We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming Old World Comfort in Carmel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Benicia, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming Old World Comfort in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We made reservation for my wife's birthday weekend at the Pine Inn. We had a wonderful first impression as the front desk/check-in staff greeted us warmly and made us feel like VIP's! The lobby was decorated beautifully and was like being in a charming European location. It was also just a short walk to the beach and importantly...parking included! We had requested an ocean view room and when we entered it was everything we expected. Lovely/romantic view from the window, nicely but simple decoration, bathroom was clean with a old-world but modern comfort. To our surprise there was a complimentary Pine Inn branded bottle of chilled champagne next to the bed and a nice birthday note beside it! We also received vouchers for price off brunch at El Fornaio or could be used at the coffee bar.
The only problem we had was that it seemed the mattress had seen better days support-wise and was a bit uncomfortable in regards to a good night's sleep. I did mention it to the front desk in the morning and they were most apologetic and made note of it. This is no way would be a deal breaker for another stay. Looking for a nice, charming, romantic hotel to stay in the heart of Carmel? Try the Pine Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    201
    98
    27
    16
See reviews for
64
355
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Carmel was well placed on our 2 day drive up from LA to SF. Great hotel with many unique features. There is a car park but as we arrived late afternoon this was full. We parked in the street and the bell boy told us if we were not parked in the right direction we would proberly get a ticket. Not surprised as everything in Carmel is just so perfect, maybe to perfect. Room was big and comfortable, staff were willing. Chackout the reception as it is lovely. Eating out in Carmel can be expensive so we searched around until we found where the locals and staff eat. Breakfast in the hotel was plentiful and very good. Watch the waitress as she likes to make up her pay on large tips. Next morning drove to Monteray via 17 mile drive, well worth the toll fee as the coast line is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just stayed at the Pine Inn again . We had room 15 & were very happy with the room!! We love this hotel!! The staff is great & we were delivered a beautiful basket of goodies with a bottle of champagne. It is so centrally located , it makes it easy to get around. We will always stay here!!

Room Tip: This is an old hotel, so don't expect large bathrooms! The charm outweighs the size!! Even my hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Pine Inn is a less than 90 minutes from the San Jose area, so it's a great option if you are in the Bay area and want to tour the Carmel-Monterey area. The hotel has been around since 1903, back when tourists arrived by horse. These days it's been remodeled and surrounded by other buildings, so it's a bit difficult to imagine what the roof line was like back in the early days. Don't let it's age deter you. The rooms are updated, clean, and comfortable. I booked a Superior King so I could get an ocean view and was quite pleased with it. See photos.

The hotel has its own parking lot across the street that's behind the hotel. I found a spot, but I overheard a few people who arrived later in the day saying it was full. In that case, there is on-street parking but you'll need to move your car in the morning.

During the week the hotel has a deal with Il Fornaio (located in the same building) to offer breakfast at a discount to guests. I was there on the weekend, so no deal for me. However, I found the coffee bar in Il Fornaio quite convenient for a quick breakfast.

Room Tip: Book one of the superior rooms with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a really quaint little place and the breakfast was fantastic. There was an outdoor parking facility across the road for hotel guests. The room was lovely though everything is a bit crooked due to the age of the building but that added to the quaintness. The rooms were very clean and comfy beds. Carmel itself it a great place, well healed people living there with a beautiful beach almost comparable to Aussie beaches. The drive up highway 1 is also well worth it the coastline all the way meant lots of stops and photos once again I can compare it to the beauty of Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Let me say, that I was incredibly excited to stay at this hotel. We arrived in Carmel, after a long day of traveling and couldn't wait to explore Carmel. Upon arrival - the very friendly front desk person talked us into upgrading into a 'superior' king room with a view of the ocean. It's important to note that the ocean is a LONG way from this hotel - so while you can 'see' it - think more like 'seeing the ocean is a distance or on the horizon' you will not have any ocean sounds or smells. Our room was in the main building - which is old. I am good with that - I like charm, small staircases .. no problem. But ... the room.... I am not exaggerating when I say it was like walking into the spare bedroom at your Grandmothers house that has not been used in awhile. There was a funky musty odor - I can only imagine what is lurking in the dark, dark carpets or super heavy bedding. But alas, we were tired - so we chalked it up to jet lag -we should have never paid for the room "upgrade" ... but we moved on. It was pretty chilly the weekend we were there - so around 7pm, we tried to turn on the 'heat' in the room (again, think old radiator at Grandma's house) and it wouldn't turn on or get warm. When I called down to the front desk I was told that they didn't "turn on the heat until 9". ummm....huh? ok. They did bring up a space heater - which was nice, again ... the service here is great. We had a fantastic dinner in Carmel and the location of this hotel, cannot be beat. The next morning we awoke to the sounds of the sidewalks being blown off and the trash from the bar downstairs being dumped into the trash cans (insert loud bottle breaking and crashing noises here). Not ideal. Basically - the hotel really needs an update. It was disappointing based on the website - my expectations were something more rustic, yet elegant. I don't think the word elegance really belongs with this hotel from what I saw. Visit was fine, but the next time we are in Carmel, I wouldn't stay here. Service was fantastic! Great Staff! We were there on the weekend, so we didn't have the breakfast buffet. We founds a parking place easily in their lot, no worries there.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is NOT on the street side - you will have loud noise early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apexchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The Pine Inn is well located, the service friendly, the decor nice, the room was comfortable although the hallways and door frames are crooked (part of charm). The attached Il Fornaio restaurant and bar/bakery are a wonderful plus. All of that is good and even the value was good.

The disappointment was the lobby. When we choose a hotel, especially during a cold (high 30s-40s at night)/rainy time of the year, we look carefully for a lobby that we can enjoy so that we can be both out of our room and out of the weather. This lobby was so promising but left us so frustrated & feeling uncared for.

First issue, it was freezing. We asked about the cold a few times and other than a reference to the doors to the outside that weren't closed, we didn't get any further than that. It wasn't just cool, as in needing a sweater to be comfortable, it was COLD. Second issue, there were signs everywhere in the lobby saying "no food or drink". I so would have loved to have had my morning cup of tea as well as an end of the day glass of wine in this lovely lobby!! It was so beautifully decorated with a fireplace (not a hot one) and antique furniture and beautiful rich colors. I imagine the higher priority is the care of the furniture & floor rather than the usability by the guest. This made me feel like I was in a museum, not a hotel. This is a very important part of our trips, to have a place beyond our room to relax in and for that reason my review is 3 stars as I certainly don't want to project that the hotel is a bad place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing