine Inn above average marks for value.
The price was reasonable. the hotel was charming in it's decor, the location was central. The free breakfast was very delicious - some of the best bacon I have ever had.

I don't rate the Pine Inn higher because the rooms were very small, I don't think they could be smaller. The climate in Carmel is very cool but our room tended to be too warm. It was 50 degrees outside and we were running our ceiling fan and had to leave our window open.

Our room faced Ocean Avenue. My advice to anyone staying at the Pine Inn is to not choose a room facing Ocean. Ocean avenue is the main strip in Carmel and since we had to leave our window open we got the street noise. Not that Carmel is a noisy town, it is actually pretty sleepy.

Yes we would stay at the Pine Inn again because it was charming, the price was right. Although I would request a room not facing Ocean. Heck I would even consider a room facing Ocean for the chance to return to lovely Carmel.

  • Liked — Great location, great breakfast
  • Disliked — very small room, a bit warm and stuffy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Houstongirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

This was the very 1st inn built in Carmel-by-the-sea, so given that you must expect some old things here. There is no elevator & the stairways & halls are very slender. The rooms are small but cozy,very clean & nicely decorated. Looks like they have tried to keep true to the decor of those times (1889). The hotel is very charming, the grounds are very nicely maintained as is the whole town. My husband & I were here for our anniversary. The inn is in the heart of Carmel Village & walking distance to shopping, restaurants & beach which is very important in this town as parking is at a premium. There are more rooms here than parking spots for the hotel which can be a problem. They dont have any kind of breakfast on the weekends but they do have an Il Fornaio italian restaurant attached to the inn. The front desk staff was a little stuffy but helpful. The only problem we had was our room was on the back side of the inn which is also above the restaurant so when the restaurant staff comes in at 5 or 6AM to make the daily fresh baked goods for that morning they are not very quiet. We had the window open but even closed I dont think it would have mattered. Over all we enjoyed our stay & would stay again.

  • Liked — History & Clean
  • Disliked — Room above the restaurant was a little noisy in the early AM
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auntiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing