We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A superb hotel, in the heart of a superb little town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A superb hotel, in the heart of a superb little town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Although it is one of the oldest hotels in town, the Pine Inn hotel is a perfectly maintained property. Starting from the hotel lobby area, with classic furniture and a wonderfull fireplace, up to the room we have stayed in, everything is remarcable about this place. Our room (Standard King room) was large enough and woderfully decorated, with all modern amenities, but the best thing about it was the bed, which trully was a king's one. Breakfast (included) was decent and the restaurant "Il Fornaio" provided a very nice atmosphere. Hotel is just a short walk to the magnificent Carmel Beach and around the hotel you may find lots of small boutiques and art galleries, as well as several bistros and restaurants where you can have quality time in the evening. We traveled in August and were quite surprised of the climate of this region, mostly foggy and cold, especially during mornings and evenings (now you understand why we loved the fireplace...). Actually, we were planning to enjoy a nice swim in the ocean, but the cold water (15-16 Celsius) and chilly weather made us change our mind in a second... Should you travel there, make sure you have a jacket or sweater with you, cause you will need it! Overall, our experience in Carmel-By-The-Sea was a great one and the Pine Inn hotel had it's contribution to that. This is a "must visit" location if you travel along the Pacific coast, between Los Angeles and San Francisco, among other nice places, such as: Peeble Beach, Monterey Acquarium, Big Sur, Julia Pfeiffer Burns Park, etc...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    194
    97
    27
    16
See reviews for
64
347
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Loved the beautiful old lobby and the great location of this historical hotel in downtown Carmel. No need to ever get in your car when you can walk to all of the wonderful restaurants, shops and even the beach while staying in Carmel. The room was small, but decorated in such a lovely way that it didn't bother us. Everything was clean and kept up well throughout the entire hotel, though it was a little noisy. I guess those thin old walls aren't insulated as well as new hotels these days, but that just might be part of the charm. No elevator, so be prepared to walk up two or three flights of stairs. The breakfast which was included at the attached Il Fornaio Restaurant was wonderful and everyone was very friendly. The price was the best we found in Carmel for this quality of lodging and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking spot in the free parking lot or you may have to park on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monarchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We couldn't believe how good this hotel was for what we paid. It's in a great location, right in the middle of Carmel and just 5 minutes walk from the beach. Staff were very helpful and we couldn't have asked for more from the room itself. Will definitely go back the next time we're in Carmel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Pine Inn. It is in a good location for easy access during the day after walking and sightseeing. Our room was older yet updated and elegant and very clean. The restaurant onsite, Il Fornaio, was great as a breakfast and dinner location. There is also free parking in the hotel lot. There is a relaxed atmosphere at the hotel and a charm that is what Carmel itself is all about.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Carmel is a wonderful village. Really nice. Pine inn is very well located and it is a nice hotel to visit Carmel. Breakfast is quite good and it is included in the room price.
The only "con" is that the hotel does not have an elevator, so it is quite inconvenient if your room is in the upper floor and you have to carry up your bags. Of course there is a bell boy willing to help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeteJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Based on the review we saw, this is one of the top 10 hotels in Carmel. We decided to give a try. We stayed for 2 nights. However, we are very disappointed with the services and quality they could offer associated to the price they charged. The toilet was not working at all, the bathroom incredible small. The room was not cleaned thoroughly since there was an empty bottle sitting by the window from prior guests. I would not pay for $265 per night for this kind of services/quality. The hotel might be famous before, but it's certainly a lot of work to be done.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Pine Inn is a small hotel in downtown Carmel. The interior is warm and inviting and the staff helpful. The location on Ocean Avenue makes it very convenient for shopping and dining...but downtown Carmel is small enough that everything is a short walk. The rooms are attractive and clean. If you stay, ask for rooms that face Monte Verde...the windows have a view of Carmel Bay. The Inn also has its own parking lot, which is a distinct advantage in downtown Carmel. But, spaces are limited so think about how much you plan to use your car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing