We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“wonderful location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The location could not have been more convenient to downtown Carmel and the beach, and the free, onsite parking made it even more so! We had one of the two suites at the lodge, as our adult daughter was staying with us. The rooms were quite spacious and had lovely amenities such as a gas fireplace, two large screen TVs, and an outside patio. A couple of not so great things: the second bed in the suite is an average fold-out sofa-bed, which was as comfortable as it sounds; the breakfast was okay, but would have preferred getting just a big pot of freshly brewed coffee every morning and being able to select each day what we wanted for the following day; lastly, it would have been nice to have a chest of drawers in the bedroom. None of these things were deal breakers, and we enjoyed our stay very much. (Just beware of the sofa-bed, if you're use to a big comfy bed.)

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of having a street-side room; it's still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    149
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
269
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel was quiet and clean, staff were great! The pool was gorgeous, and their breakfast was quite plentiful. Our room was comfortable, the bathroom was a little small, but our view out the windows made up for it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annarborbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was just ok. I think we spent $250 for our room each night. We were looking forward to the unique experience of having breakfast delivered to our room each morning. Well, the delivery process didn't begin until 8:00 and I wish we had skipped it. That day we cancelled our breakfast delivery for the next morning and went out for breakfast.
The breakfast delivery consisted of orange juice(not freshly squeezed) and a couple of mediocre pastries and Greek yogurt. Bleh.
The room was very spacious and the grounds were attractive and quaint. However, wifi reception very poor and very slow and linens were of poor quality. As linens are my pet peeve, it was enough to dampen my experience. The bed, in addition, was not comfortable.
If you want a centrally located hotel, this is a good one for that issue!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jclarremore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here, after hearing a referral from a friend who visits the area with his wife often for golf, and weren't sure what to expect. I am used to looking online and booking it that way, and this was different! When we arrived we were tickled! The lodge was just charming, and the room was awesome. It was a beautiful, with plenty of space for my family of four. It felt European! It was beautiful, clean, and the staff/service was terrific. We have traveled a lot, and this will be a stay we will remember and recommend to friends, and to you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelove1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tri Cities, TN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a great stay at the Lobos Lodge. The price was very reasonable ($175 for an economy queen). Considering that that was the lowest tier of available rooms, we were somewhat concerned that it may not be desirable and that we may need to upgrade. However, our fears proved to be unwarranted. When we arrived we were greeted with a clean and modern room that was very nice. While it is the smallest room at the inn, it is still larger than your average hotel room. The bathroom area was very nice with ample counter space and a separate toilet/shower. The ceilings were vaulted which provided an airy feel. Since it was warm we had no need for the fireplace. Samples of good, locally roasted coffee packs were made available for use in a 4 cup maker and replenished daily by the service worker. The breakfast that was delivered daily to our door was sufficient and very good. It included juice, fresh croissants or pastries, and greek yogurt. It was delivered on time (almost to the minute) and included a copy of the Monterey Herald. I was very impressed and it was nice to relax with coffee and enjoy the food in the room. Overall I do not think this place can be beat, at least if you wish to remain in the same cost scale. Sure, if you want to pay $400 or $500 a night you can go to one of the pretentious other locations. However, I would definitely stay in the Lobos Lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a very nice quiet room about 10 steps down from the parking lot, with the bath/toilet separated from the well-lit dressing area, queen bed, a small couch and large flat screen tv, gas fireplace, small outdoor sitting area with garden view; all for just over $200. I should also mention that the room could be well-darkened with the plantation shutters -- a plus feature for us. We did not avail ourselves of the included continental breakfast, as we love to go for the great eggs Benedict at Katy's Place. The lodge is just across the street from Il Fornaio restaurant.

Room Tip: There are many different levels and types of rooms, so make any preferences known at the time of res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2calgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stay here during the start of the Concourse d' Elegance.

The room: It was their last room and it was absolutely charming. There was a little courtyard with shutters on the sliding glass door. It was nice to sit out on the courtyard with a bottle of wine and enjoy the beautiful weather and smell the ocean breezes. There was a fireplace in the room which we did not use, but it lended to the ambiance of our room. The bed was comfy and the bathrooms were clean. That's REALLY important to a fuss-budget like me.

The hotel: There is free coffee in the lobby, and the staff was very helpful in helping get around. They offer free parking which is really important during the car show because every inch of space is taken. It is right a the very edge of the downtown so walking to the various shop and restaurants is a breeze. It is also a short 3 blocks to the ocean. Grabbed a coffee from the lobby and took in the beautiful views the morning had to offer. We had clear weather and saw some dolphins playing in the distance. However, I was told that clear mornings like the one I experienced are few. I am told most mornings as foggy.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The price is reasonable considering the location, parking, and cute rooms. Please know that the lower rooms have some steps to navigate. Please let the staff know if you have any limitations and they will help you with your luggage. My husband is handicapped and the staff showed us a way to our rooms without having to use the stairs.

LOVED IT!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing