We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not only is the location wonderful, but the property is too. Our room was very nicely decorated and the people at the front desk were very nice. Carmel is such a beautiful location with great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    188
    93
    25
    15
See reviews for
61
337
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is a little gem! We just had a 1 night stay here this week
Perfect location in the very centre of Carmel just a 5 min walk down to the beach (downhill but uphill coming back) Carmel itself is so pretty! Lots of boutique shops art galleries and quaint restaurants. It really was a beautiful place to potter around.

Our room at the Pine Inn was very cute if a little small but we could see the sea and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was nice the next day and the hotel had free WiFi and parking.

We had to call down and have someone come and show us how to use the shower in the morning as it was a little complicated but other than than no complaints at all!

Staff very friendly and we really wished we could have stayed longer.

All in all a great option in this quaint beachside town

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

First time back to Carmel in a decade and first time at Pine Inn. Quaint old hotel in heart of town within an easy walk of the shops and restaurants. Rooms are scattered on 3 levels amongst dining, coffee and shopping areas. Wonderful breakfast included to feast on at the sunny porch. Delightful staff always willing to assist. Parking conveniently adjoins hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55LoneStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We wanted a quiet place to stay before taking on the Big Sur after the hustle and bustle of San Francisco - particularly as the Holiday Inn had been so noisy (we were able to share our neighbours tv programmes through the walls, and the domestics). This served the purpose so well. It was very close to the delightful shops and the beach. I always feel first impressions count and the receptionist was friendly and professional. Within minutes we were checked in. Yes, this place is oldy worldly but that was what we had seen on the Internet and what we wanted for our stay in Carmel. Oldy worldly does not mean poorly maintained (again the H Inn) and everything was extremely clean and we had our first good night since arriving in the US. The bed was so comfortable. Quite small, but anything else would not have fitted.
We ate in the Il Fornaio restaurant where our server could not do enough to help and kept coming out with tasters as this was our first time here. The bar tender was equally good. No cocktail menu, he was just able to make whatever was requested.
If we were ever here again, would have no hesitation booking this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholidayer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great location. All the rooms are very clean and the food was wonderful. Ask for the patio room if you want a great location in the hotel as some rooms are small and you have to use the stairs. Oscar in the restaurant is a wonderful server and all the hotel personnel are very helpful and friendly. We look forward to visiting again in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Pine Inn several times and nothing has changed. The old world charm of this hotel must be on the visitor's 'ok' list. The décor is Victorian with authentic furnishings. Modern is not a word that comes to mind.
It is a charming and romantic hotel centrally located in Carmel By the Sea. It is one of the few properties within walking distance of all of the restaurants and shops, ocean front, and parks. Then again, every hotel in the central Carmel By the Sea area is within walking distance. The perk of this hotel is the luxury treatment. It's also not bad to walk out the door and take in the beauty of the small town and the ocean air.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel. It has an authentic Victorian feel yet is updated and incredibly comfortable. It reminds me of similar Victorian bed and breakfasts where we used to stay on the coast of Maine, yet it also has that particular Northern California charm. The ambience is lovely, from the lobby to the hallways and rooms themselves. We also had a fantastic dinner at Il Fornaio. I would definitely repeat both experiences and the Pine Inn would be my first choice the next time I'm passing through Big Sur.

Room Tip: The beds were way too soft for me. I'm not sure if they have the option of asking for a firm mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandajulia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing