We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We live just about 3 hours from Carmel. It's our favorite spot in California and we always try to stay at Lobos. We love the clean rooms, great service and how close it is to the beach. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessacCastellanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    150
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
75
270
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay in room 21. It was noisy- both from the neighbours above (we could hear EVErYTHInG) and from the mechanical room next to us. Rooms are spacious and location is great. But for the price point, continental breakfast of pastry and fruit is laughable. We've stayed in the same price point all along the coast and Napa and this does not compare- in a negative way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susq_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel: clean, comfortable, attractive. Our room I'd say was enormous by Carmel standards. It's very conveniently located at the end of the commercial part of Ocean Ave. only about 4 blocks from the beach (just know that it's a bit of a hill down and back). The staff is friendly and the amenities (linens, towels, afternoon cookies, etc.) are nice. Breakfast is basically one big pastry, but a good one.

Those things said it's important to choose you room very carefully. In downstairs rooms you hear the people upstairs walking around a lot. Rooms in the front are right on Ocean Avenue which has a lot of foot and car traffic. Rooms in the back are quieter except for Room 34 which backs up on a salon. They were open from 7:30AM until 7PM and we heard loud talking, water running and things moving around pretty constantly through that whole time.

In summary, with the right room this is a nice place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 34! Also I recommend second floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is located at the bottom of the hill of he busy Carmel By the Sea shopping and dining area of town. After reading the reviews when I booked our room, I asked for an upper floor room but there weren't any available because our trip was so soon. We were located off of the parking lot in room 34. I never heard anything or anyone upstairs and they were completely sold out. The only time I knew anyone was at the hotel was I heard some people talking as they walked by. The room was much larger than I had anticipated even with seeing the photos. It had beautiful hard wood floors and what looked like brand new couch and rugs. The mattress was great (although we did bring our own pillows). The breakfast was great. The pastries served were huge and tasty. The first morning we had almond croissants and the second morning it was enormous blueberry scones. If we head back this way again I would definitely head here again. Not only is the price great but the rooms are large, clean and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2love22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location of this new lodge is fabulous for walking through Carmel and to the beach (the best in the world in my opinion with the clean powdery sugared sand)! Plenty of parking and off the street just enough by the angular architecture of this white Mediterranean structured building which houses a mini boutique and hair salon off the sidewalk to keep street noises at bay. Yet you are in the middle of shopping and fabulous restaurants. Carmel is easy to walk through and find your way around. My husband and I booked an upstairs king suite where no special touch was forgotten. From the sunny yellow tones of the room accented with white and teal to the large sky light window, luxuriously soft towels and good for you soaps, single serve Keurig coffee pot with great coffee, the deck, the couch and TV area...my oh my where do I stop? I can't because there is more! Nan at the desk makes you feel as you have known her all your life! She shows complete interest in each patron and gave them her full attention to detail with politeness, care, and professionalism. There are cookies and coffee in the lobby and lots of books to peruse if you wish to take a break in your day. Oh I can't forget the most important point. The bed...the mattress...I finally slept for the first time in a week while on the road. I slept like a baby and slept late which is unusual for me! They offer a delivered to your room breakfast which we were unable to partake due to the hour we needed to leave in the morning. We will be back and will not only stay here but recommend this to anyone we know going to Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InloveOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
358 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A perfectly located spot on busy Ocean Avenue...just a few blocks walk down to the great beach and right up the block to all the shops and restaurants. Super huge rooms, very clean, very comfortable bed and towels. The room was more like a suite with a sitting area that was great for relaxing after hiking/walking the area. The main negative we had was the noise from the beauty salon which backed to our room. For some reason, the man in their began talking at 7:30 am! And, I mean loudly!. Certainly, it would be a great advantage to have an upper floor here so you don't hear your neighbors walking around, also. Friendly staff. Huge pastries are delivered to your room along with fruit for a continental breakfast. I'd go again but would be careful about room selection.

Room Tip: Careful here...upstairs...17 and 18 looked like real winners! Ones facing Ocean will be noisy and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

For those searching for a place to stay in the Carmel/Monterey area that won't break the bank (at least not totally) and is nice, restful, beyond the utilitarian motel-type places, this is it. We really enjoyed the gas fireplace since the weather was typical for Carmel in the summer ... foggy, drippy, and gloomy. The bed was great and the sitting area made for a nice place to hang out within the room. We arrived early, wanting to just check-in and park our car while we walked around Carmel until our room was ready. But our room was ready when we arrived. The down-side was a City-wide water problem with iron making the water turn brown. By the time we returned from dinner that evening, it was better, but I still used bottled water to brush my teeth. The only other downside was the outdated TV, but that was minor in my opinion. Our room (#11) included great bed linens, gas fireplace with sitting area, hardwood floors, and a bathroom with the toilet and shower separate. The shower was a bit challenging to work, with touchy fixtures making it hard to keep the water temp just right. Despite these (minor) problems, I thought that the place was great and the location even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing