We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$430
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$246
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$384
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$232
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Garden Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Green Lantern Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$455
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svendsgaard's Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$274
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,009
$859
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
293
262
118
42
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
262
118
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil fornaiono elevatoroldest hotelocean avenuehistoric propertycharming hotelceiling fanthe main streetstreet parkingfew blocksbuffet breakfastperfect locationcarmel by the seaart galleriesturn down serviceshort walk to the beachroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 740 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Perfect Location, perfect room, excellent breakfast and good service. Just perfect. This is one to revisit. Carmel is a delight with great restaurants and shops. The beach is beautiful and we watched a school of dolphin come close to shore

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Pine Inn couldn't be better positioned - walk out the front door and you're smack in the centre of Carmel and 5 minutes from the beach. The building is old and has bags of character - a real old fashioned hotel experience with great service. The age does have one or two disadvantages, the main one from our perspective being the very noisy air conditioning unit which seemed to be on the roof above our 3rd floor room at the back of the building. It did disturb our sleep, especially as we were still getting over jet lag. The room itself was perfect for our needs and the breakfasts were also very good (choice of tea not great if you like normal breakfast tea, but this seemed to be a problem in California generally, not exclusive to the Pine Inn). Parking is limited in the lot behind the hotel, but it didn't affect us and there is plenty of street parking in Carmel.
Carmel itself is a beautiful little town with a fabulous beach. Nice relaxed feel to the place in spite of its celebrity status and we wished we had stayed longer. Great choice of restaurants - we ate in La Bicyclette which was very high quality, and The Grill, where the food was also of a good standard.
Carmel Mission is worth a visit and of course the scenery on Big Sur is a highlight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in October. Our room had a great view of the bay and the room was nice and clean and big. The service was good except for the second evening; the maid came to turn down the bed at 7pm when I had just come out of the shower. I asked her to come back in 10 minutes, but she said she had another hotel to service. That was weird. But generally the people were nice and the service good. Nice hotel. A couple of bones to pick:
1. The breakfast was free on Friday morning and it was a great meal, all you could eat. On Saturday however, they give you $5 vouchers for the restaurant attached to the hotel. Really? You can't splurge $10-$15 with the prices you charge?
2. You had to jiggle the toilet handle sometimes.
3. The window wouldn't stay open.
That said, the place is nice, great location, and a nice room. For $260/night I didn't expect the problems and probably would stay at a different place next time for less money.

Room Tip: Good views on the third floor, but there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joethejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Pine Inn! The decor was very fitting for the style of hotel. However, our room was not air conditioned and we only had one functioning window in the bathroom. It got quite warm during the day, but the staff did bring fans to better accommodate us. The location was great and the hotel restaurant was amazing!

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank MKT578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Pine Inn is a charming old hotel in the center of Carmel. It does have its quirks, but it is old and beautiful and that just added to its charm. Our room was clean had a fantastic view of the town. We were on the third floor and didn't feel the lack of an elevator was a problem. However, if stairs are a problem for you, this probably would not be a good choice. The staff was fantastic. Everyone we spoke with was friendly and helpful- making suggestions for restaurants, giving directions and even returning an earring I lost the first night there. Breakfast in the restaurant was good- both from the menu on the weekend and the buffet during the week. I was very impressed with the buffet as hotel breakfast buffets are usually unremarkable, but everything was fresh and hot and the selection was good. We only did dinner one night in the restaurant, but it was very good and we regretted not eating there again. Parking on the weekend was a little bit of a pain, but from Sunday on we had no problem finding a spot in the lot. The location is on the lower edge of the shopping/restaurants and only a few blocks from the beach. It is an easy walk down, but uphill coming back-a very refreshing early morning walk. If we return to Carmel I would not hesitate to stay at The charming Pine Inn. My only complaint (which has nothing to do with the inn) is that ALL the shops and galleries in Carmel close early (5-6 pm). There is literally nothing open except the restaurants and bars after that time. I really wanted to visit the shops and galleries but I had too many other things planned during the day.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RRMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews