We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the deluxe patio queen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay in the deluxe patio queen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our deluxe patio queen room was not in the main building, which was a plus. We were only a few yards from Carmel's main street, but didn't hear any noise. The bathrooms are huge and the bedrooms are spacious. The included breakfast buffet at the restaurant had scrambled eggs, potatoes, French toast, oatmeal, bacon, fruit, pastries and bread. The only negative is that the rooms don't have coffee pots so we couldn't heat up water for tea when we returned to our room after dinner. If you're over 62 be sure ask for the senior discount.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    201
    98
    27
    16
See reviews for
64
355
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rooms are small and nicely equipped. Average friendly service. 4* breakfast. We had a great dinner just across the street in Portabella (they do a discount for guest of Pine Inn – which the restaurant were kind enough to tell us). Free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped off in Carmel for 1 night on our way to San Francisco . A charming tree lined town full of art galleries, quaint little shops and restaurants. The hotel we stayed in was the historic Pine Inn. It is an old style Inn hotel situated in the centre of town in a little courtyard setting admist lovely antique shops and galleries. On arrival we had a very warm welcome from the staff on reception. The hotel was busy and had a lovely atmosphere. Our room was traditional small... but cosy although it didn't benefit from the modern convenince of air conditioning, the receptionist quickly provided us with a fan for our room which was very welcomed. It was a lovely touch to recieve complementary breakfast tokens and we enjoyed l the tasty breakfast in the morning which had a good range of hot breakfast and pastries. We also checked out their restaurnat Il Fornaio where we had an excellent experience for dinner, its a lovely italian restaurant ( I believe part of a chain in California). Service was really good a choice of dishes... I had the penne in a Vodka cream sauce... it was delicious one of the tastiest pasta dishes I've had. Overall we enjoyed the old world charm and personable stay at the Pine Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon that was spent on Hwy 1 of the Coast of California.

Located in the heart of Ocean Avenue 3-4 blocks from the ocean, the location was perfect! The Pine Inn stands out from other hotels with it's charming white tall building that is anchored with quality boutiques on the first floor. The Inn is nicely decorated with an 1880's elegance charm that made us feel like we paid a million bucks!

Built in the 1880's, we expected the hotel to be run down and have an 'old wood' smell but we did not experience that at all. It's ornate 1880's inspired decor carried throughout the hotel from the lobby to the individual rooms.

The breakfast that is included Mon-Friday has a variety of choices and is hosted in the in-house restaurant, il Fornaio.

Room Tip: Room 17 has a view of hotel's private parking lot and street. Not horrible but not the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 310travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I were traveling on our 25th weeding anniversary. We had stayed in four different 4 and 5 Diamond resorts across the Canadian Rockies and San Francisco before we arrived here. We were treated like royalty at those places but I have to say Ali at this hotel was Over The Top with her kindness and hospitality. She gave us a wonderful intimate suite with a fireplace located right next to all that is Carmel. The main street of Carmel was just 20 feet from our suite. We have stayed here before and every time we do we love it that much more. I would ask for Suite 1 when you go and of course ask for Ali. Donna was also so understanding about a small issue we had with our service dog. Just nice people. Wonderful place. Trust me you won't go wrong with this here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Pinne-inn from the 12th to the 15th and had a very very bad experience. We made reservation with two months in advance, and we got THE WORSE room, and they didn't want to change it, was No. 2. Since about 24 years we have been coming to this Hotel but for sure we will never come back !!! There are so many other nicest Hotels around !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Graciela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have been staying at the Pine Inn for the last 10+ years for a week each visit and have never had a bad experience. John & his staff have always made us feel very welcome. The restaurant is also worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccsarbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing