We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Liked the Lobos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Liked the Lobos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Lobos Lodge has a great position in Carmel, just off Ocean Avenue, perfect for the shops and eateries and also handy for the beach.

Having booked and paid a deposit before we arrived we didn’t expect any problems at check-in and there were none. Friendly and efficient service soon had us out of reception and into our room. The access to some of the rooms appeared to us to be a bit awkward (stairs, etc.), particularly if carrying heavy luggage, so if this is a concern for you, check with the hotel when booking. To access our room (11, on the ground floor) from the car park, there was a small, lit walkway so we didn’t have any access issues.

The room was very spacious for two, pleasantly decorated with the main room consisting of a King bed, sofa, small dining table, TV unit and gas fire. Adjoining this was separate toilet and bath with shower, sink and small wardrobe. A small, private patio offered outside seating.

The small gardens dotted around the property are well tended, providing a pleasant environment when coming and going.

A continental breakfast was included in our booking and delivered to our room each day. A small fruit cup, a muffin and juice each (with coffee made in the room) got us up and out each day. The timing of your breakfast delivery is agreed at check-in and remains the same during your stay unless you change it. We weren’t aware of this before arriving and as the 15 minute delivery slots are allocated on a “first come, first serve” basis, the remaining times were limited. Fortunately, we were happy with our agreed time anyway and it didn’t present any problems for us, however, it may be worthwhile also trying to arrange a breakfast time when booking if you think you’ll need a specific time slot.

The staff were invariably polite, friendly and helpful when needed and unobtrusive when not. Coffee and cookies are always on the go at reception/lounge, too. Great.

Would we stay here again? A qualified yes. If you’re happy to stay in the big chain hotel/motel and if their Carmel properties are doing a great deal, then opt for them, Carmel is small enough that any location is only a few minutes stroll from Ocean Avenue or the beach. If, however, you prefer not to stay with the chains and prefer somewhere with character, then make the Lobos Lodge your home.

  • Liked — Location and size of room/facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bubba&MaryJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    150
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
75
270
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Excellent value and location in Carmel. Just up from the beach and near to shops and restaurants. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We were on the ground floor with a small patio accessible from the street. The 'lite' bite' continental breakfast was delivered to the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. We got the best deal booking directly with the Lodge. The added bonus is that you have car parking without the hassle of meters and finding a space right in the center of Carmel. We ate at the 'Il Fornaio' on Monte Verde opposite the lodge. Excellent service and food at a very reasonable price.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SandDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Very comfortable room in a perfect location, convenient to the every place you would want to go in Carmel. The grounds are nicely landscaped with lots of flowers and the rooms are large and comfortable.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing, very pleasant stay.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

In a town that is almost too precious for its own good and filled with romantic rooms for two, this is the place for families. Thanks to the reviews , I booked a family suite here instead of several others I considered. Great location, high ceilings, lots of room,real kitchen , nice bathroom and a TV for the kids and one for the adults. Not a luxury suite with down comforters and scented soaps but a great value and very comfortable. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Welltravld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

The best thing about Lobos is its location. It is one of the closest hotels to the beach, about 2 blocks up just above the residential section and on the edge of the shopping/dining area, and ideally located for strolling the lovely town. (Though admittedly, all the hotels in town are close in.)
Our room was on the second floor on the furthermost downhill corner facing Ocean Ave. We had a simple balcony with a great view of Ocean Ave, and through the trees down the hill we could almost see the Pacific.
The courtyard area of the hotel is beautifully landscaped. Not fancy by any means, but lovey flowers and plantings.
Our room was very large. We had a "suite" with a king bed and sleeper sofa. It felt more like and apartment, really, with a mini-fridge and small dining table. After looking at several other hotels in Carmel, this really was a good deal for the money in terms of size.
We had continental breakfast brought to our room every morning, with pastry, fruit and juice and a sweet bud vase with fresh roses. Coffee makers were in the room, as well as free coffee in the lobby all day long.
The room was in need of an update, with worn furnishings and wall paper, although it was very clean. The bathrooom was fairly large. The beds were adequate, by no means uncomfortable but certainly not plush. Perhaps why so affordable compared to other Carmel lodging.
The woman at the desk was helpful in recommending restaurants. We ate at a fantastic Italian place on her recommendation (Luca.)

  • Liked — Location and landscaping, large room for the money
  • Disliked — Need of an update
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank towniemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We are regular visitors to Carmel and after reading TripAdvisor reviews we decided to change accommodation from where we have stayed previously. We chose Lobos Lodge and were not disappointed.
As recoomended, we booked Suite 37 which was clean and comfortable. On checking-in, there was some confusion with our booking but that was quickly resolved.
The Lodge is well located and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BlighWestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Spent one night at the hotel.
The accommodation was a very good standard and the postion of the hotel suited us as a base for the town.

A breakfast snack was delivered to the room at a mutually arranged time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing