We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$430
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$246
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$384
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Garden Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Green Lantern Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$455
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svendsgaard's Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$274
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,009
$859
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveler rating
293
262
118
42
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
262
118
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil fornaiono elevatoroldest hotelocean avenuehistoric propertycharming hotelceiling fanthe main streetstreet parkingfew blocksbuffet breakfastperfect locationcarmel by the seaart galleriesturn down serviceshort walk to the beachroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 740 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for one night, the room nice but very small.
the breakfast was great.
the hotel looks very nice with all the decorations inside.
however, to get to our room on the second floor we had to climb the stairs and it was hard with all the luggage. even to get to the lobby we had to climb the stairs.
if you come in the late night you do not have any parking spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuvaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

As the general manager of the Pine Inn I wanted to respond to this review. As a reminder, we have a bellman on duty from 6:30 am until 10:30 pm - everyday to assist with luggage. We also have a ramp access to the lobby located just to the right of the stairs that also lead into the lobby.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

On weekends in Fall, hotel rooms are at a premium in Carmel. The Pine Inn sits in the center of the downtown area just 3 blocks from the ocean. It sounds perfect until you enter the fading red lobby. Hallways are narrow and rooms are tiny. The bathrooms are small with no counter space. I searched for a hair dryer to no avail. We found it hanging in the closet when we went to check out. We had to carry our own suitcases up the steep narrow staircase. The price was quite high for this quality. This hotel could regain it's glory with a major remodel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermosa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Rooms were average, small and overpriced but clean and quiet (except the AM banging of workers). Had a view of the parking lot which was always crowded. Had to park on the street overnight and move the car to the parking lot in the AM. Will try another place next time in Carmel.

Room Tip: If you can get a parking spot early, grab it. Hotel staff will not assist with parking or anything else.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is very pleased with itself but guests are likely to be less so. Room 33, where we stayed, looks out on mechanicals on a roof, and the noise from fans kept us awake on a night too stuffy to close the window. The bathroom was ludicrously tiny and cramped. Free parking was a plus, as was downtown location 4 blocks from the Carmel Beach. Parts of the hotel are reachable only up 2 flights of brick stairs

Room Tip: avoid room 33
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location-close to beach and town. 150.00$ a nite for queen room on 3rd floor. No elevator, garish red flocked walls and outdated furnishings Slanted floors and crooked doors, it felt like you were tipsy with everything uneven- apparently they moved the building at one time and the entire building is not square now. Horrible view of junk outside window. Bad night sleep on too soft bed. Towels old, discolored and felt like sandpaper.
Pay a bit more for quality. Would not recommend unless you like a bordello-like atmosphere and dragging your suitcase up several flights of stairs. Hot room and windows painted shut.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

As the general manager of the Pine Inn I would like to respond to this review. The Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel circa 1889. It is designated an Historic Resource with the City of Carmel. The owner of the hotel has kept that old world charm alive within the hotel. It is true that we do not elevators, however we do have bellmen on duty to assist with luggage.

It is also true that the main building slants a little bit. This is due to the hotel being moved from up the street to its present location around the turn of the century. It was originally named the Hotel Carmelo but after being rolled down the street on pine logs it was renamed the Pine Inn.

The PIne Inn has a variety of guestrooms to include ocean view rooms and luxurious suites in the Penthouse. Likewise, we have rooms with Jacuzzi tubs and wonderful marble bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews