We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Modesto, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Pine Inn has a beautifully decorated lobby and the building is a historic one. The location is excellent because it is directly on Ocean Ave in the heart of all the quaint restaurants and shops. The rooms are small as expected because of the age of the hotel. Decor seems a bit dated. Noise from other rooms is a bit of a problem. When we checked in to our room we immediately noticed a strong musty odor. We asked to be moved to another room and the smell was somewhat improved. The room was neat and clean but if you notice little things like I do, you'll see that the blinds were rather dusty. If your goal is to stay in an historic inn, you will probably like Pine Inn. Many people probably aren't bothered by that "old house musty smell" but we thought it was unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickielynn1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    208
    103
    33
    19
See reviews for
65
374
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I only stayed there overnight but wished we had extended our stay. The hotel was very clean and we loved the old world charm. The staff were very friendly and we greatly appreciated the free room upgrade to a bigger room. The buffet breakfast at the restaurant was good. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

After eventually finding the hotel - we arrived at night and there are no street lights - we were checked in quickly. We found the staff friendly and the buffet breakfast very nice. The beach is at the bottom of the road and there are lots of shops and restaurants/cafés on Ocean Avenue. Our room did not have air con. only a ceiling fan, so was quite hot even with the windows open. Carmel is a lovely place to visit and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebelricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callicoon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

On the spur of the moment we booked a room at the Pine Inn and found everything to be wonderful. The adjoining restaurant had delicious food in a nice milieu. We would recommend the Pine Inn as a great and charming place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: We received a special rate when we called so ask if there are any specials available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creighton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We turned up at the front desk without a reservation. Carla the lady at the desk was so great we only intended to stay one night but we were having so much fun we stayed two. Great hotel with a really good breakfast included. It was such a convenient location close to the beach and all the wonderful restaurants and shops. Loved it can't wait to go back. We got a great rate on the room, $50 less than the rate posted online. Thank you Carla with the friendly face!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crosshavengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We picked this Inn because it allowed us to stay a Sat with no 2 night minimum. The rooms are very small, and there is a centralized heating systems (radiators) making our room about 80 while we tried to sleep. We did turn off the radiator, but we were on the third floor, so the heat rose.

We had friends in an even smaller room in the other part of the hotel, and they had to have fans brought up as they could not sleep.

It is connected to an Il Fornaio restaurant and we did receive a $40 credit to eat there.

Lastly, they have a small parking lot which was full the entire time we were there which required us to move our car a few times so we did not get a ticket.

All this for $209 plus tax. I can see how it would be difficult to remodel a building like this - it's an old building. I would have preferred to stay outside Carmel, and drive in since we had to move the car anyway.

Room Tip: There are some larger rooms. Our friends were able to change to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our one night stay was a pleasant experience. The inn is old but we enjoy the character that provides. It makes for a more memorable experience.

Our room was small but well appointed, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast buffet was generous and presented in the sunny and pleasant dining room. The inn is centrally located so we were able to walk everywhere: shops, restaurants, sunset on the beach.

Our only issue was that the heat was on in the room when it was not necessary. It took two calls to the desk to have it shut off. Other than that the stay was totally fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValGary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing