We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Victorian Style”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic Victorian Style”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Pine Inn several times and nothing has changed. The old world charm of this hotel must be on the visitor's 'ok' list. The décor is Victorian with authentic furnishings. Modern is not a word that comes to mind.
It is a charming and romantic hotel centrally located in Carmel By the Sea. It is one of the few properties within walking distance of all of the restaurants and shops, ocean front, and parks. Then again, every hotel in the central Carmel By the Sea area is within walking distance. The perk of this hotel is the luxury treatment. It's also not bad to walk out the door and take in the beauty of the small town and the ocean air.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    208
    104
    33
    19
See reviews for
66
374
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel. It has an authentic Victorian feel yet is updated and incredibly comfortable. It reminds me of similar Victorian bed and breakfasts where we used to stay on the coast of Maine, yet it also has that particular Northern California charm. The ambience is lovely, from the lobby to the hallways and rooms themselves. We also had a fantastic dinner at Il Fornaio. I would definitely repeat both experiences and the Pine Inn would be my first choice the next time I'm passing through Big Sur.

Room Tip: The beds were way too soft for me. I'm not sure if they have the option of asking for a firm mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandajulia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a fine inn, with comfortable rooms. A very nice breakfast was served each morning. Lovely lobby and friendly staff. We enjoyed the location and walked to dinner each evening, as well as to shops and sites nearby. It is very convenient!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This lovely hotel has very nice furnishings in the lobby. Wonderful front desk people with good recommendations. There is a private parking area which is a big deal in this city where parking can be very difficult. The attached Il Fornaio restaurant is so nice for the included breakfast with room rate. Our room was quite comfortable. Carmel is an enchanting city. The hotel is within walking distance to great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJHBNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I feel bad giving a negative review because I really wanted to like this place, but its just not at all worth the price. Pros: good location in Carmel, parking included, nice staff, good cable in rooms. Cons: worst hotel shower ever, tiny cramped bathroom, grimy walls, old and noisy windows, creaky floor, gross comforter, overpriced. To quote my husband, "That was no better than staying in a hostel." For close to $300 a night I think there should be better upkeep. I get that it's an old building but they could do much better with the place. I would definitely not recommend this one - I'd rather stay at a chain hotel outside town than pay for that room again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
As the general manager, I wanted to respond to this review. The Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel, circa 1889. The Pine Inn is an Historical Resource in Carmel-by-the-Sea. While it is true that some of the floors are creaky and some of the bathrooms are cozy, there are plenty of rooms with ample sized marble bathrooms and some even have Jacuzzi tubs.

As a designated Historical Resource, the owner tries to combine the old-style charm with modern comforts. All of our rooms have pillow-top mattresses, new carpet, new bedspreads and flat screen tv's. The decor has a touch of Asian influence in conjunction with Eurpoean fabrics and case goods.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a very relaxing weekend in Carmel where we stayed in the Pine Inn. It's in a great location right in the commercial district. All of the stores, galleries and restaurants are within an easy walk. The beach is also a moderate walk away-downhill going but uphill returning of course.

The Pine Inn has a lot of historic charm and staying there felt like a trip back in time. The staff was wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful to us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We made reservation for my wife's birthday weekend at the Pine Inn. We had a wonderful first impression as the front desk/check-in staff greeted us warmly and made us feel like VIP's! The lobby was decorated beautifully and was like being in a charming European location. It was also just a short walk to the beach and importantly...parking included! We had requested an ocean view room and when we entered it was everything we expected. Lovely/romantic view from the window, nicely but simple decoration, bathroom was clean with a old-world but modern comfort. To our surprise there was a complimentary Pine Inn branded bottle of chilled champagne next to the bed and a nice birthday note beside it! We also received vouchers for price off brunch at El Fornaio or could be used at the coffee bar.
The only problem we had was that it seemed the mattress had seen better days support-wise and was a bit uncomfortable in regards to a good night's sleep. I did mention it to the front desk in the morning and they were most apologetic and made note of it. This is no way would be a deal breaker for another stay. Looking for a nice, charming, romantic hotel to stay in the heart of Carmel? Try the Pine Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing