We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Becoming our comfortable home away from home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Becoming our comfortable home away from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Close to a "five" in many ways but not quite there. We very much like the location, amenities, decor, quietness, cleanliness, size, gas fireplace and the balcony/deck of the deluxe king rooms (particularly one!). The grounds are very attractive . . . brick walks through beautifully maintained landscaping--brilliant flowers and attractive trees. Coffee, cookies and fruit in the lobby is always good. Parking is very close to the rooms. You can walk to almost any restaurant in town in less than five minutes (which means no driving to those of us who enjoy a glass of wine in the room and at dinner).

It is our experience that you can't beat this fine lodge for the price in central Carmel. Period.

A few small negatives, that as "regulars" as opposed to first time and rightfully impressionable visitors, cause us to withhold the fifth "circle" (call it a star). There are quite a few stairs and very narrow passageways to some of the room . . . which can make dragging a large wheeled suite case to the room a real drag. The delivered continental breakfast is always a disappointment--poor pastry and no fresh coffee (the coffee in the room is less than enjoyable--we tend to got out to one of the local coffee shops for a latte and a good pastry) And, the "service area" of the bathrooms could be larger--single sink and somewhat limited place for personal toiletries. These are very petty concerns. Last stay 2/27-28.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    149
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
269
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

besides the architecture that is so beautiful, the reception and the room were great. a new experience, the room is apart from the office and other rooms. the fireplace is awesome too. very romantic place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUIMARX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We (3 adults – 1 couple and a friend) arrived late in Carmel without a booking and after looking at a few different hotels stumbled across the Lobos Lodge.
We had previously looked at the Cyprus Inn mainly because it is partly owned by Doris Day. The room we were shown there by the snooty concierge who obviously didn’t like walks in, was tiny with only just enough room to get around the two ugly floral bedspread be-decked double beds. The room was sandwiched between the hall to the busy entrance foyer and a window to a well frequented pedestrian walkway – zero chance of quiet or privacy. There were also a lot of dogs in the foyer – not good for my husband who has allergies.

So not surprisingly we didn’t stay there (!) and continued looking at hotels not too far from the main shopping street of Ocean Ave.
When we enquired at Lobos Lodge we were greeted with a smile and then given the key to have a look at the proposed room. What a difference right from the start. When we opened the door to the room we were very pleased to find a very large room with two double beds, a sitting area, tv, little breakfast table, balcony and a spacious bathroom with plenty of bench space. The décor was light and airy and fitted well with the beachside location of Carmel-by-the-sea.

And it was cheaper.

And it was in a better location.

And it included onsite parking and a continental breakfast!

Some others have written that the breakfast was sparse. It’s true that it was on the small side but after eating far too much at every meal for the previous few weeks of our trip it was actually nice to just have a light breakfast of fruit, juice and a muffin – plus it was delivered to our room. Coffee is also available at the front office.

We were very glad we stumbled across the Lobos Lodge and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SherrySparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a great hotel (not part of a chain!) in a great location. The room was very comfortable with everything you would expect and more. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants in one direction and the beach in the other. Light breakfast is delivered to the room. Bathtub is great! We definitely plan to return to this spot. Price is very reasonable considering the prime location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We've been staying here every year for the past 5 years. Lobos Lodge is the perfect place when staying in Carmel for the ATT proAm at Pebble. it's within walking distance of a Pebble beach and all downtown restaurants. Its clean, reasonable rates, and we're already booked for next year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Milt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We drove into Carmel thinking we'd have to pay a lot of money to stay in one of California's exclusive areas. Wrong - Lobos Lodge was very reasonable and represented excellent value for money. Charming lady booked us in. It was nice that she was so proud of the establishment she worked for. Our room was on the ground floor facing the road - very spacious and comfortable. Exceptional housekeeping. Nicely decorated. Fire was a treat. Everything worked perfectly for us at this stop. Short walk to the beach - it is stunning. We saw seals riding the waves at 7.30am - marvellous. We walked to a local coffee shop in the Mall (lower floor) right at the top of the high street for our breakfast. Friendly locals and great coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and i stayed here on our journey from San Fran to LA. We spent one night here and instantly wished we have booked longer. The hotel itself is so friendly, clean, cosy and very well thought out. Not far from one of the most gorgeous beaches i have ever walked on and a short stroll from such a lovely boutique style high street. Carmel by the Sea is certainly somewhere that i wish to travel back to again and i would not hesitate to stay at Lobos Lodge Lodge again. Carmel is a pricey place to stay and we thought this place was superb value for money. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AimeeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing