We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Original Carmel Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Original Carmel Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We turned up at the front desk without a reservation. Carla the lady at the desk was so great we only intended to stay one night but we were having so much fun we stayed two. Great hotel with a really good breakfast included. It was such a convenient location close to the beach and all the wonderful restaurants and shops. Loved it can't wait to go back. We got a great rate on the room, $50 less than the rate posted online. Thank you Carla with the friendly face!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crosshavengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    194
    97
    27
    16
See reviews for
64
347
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We picked this Inn because it allowed us to stay a Sat with no 2 night minimum. The rooms are very small, and there is a centralized heating systems (radiators) making our room about 80 while we tried to sleep. We did turn off the radiator, but we were on the third floor, so the heat rose.

We had friends in an even smaller room in the other part of the hotel, and they had to have fans brought up as they could not sleep.

It is connected to an Il Fornaio restaurant and we did receive a $40 credit to eat there.

Lastly, they have a small parking lot which was full the entire time we were there which required us to move our car a few times so we did not get a ticket.

All this for $209 plus tax. I can see how it would be difficult to remodel a building like this - it's an old building. I would have preferred to stay outside Carmel, and drive in since we had to move the car anyway.

Room Tip: There are some larger rooms. Our friends were able to change to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our one night stay was a pleasant experience. The inn is old but we enjoy the character that provides. It makes for a more memorable experience.

Our room was small but well appointed, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast buffet was generous and presented in the sunny and pleasant dining room. The inn is centrally located so we were able to walk everywhere: shops, restaurants, sunset on the beach.

Our only issue was that the heat was on in the room when it was not necessary. It took two calls to the desk to have it shut off. Other than that the stay was totally fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValGary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Coming in for the evening from dinner, my wife realized she needed a certain feminine product. She discreetly inquired with the front desk clerk, and he directed us to the women's room in the hotel restaurant. No luck, sold out. So at the desk once again, we asked for directions to a nearby pharmacy. The clerk, in no mood to be helpful, said that eveything was closed in Carmel (it was 10:05 on a Friday evening). He volunteered that the liquor store would be open. Before hitting the road for a 10-mile drive to nearby Monterey, we decided to walk to the neighboring Cypress Inn. My wife volunteered to their front desk clerk that we were not in fact guests there, but she explained her predicament. Immediately he sprung to action, checking with housekeeping and then in a supply closet. No luck. But then he gave us directions to a 24-hour Safeway just a mile away. And he refused my tip.

Having opened in 1889, you would think that the Pine Inn would have encountered this guest predicament before. You can guess where we will be staying on a return trip to Carmel. Thank you, Cypress Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinfromKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I would like to publicly apologize to this guest for our lack of customer service. We should have known of a place nearby or made some calls to assist. We have shared this comment with the staff and they have assured me that this type of poor service will not occur again.

John Lloyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way from SanFran to LA with our two teenage boys. All of us loved the hotel, the location, the rooms and the Italian restaurant attached to the back of the hotel was fantastic too. Some people may think its a little pricey but frankly if your looking for cheap then you're in the wrong town, not just this hotel. Carmel is a high end expensive town so their hotels are as well. Regardless, I thought the Pine Inn was great. The rooms are a little small but this is a very old hotel and everything worked just fine. Full size flat screen TVs and beautiful decor. I would highly recommend if your heading to Carmel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ooost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Carmel is small, don't let location be your primary reason to choose a hotel. We did and found that within a 5 block radius, there were plenty of properties. This place is old, the rooms are small. There is enough parking for about 20% of the guests. For the price, this place is subpar.

Room Tip: go down the street to another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank u114193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If I could give this Hotel a "0" I would. Soo disappointing. Poor front desk +service. Seemed the staff could not hardly get out of there chairs in the back as they starred at the TV. Room was a very very tiny room that we paid >$230 for 1 night for double bed.We asked for another room and said they could not accommodate us. The Hotel was clearly not full. Very deceiving when you see the gorgeous lobby. Room was dirty, musty. Shower had a plastic curtain that didn't work and water was all over and no room to use the little 2x2 mirror in bathroom to get ready. We had to wipe up all the water and wipe mirror and take turns in the Bathroom it was so small. Bed was like a rock. Pillows were hard large foam things that caused my neck to be kinked in the morning. Very uncomfortable!! Went downstairs to get a coffee at 7AM with the $5 dollar voucher I received and the manager told me that the person working didn't show up. Soo No coffee!!. I would never recommend this place .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen2112000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I would like to respond to this guest. While it is true that a few of our rooms are small, we have plenty of rooms that are roomy and spacious. In fact, we have several rooms that have a large bedroom, double sinks in the bathrooms and Jacuzzi tubs. We also have several rooms that have sitting areas with views of the ocean. I would suggest to possible future guests that they inquire when making reservations about the larger more spacious rooms.

With regard to the comment about the clerk watching TV in the back, it is not a TV rather a computer screen where reservations are made and the incoming calls are answered.

Lastly, I understand that not all guests are comfortable on a foreign bed, however our beds are of the finest quality and are hand-made by Aireloom beds.


Thank you

John Lloyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing