We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with very comfortable rooms. First class restaurant on the premises!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Inn to your Saves list
Pine Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location with very comfortable rooms. First class restaurant on the premises!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel about 20 years ago and decided to return with family in tow, having had nice memories of the place. It was WONDERFUL! The staff was so helpful...helping us choose a spa off premises, guidance regarding airport info, etc. Room was spacious and maid service was exceptional as well. Had a view of the ocean which was nice. It is a quaint, older hotel and I highly recommend it! The Italian restaurant inside the hotel was marvelous! The breakfast buffet was also great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postcardgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I had just one night to spend in Carmel and we chose The Pine Inn, based on Trip Advisor reviews. I agree with all the other reviewers.
Our experience: A staff person was ready in the afternoon and very early Sunday morning to move our very heavy suitcases - very accommodating.
Il Fornio Italian Restaurant downstairs - excellent amenity- great food, friendly staff.
The white linens struck me as very clean and comfortable.
Really enjoyed staying in such a legendary hotel that is over 100 years old.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppermint123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Located in the heart of Carmel, it is in walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants and the beach. My husband and I planned on staying one night, but loved it so much, we stayed three nights!! The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The hotel restaurant is fantastic. Very lively bar scene with excellent italian food. The bartender, Roberto, was very personable and knowledgable. The rooms were clean. It is an old hotel, so the walls were thin and we did get some early morning noise from employees working outside of our room. Other than that, which was totally tolerable, this place is great. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkpearlsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Pine Inn is situated on the main street in town so was a good base for exploring the town before dinner. Would recommend unloading your bags outside the hotel before parking in the car park if you have a lot of luggage. Room was dated but still very clean and perfect for a quick one night stopover. Room was quite expensive but I get the impression that nothing in Carmel is cheap!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Pine Inn and I entered the hotel and checked in and I paid extra to have a slightly larger room as was advised by a previous reviewer as the original room was tiny

The room was ok but was very drab in colour, maroon and a khaki green - and a very old dark carpet - very dreary - so not for a romantic stay. I must point out though that although compact the bathroom was very clean.

The room was on the first floor and the corridors that led to the room were dull, and again dreary and drab and chipped paint and dark carpet and dreadful lighting.

The entrance lounge is the only place in the whole hotel that is cared for, one is not allowed to eat there and there are notices to that effect and the colour scheme is red with wood furniture but as it was so well looked after it looked quite pleasant.

There are various notices in the bedroom about rules and requests such as to keep the heating turned down etc.

During this trip to the West Coast and having stayed at six hotels in total this was by far the least enjoyable and my husband and I were pleased that we were only staying for one night.

The best thing about this hotel is the location right in the middle of the shops, and a short walk to the beach even though it is uphill to come back and the beach is naturally delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanJon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Pine Inn is a perfect place to stay while visiting Carmel. The rooms are decorated very nice and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was centrally located to walk around Carmel and also close by the beach and 17 Mile Drive. The staff at the front desk were exceptionally helpful with suggesting good restaurants and places to visit in the area. I have been to Carmel many times before, but this time it seemed more special, staying at the "oldest hotel in Carmel". I found the history of the hotel very interesting as well. Also, the hotel has free parking which is a definite plus in Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artgal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Lovely small inn. Very comfortable beds and rooms. Staff was very helpful. My husband walks with 2 canes and we were given a room that was easy access for him. It was great to have a restaurant on site with great food and service, tho lots within walking distance. Would stay again & again.

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#2 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing