We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“LOVED our stay here!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
grand rapids mi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“LOVED our stay here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here out of 8 day trip in Northern CA in late July. A refreshing break from your typical hotel. From checkin to checkout the front desk staff was cheery & helpful. The grounds (gardens) around the lodge are well taken care & nice to stroll thru. The beach is a short 5 min walk which we took each day. At the end of the beach is Pebble Beach golf course & you can watch the golfers. We also walked thru all the shops just steps from the hotel. We ate at 400 degree Burger one night & AW Shucks another night. If you have a sweet tooth for a baked good or amazing ice cream go to the Carmel Bakery.
Now to the room....LOVED IT. Upon reading reviews about hearing your neighbors we booked a top floor room & glad we did (although we still heard neighbors). Loved the soft colors of the room & the spaciousness of it. The room seemed to be meticulously clean - - a must for a good review from me. We slept like a rock on the bed, very comfortable for us. At our home we always sleep with a fan on for noise so we were excited to find a fan in the closet! We could see & hear the beach from our balcony. It's quite chilly (and foggy) in Carmel so we even enjoyed the gas fireplace in the room....yes, in July! I loved the light breakfast that was brought to our room althought my husband enjoys a heartier start to the day. Enjoyed the coffee & flavored creamer in the lobby but you can also make your own in your room.
Not sure we will be back in this area again but would highly recommend to others & would definitely stay here again if we do. (I really did not want to leave & move on to our next destination.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyof4fromGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    149
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
75
272
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Super cute hotel with rooms that look more like apartments than a hotel. Perfectly appointed and generous in space. Great value!!!! Great staff at the front desk who informed us that there was coffee in the lobby for the day and a continental breakfast delivery at our room for whenever when requested it. We loved the location which is on Ocean Avenue and a little uphill from the beach. We didn't expect Carmel to be so hilly (so bring good walking shoes). The hotel was clean and had a great king size bed. It was cool at night and we slept comfortably with the windows open. We had a gas fireplace in our room, but only used it for a few minutes in the morning to warm up.
We look forward to coming back to Carmel just to stay at this property. It was our favorite hotel out of four hotels on our week long trip to California, as well as the cheapest one.

Room Tip: Number 33 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed two night at Lobos Lodge in early June. Our room was somewhat elevated level and the slider door faced the ocean so I was able to listen to the sounds of the sea in the morning, which was nice...Lobos Lodge is a very nice place to stay. The room has plenty of space and it was very clean. What I really liked was the location of the hotel, about 5 blocks up from Carmel Beach and very close to the Carmel Gate which takes you onto the 17 mile drive. Lobos Lodge is only a couple miles to the Pebble Beach Golf Course, a very close drive. Another fun thing to do weather permitting is to drive down Hwy 1 about 25 minutes to the south and take a tour of the Point Sur Lighthouse, first come first served on that tour.

We will definitely stay at the Lobos Lodge again next time we travel up to the Carmel area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and spacious, however the kitchenette had no facilities at all , not even a glass!!!
The continental breakfast was ok , but consisted of a pastry and a small bowl of fruit.
The hotel is located in a really good position and clean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lorri69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We live just about 3 hours from Carmel. It's our favorite spot in California and we always try to stay at Lobos. We love the clean rooms, great service and how close it is to the beach. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessacCastellanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay in room 21. It was noisy- both from the neighbours above (we could hear EVErYTHInG) and from the mechanical room next to us. Rooms are spacious and location is great. But for the price point, continental breakfast of pastry and fruit is laughable. We've stayed in the same price point all along the coast and Napa and this does not compare- in a negative way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susq_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel: clean, comfortable, attractive. Our room I'd say was enormous by Carmel standards. It's very conveniently located at the end of the commercial part of Ocean Ave. only about 4 blocks from the beach (just know that it's a bit of a hill down and back). The staff is friendly and the amenities (linens, towels, afternoon cookies, etc.) are nice. Breakfast is basically one big pastry, but a good one.

Those things said it's important to choose you room very carefully. In downstairs rooms you hear the people upstairs walking around a lot. Rooms in the front are right on Ocean Avenue which has a lot of foot and car traffic. Rooms in the back are quieter except for Room 34 which backs up on a salon. They were open from 7:30AM until 7PM and we heard loud talking, water running and things moving around pretty constantly through that whole time.

In summary, with the right room this is a nice place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 34! Also I recommend second floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing