We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in downtown Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in downtown Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We come to the Pine Inn once a year to relax and get away from it all! The service is excellent and the rooms are charming and very clean! It's like stepping back in time. The location is perfect! Right downtown! We walked every morning and evening. The other reason we love it is Il Fornaio, the wonderful Italian restaurant right in the hotel! There is a wonderful breakfast included in the price of the room on weekdays. They have a great Happy Hour, with delicious pizzas! We love the whole experience of being at the Pine Inn, and getting away from it all!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    203
    102
    30
    18
See reviews for
65
364
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I realize this is an historic property and some chic shabbiness is in order, but I would prefer more modern amenities, especially air conditioning during a heat wave. I had a 3 story hike to my room. Otherwise it is well-located, has almost enough enclosed parking less than a block away and the breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girardot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Can't beat the location. We were in the annex, which I don't normally want and even though I made this reservation well in advance of arrival, but it wasn't too distant or disappointing. It was a very nice accommodation with a restaurant and bar, which, btw closed at 10 pm. We weren't quite ready to call it a night on the weekend, but we didn't want to venture away at that hour either. It's within walking distance to everything, including other restaurants and some shopping. I felt a little like a school child b/c we had to wait in line each morning for our food vouchers for breakfast. A little awkward when I haven't had my coffee yet.

Room Tip: There was a bit of noise in the annex room. It was also the area where the cleaning people got thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I traveled home to see family and to avoid offending different relatives who wanted me to stay with them I opted for the Pine Inn which I have known since I grew up in Carmel and lived a few blocks away in the late 60's through the 80's. I made the mistake of thinking it was a full service hotel and one thing I want is in room coffee or room service which is limited. I was in their Penthouse with a pleasant fireplace, living room, and bedroom with King bed. First the room. The rooms are cluttered with too much furniture. The bedroom has huge imitation Chinese urn lamps that are too big for the antique side tables where you cannot place anything. I was facing the back of the hotel where the garbage is picked up MWF. The bathroom is seriously dated, 1980's with mildew in the showers. But the thing that irked me is I knew the previous owners and was surprised that while its nice they have a good Italian Restaurant which is liked by locals, they have no room service until 730am and no in room coffee makers, For the 380 a night I paid I thought this was cheap especially when you read that the owners spent million on renovations but on what I am not sure. Again I have been going to this Inn for 35 or more years but usually stay at The Highlands Inn or elsewhere. When I realized they had no coffee I was told that due to the hotels age they worry about fires and running coffee makers, this is what the manager told me, not the GM but the manager on duty, they worry about fires. I responded that for the money they claim they spent on remodeling I would have brought the electrical up to code instead of more lattice work in the public areas,,,,they love lattice. Park is ok, and free in the back in you can get a spot. I could not stay there and moved the Highlands Inn after one night. I paid them a one night penalty for cancellation since they offered me no option. For this kind of money I could have bough a can of coffee and coffee maker and stayed...and maybe I should have to save myself some trouble but honestly the management here was not interested. By the way if you stay at The Tally Ho Inn next door, it is owned by the same people and they do not have coffee either. I recommend The Cypress Inn, or some of the other properties that will cost you less, are clean and where they will give you coffee. The free breakfast means nothing to me at The Pine Inn if I have to wait an hour for coffee. Also seniors should avoid the penthouse rooms as the steps are steep and you may be able to get a bellman.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colonelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Good Morning,

I wanted to respond to this review in a positive manner. It is entirely true that we do not have coffee makers in the guest rooms. The Pine Inn is an Historical Landmark within the city of Carmel-by-the-Sea in addition to being the 1st hotel built in the city circa 1889. The ownership has tried over the years to maintain much of that turn-of-the-century feel within the hotel and the guest rooms.

As noted in many of the other reviews of the Pine Inn, one can see that the guests really like the elegant ambience of years past not to mention the service provided by the staff.

Thank you

John Lloyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not only is the location wonderful, but the property is too. Our room was very nicely decorated and the people at the front desk were very nice. Carmel is such a beautiful location with great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is a little gem! We just had a 1 night stay here this week
Perfect location in the very centre of Carmel just a 5 min walk down to the beach (downhill but uphill coming back) Carmel itself is so pretty! Lots of boutique shops art galleries and quaint restaurants. It really was a beautiful place to potter around.

Our room at the Pine Inn was very cute if a little small but we could see the sea and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was nice the next day and the hotel had free WiFi and parking.

We had to call down and have someone come and show us how to use the shower in the morning as it was a little complicated but other than than no complaints at all!

Staff very friendly and we really wished we could have stayed longer.

All in all a great option in this quaint beachside town

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

First time back to Carmel in a decade and first time at Pine Inn. Quaint old hotel in heart of town within an easy walk of the shops and restaurants. Rooms are scattered on 3 levels amongst dining, coffee and shopping areas. Wonderful breakfast included to feast on at the sunny porch. Delightful staff always willing to assist. Parking conveniently adjoins hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55LoneStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing