We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us”
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We drove into Carmel thinking we'd have to pay a lot of money to stay in one of California's exclusive areas. Wrong - Lobos Lodge was very reasonable and represented excellent value for money. Charming lady booked us in. It was nice that she was so proud of the establishment she worked for. Our room was on the ground floor facing the road - very spacious and comfortable. Exceptional housekeeping. Nicely decorated. Fire was a treat. Everything worked perfectly for us at this stop. Short walk to the beach - it is stunning. We saw seals riding the waves at 7.30am - marvellous. We walked to a local coffee shop in the Mall (lower floor) right at the top of the high street for our breakfast. Friendly locals and great coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 478 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and i stayed here on our journey from San Fran to LA. We spent one night here and instantly wished we have booked longer. The hotel itself is so friendly, clean, cosy and very well thought out. Not far from one of the most gorgeous beaches i have ever walked on and a short stroll from such a lovely boutique style high street. Carmel by the Sea is certainly somewhere that i wish to travel back to again and i would not hesitate to stay at Lobos Lodge Lodge again. Carmel is a pricey place to stay and we thought this place was superb value for money. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AimeeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Really a charming hotel. Room was very spacious with a sitting area (sofa and TV) and a table for 2 dining area. Bathroom is large. Bed was quite firm, pillows were hard (bring your own!). There was no A/C which was not an issue at all when we visited in October, there is a large fan in the room. Room was very quiet, even with the windows open. Some street noise in the mornings. Breakfast is a glass of juice, small yogurt and some type of muffin/pastry delivered promptly at the agreed time each morning. Coffeemaker and fridge in room. Had a gas fireplace as well. Staff very pleasant. Great location with easy walking to all restaurants etc. Adequate parking in lot. It was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blong526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent three days in April at the Lobos Lodge in Carmel. The Lodge is a well kept motel just off of Ocean Avenue (aka "main street"). It has cute little manicured gardens and the staff are all very helpful. Our room was truly spacious. Even though the Lodge has been around a while, the room seemed like it had been recently refurbished. It was clean, light and airy. The bed was very comfortable. It was easy walking distance from the beach, restaurants and galleries. We found the complimentary breakfast disappointing; limp pastry, canned fruit salad, etc. We decided to get our breakfasts elsewhere. Other than that, we highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Pay the higher rate for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve80303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Basically it was the best room we stayed in during our 3 week road trip. The position is great, leave your car and you can walk to all the restaurants. The breakfast is very nice, not massive but very enjoyable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompeysunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in August. Totally agree with all the other glowing reviews. Huge bed, huge room, immaculately clean,fabulous fireplace (even in August the evenings were cool enough to allow ourselves to turn it on!), lovely breakfast, really pretty grounds- all great!The lay out of the hotel- with gardens and over different levels and seemingly in different sections, gives such a lovely feeling of privacy- and a really warm , welcoming character. The location is superb - so central.We had an upstairs room with a balcony looking at Ocean Avenue and towards the beach(even though there are cars going by to the beach- the traffic is Not a problem, its going very slowly and its not really a through route as such- this is coming from someone with a total aversion to traffic disturbance!)Sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was a real pleasure-and for watching The Dogs go by!!- Carmel really is a paradise for dog lovers! We had a fabulous stay in this gorgeous hotel in this amazing town- thank you to all and we would love to come back!Would strongly recommend Lobos Lodge!

Room Tip: we had an upstairs room with a balcony looking at Ocean Avenue- fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two night in August, over a busy weekend. Staff were extremely helpful. The room was spacious, almost the size of a suite, which made the price extremely reasonable for Carmel. Breakfast delivered to the room each morning - basic, but nicely presented and leaves you enough room to visit the wonderful Carmel bakery. Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank jacquiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $125 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing