We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely stay in Carmel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We booked pine inn after reading all the reviews on trip advisor. We were looking for a nice, clean and upscale location in Carmel, that is centrally located and that can accommodate a family of three adults with some privacy forour adult daughter. Pine inn was a great success. The room (a one bedroom suite with two bathrooms) was a greta find. It's really huge!! The location can not be better, close to everything and has great parking for a car. The service was very good. The inn is beautiful, with a very nice outdoor space to sit and sip a glass of wine and look at the sunset. Our daughter was very comfortable and so were we. The noise from the garbage collectors is not a big deal, it's a nice and quiet place most of the time. I would definitely stay there agai if we are ever back to Carmel. We also had a great breakfast at La Bicyclette. A great spot for any meal. Best meal in Carmel.

Room Tip: This room has no ocean view but is very comfortable for a large family, it's located behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    202
    101
    28
    16
See reviews for
64
358
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We came in to this hotel in the evening -- a family of 6 -- and checked into a space that could fit all of us, more or less. The price was good, the room clean (though it had a faint musty odor that I remedied by opening windows). We were comfortable though there was early morning dumpster emptying noise (kitchens nearby throwing out nightly trash). Overall the place worked out fine for us. The complimentary breakfast was excelllent!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hi_plains_drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I normally steer clear of hotels with a b&b style and/or Victorian decor, but the Pine Inn is absolutely charming and won me over through and through. The location is perfect right in the heart of Carmel, the rooms and amenities are spotless, hotel staff overwhelmingly nice and knowledgeable, and the morning breakfast absolutely top notch. Even the decor is so well done that it offers some fantastic photo ops for you and your fellow travelers. Parking's a challenge but that's par for the course in Carmel. Can't recommend the Pine Inn enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metropolistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Pine Inn is charming with ultra-friendly staff. It is located in downtown Carmel near shops, art galleries, and fine dining. The beach is just a short distance, too. The hotel houses a great restaurant, Il Fornaio, which has a wonderful happy hour on weekdays. Helpful, too, is the parking lot just for hotel residents. Downsides are the lack of elevators, so you trek steps, and the rooms are on the tight-side, as in small. Still, it was a comfortable stay. I would return there.

Room Tip: A few of the upper rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Nice hotel..location really couldn't be better! You're right in the heart of Carmel and everything is right outside your door. Helpful staff, great breakfast, and we even had a little ocean view from our room. Needs a little updating as far as the guest rooms go. Aside from that, was very cute and perfect for a quick visit to cute Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We visited this nice property in late October. Carmel is a beautiful little village with plenty of restaurants and cosy wine bars. We had a family room with two double beds and a spacius living room area. Three TVs (living room, bedroom, bathroom) and a huge bathroom. We ate dinner and breakfast (breakfast included) in the hotel restaurant which provided good quality to a reasonable price. All in all a nice stay in a village worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon County NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Pine Inn is located is a very convenient location. You can easily walk to restaurants, stores and galleries. You can walk to the beach but be prepared for a very labored walk back up the hill. Our room was tiny but clean. We did enjoy a distant view of the ocean and sunsets. There was no question we were in the 'land of Carmel'!
We were very disappointed the lobby area does not allow food or drink in their sitting area. We were told because of expensive antiques. We missed having an area to lounge to just enjoy the ambience. The restaurant however was very good and we did enjoy a complimentary breakfast during the weekday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#16 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing