We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Older hotel with fantastic location. Dinner voucher and breakfast, restuarant on grounds, included which was very good, with free parking. Very good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBNY6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    202
    101
    29
    17
See reviews for
64
359
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Starting with Ali at the front desk who anticipated our every need regarding our first overnighter with our 15 month old grandson and continuing with the staff who constantly inquired as to our comfort and seemed to appear out of thin air the moment we incountered some difficulty (strollers, ribs, umbrellas, etc.). What a pleasure it was. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trailsofadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel is decorated in old fashion by-gone era (maybe Victorian???). The location is best part of the hotel with friendly staff and free parking for guests. The rooms and beds are small. At $169 p.n. (exc tax), I thought this was ok but I would rather stay at the Comfort Inn down the street and get bigger but basic room then smaller more eloquent surroundings. I do not believe you need to stay in central Carmel. You can get better hotels/deals if you are willing to drive a bit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the Pine Inn and we don't know what all the fuss is about this hotel. There are too many stairs to climb; quite pricey for what is offered; no coffee/tea in rooms and the Il Fornaio restaurant doesn't open until 7:00 a.m. where you have to buy your own coffee! The only thing we liked about the Pine Inn was the buffet breakfast (at Il Fornaio) which was very good and was included in the price. We spent the previous night at Lobos Lodge and would certainly stay with them again. We would not return to the Pine Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pencils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
As I have written previously, the Pine Inn was the first hotel built in Carmel-by-the-Sea. The hotel has been designated an "Historical Resource" and as such the ownership wishes to maintain the style and ambiance that has made the Pine Inn a favorite for travelers for many years.

The Pine Inn does not have an elevator to reach the second and third floors, however we do have several rooms on the ground level that either have one king bed or two queen beds. These rooms also feature Jacuzzi tubs and the king-bedded room also has a fireplace.

And, please keep in mind that we do offer seasonal pricing and packages such as our "Room & Dinner" package. Call the hotel directly for more information and pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Staff was great and attentive, rooms where full of ambiance. Only one glitch though, when we ask the night desk clerk about going somewhere for dinner they were a bit condescending about how we were dressed. But no matter we had a wonderful stay and would return if the situation came about.
The 17 mile drive was spectacular as well as the sunset that evening and the restaurant at the Pine Inn was fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Just spent one night there with my 10 year old daughter, and we loved every aspect of our stay. Il Fornaio (restaurant located in hotel) is one of our favorites, and the complimentary breakfast included was a nice bonus. (disappointed to read the note from the hotel responding to another reviewer that the hotel is offering a credit for dinner at Il Fornaio... no mention of that when I checked in and I even had mentioned that the restaurant was our deciding factor to stay in the hotel and that we were eating there that night... wouldn't have minded saving a few dollars at dinner...but I'll remember to ask next time.) Hard to beat having free parking, and a great Ocean Ave. location. Far enough down the street to make walking to the beach easy, and centrally located to stroll around the many shops. We stayed in Room 37. Loved the old charm. Surprised that street noise was so minimal. Great bed... a terrific night's sleep. Very charming. Friendly staff. The doorman was very helpful unloading our things and taking them to our room while we went and parked. Very on par, and good value compared to other Carmel/Monterey establishments.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNK94025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
I am writing a brief note regarding the dinner credit in our restaurant, Il Fornaio. The credit is offered in conjunction with the "Room & Dinner" package. This package is seasonal and can be reserved through our website under "Packages" or by calling the hotel direct and asking for the "Room & Dinner" package. The price of the room is based on our "Best Available Rate" which, is also seasonal.

Again, this is a seasonal package and may not be available during special events and some holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here in this historic hotel. Although we had a few problems, the staff were exceptionally fast to respond to our needs. It isa beautiful hotel in a great location to walk to everything in Carmel, plus a beautiful ocean view. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing