We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So Many Positives Here...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
348 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“So Many Positives Here...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A perfectly located spot on busy Ocean Avenue...just a few blocks walk down to the great beach and right up the block to all the shops and restaurants. Super huge rooms, very clean, very comfortable bed and towels. The room was more like a suite with a sitting area that was great for relaxing after hiking/walking the area. The main negative we had was the noise from the beauty salon which backed to our room. For some reason, the man in their began talking at 7:30 am! And, I mean loudly!. Certainly, it would be a great advantage to have an upper floor here so you don't hear your neighbors walking around, also. Friendly staff. Huge pastries are delivered to your room along with fruit for a continental breakfast. I'd go again but would be careful about room selection.

Room Tip: Careful here...upstairs...17 and 18 looked like real winners! Ones facing Ocean will be noisy and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    149
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
269
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

For those searching for a place to stay in the Carmel/Monterey area that won't break the bank (at least not totally) and is nice, restful, beyond the utilitarian motel-type places, this is it. We really enjoyed the gas fireplace since the weather was typical for Carmel in the summer ... foggy, drippy, and gloomy. The bed was great and the sitting area made for a nice place to hang out within the room. We arrived early, wanting to just check-in and park our car while we walked around Carmel until our room was ready. But our room was ready when we arrived. The down-side was a City-wide water problem with iron making the water turn brown. By the time we returned from dinner that evening, it was better, but I still used bottled water to brush my teeth. The only other downside was the outdated TV, but that was minor in my opinion. Our room (#11) included great bed linens, gas fireplace with sitting area, hardwood floors, and a bathroom with the toilet and shower separate. The shower was a bit challenging to work, with touchy fixtures making it hard to keep the water temp just right. Despite these (minor) problems, I thought that the place was great and the location even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had been in the US travelling the West Coast for a month and this was one of the last hotels during our stay! We loved this hotel from the moment we checked in, the staff was extremely friendly and told us the best restaurants in the town. Lodge is very central location to all the shops and only a 5 min walk from the beach.

The room is very spacious and has a vanity room and separate bathroom! The room has a small patio area and had a very beach vibe. The breakfast was delivered to our room, it wasn't much but a very nice touch!

The price was very reasonable for location and the room! we have visited a number of hotels during our treks and this was cheapest and by far the best we received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatU2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Lobos Lodge is in a great location in the heart of Carmel. There are many restaurants, shops and places to explore within walking distance. The beach is a quick walk as well! Our room was clean and spacious, and included breakfast in the morning. Breakfast consisted of delicious pastries, juice and fruit that is delivered right to your room. We were able to walk to dinner both nights of our stay and walk around town. The only complaints about Lobos Lodge was that the walls are very thin, we could hear the couple staying above us walking and talking. I would stay here again but request a top floor room! We highly recommend dining at Dametra Cafe which is across the street from Lobos Lodge. Make sure to make a reservation as without one you will have a long wait. Overall the Lobos Lodge was a great place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: Top Floor room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

For the price and location, I'm happy. But, upon arrival, there was no where to park because businesses (hair salon) had filled up the parking lot. We had to drive for blocks trying to find a parking space. The man greeted us nicely, and there were a plate of cookies available but no restroom which hurts after a long drive...The room was nice, clean, surprisingly big, with a fireplace. But, they are stingy with the towels! Only two adult towels? I need two just for my hair and body! So I had to dry off with a handtowel and dry my hands with a washcloth. The rates here on tripadvisor are also deceiving as the minimum price is $155 for the cheapest room. The evening noise was filled with banging from the neighbors, drunks from the beach, and tourists who didn't want to stop partying. Laughter, screaming, hooting, and yelling isn't my idea of a lullaby. In the morning, our breakfast arrived late - and they gave us sugary muffins instead of croissants as we requested. The fruit was a tiny plastic jello cup mixed with fresh fruit and CANNED pineapple! The woman at the desk in the morning, Nancy, was bitter and catty - who left a bad taste in the mouth. We were just trying to be pleasant to her but she was short, catty, and quite unpleasant. Hopefully you'll deal with the guy, and not run into her. The plus is, there is a noon checkout, and late checkouts are forbidden. Overall, there are so many places to stay in Carmel, I wonder if this was the best experience we could have had here....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked a five night stay at Los Lobos after reading all the glowing reviews here, and we are so glad we did! This lodge is in the heart of Carmel Village and blocks from Carmel Beach! We had free parking off street, but rarely used our car as we could walk almost everywhere. The rooms are casual but spacious, with a beachy vibe. We had a sitting area, small eating area, spacious bathroom with soaking tub, and a king sized bed in an alcove. There are lots of windows to let in natural light. We also had a small patio and the whole property is in a garden setting with winding paths and lush landscaping. The daily continental breakfast featured a gourmet muffin or pastry with fruit. The property is kept impeccably clean and the staff are very welcoming. The rates are very reasonable for Carmel. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Lobos Lodge is the perfect location for exploring Carmel. Five minute walk to the beach ans in the middle of the shopping area.

Pros: Friendly staff, location and large clean rooms.
Negatives: Slow Wifi, a bit noisy on the bottom floor, and bed was soft.

Overall we had a great stay and I would return.




  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing