We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed many times and will continue to do so!”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We have stayed many times and will continue to do so!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have stayed here many times and the hotel and service are always the same--very reliable. The room is always clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the location in Carmel is perfect--close to all amenities and to the sea. We like the fact that the hotel has a "boutique" feel and is so different from the vast majority of hotels in the USA. Well worth a visit!

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    205
    102
    33
    19
See reviews for
65
371
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is smack in the middle of downtown Carmel, and a short walk to the beach. We had the ocean view king suite. The hotel is one of the oldest (or maybe the oldest) in Carmel, and had the ambience and feel to it. Gold touches on the lights, red lobby, wooden blind on the windows (I forget what its actually called). The restaurant also has a good breakfast, and the bakery is convenient and decent.

Parking is a bit of a problem. Their lot is small, and if you can't get a spot there, you have to hunt around quite a bit. Also, since this is on Ocean Ave, outside sounds are audible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperRestless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in a courtyard room which was noisy because of bad soundproofing from adjoining room and public passageway immediately outside. Inadequate parking - their lot was full and nearest alternate was 3 blocks away - wi- fi did not work and we had to call the hotel's service provider for 20 mins to sort it out - no breakfast included at weekends ( our stay was Friday night into Saturday morning) & no alternate or recommendation offered - staff appeared totally disinterested in assisting

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Charming hotel in perfect Carmel location – an easy walk to the beach as well as the wonderful shops along Ocean Ave. One of the first hotels built in the area with antiques galore. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious. Buffet breakfast is included in price M-F. Staff is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an ocean view, however, they are a few blocks from the beach, so it's really onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMarchese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Pine Inn is old school with modern touches, located right on Ocean Avenue, the best location in Carmel. Rooms vary in quality, we had a nice ocean view king, and the amenities are good. Really loved the included breakfast in the restaurant Il Fornaio - it was excellent. Parking is available across the street in their own lot, which is a huge plus in Carmel! Overall, a great value and superb location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

When my mom (in a walker) and I arrived at the Pine Inn, it turned out our room was up a flight and 1/2 of stairs - something that was not possible for my mom. They immediately made accommodations for us at the Tally Ho Inn (their sister hotel across the street), in a beautiful, up graded room that was convenient for my mom. Lucille at the Tally Ho was VERY nice, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everyone we came in contact with at both inns went out of their way, and were so nice. The food at the Il Foraio was delicious!

Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel is centralized located, next to all the shops and restaurants. It is a short walk down to the beach too. The hotel includes buffet breakfast and have free wifi which was nice.

The room was clean but very small. And, the decor was different. :-) See posted pictures.

Parking is limited. Even though, we got a parking pass, there was no available space at the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EE2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing