We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“At first, Cute...but then, Reality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“At first, Cute...but then, Reality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

For the price and location, I'm happy. But, upon arrival, there was no where to park because businesses (hair salon) had filled up the parking lot. We had to drive for blocks trying to find a parking space. The man greeted us nicely, and there were a plate of cookies available but no restroom which hurts after a long drive...The room was nice, clean, surprisingly big, with a fireplace. But, they are stingy with the towels! Only two adult towels? I need two just for my hair and body! So I had to dry off with a handtowel and dry my hands with a washcloth. The rates here on tripadvisor are also deceiving as the minimum price is $155 for the cheapest room. The evening noise was filled with banging from the neighbors, drunks from the beach, and tourists who didn't want to stop partying. Laughter, screaming, hooting, and yelling isn't my idea of a lullaby. In the morning, our breakfast arrived late - and they gave us sugary muffins instead of croissants as we requested. The fruit was a tiny plastic jello cup mixed with fresh fruit and CANNED pineapple! The woman at the desk in the morning, Nancy, was bitter and catty - who left a bad taste in the mouth. We were just trying to be pleasant to her but she was short, catty, and quite unpleasant. Hopefully you'll deal with the guy, and not run into her. The plus is, there is a noon checkout, and late checkouts are forbidden. Overall, there are so many places to stay in Carmel, I wonder if this was the best experience we could have had here....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    149
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
75
272
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked a five night stay at Los Lobos after reading all the glowing reviews here, and we are so glad we did! This lodge is in the heart of Carmel Village and blocks from Carmel Beach! We had free parking off street, but rarely used our car as we could walk almost everywhere. The rooms are casual but spacious, with a beachy vibe. We had a sitting area, small eating area, spacious bathroom with soaking tub, and a king sized bed in an alcove. There are lots of windows to let in natural light. We also had a small patio and the whole property is in a garden setting with winding paths and lush landscaping. The daily continental breakfast featured a gourmet muffin or pastry with fruit. The property is kept impeccably clean and the staff are very welcoming. The rates are very reasonable for Carmel. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Lobos Lodge is the perfect location for exploring Carmel. Five minute walk to the beach ans in the middle of the shopping area.

Pros: Friendly staff, location and large clean rooms.
Negatives: Slow Wifi, a bit noisy on the bottom floor, and bed was soft.

Overall we had a great stay and I would return.




  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Hotel is the best real down to earth hotel. Rooms are so comfortable and inviting, Prices are exceptional, People are beyond exceptional. Everything one could want. From walking to the beach, to shopping Carmel is an experience. We went to the Mission. Could have spent a day just reading everything. Nice deli in Carmel for a quick bite to eat if you feel like staying in. Lobos Lodge can accomodate whatever your wishes are...Contintenal Breakfast so fresh, Coffee in the room..or in the lobby. Fresh fruit in the lobby also. Just a great feel good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This small lodge is ideally suited to explore Carmel. Although it is on the main street (close to all shops and restaurants), it is quiet and only a few blocks from the ocean. It is good value for the rates. It is modest in its decor but has everything one needs. My only recommendation would be to take a room on one of the upper levels as one can hear footsteps of the people above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on intermediate or upper level not lower to avoid footstep noise. We liked the room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Lobos Lodge after reading through the reviews on TA. Carmel (the cutest town on the coast) was on our trip itinerary and Lobos seemed the best value. And it was. The property is a rambling arrangement of low rooms with walkups and outside doors. What I like most was that Lobos was just off the main business street and a 5 minute walk to the beautiful public beach with Pebble Beach golf course in sight.

Our room (18) was on the top level, away from the street and very private. We also had a view of the ocean from a small private court/balcony. The room was huge, with a fireplace, vaulted ceilings, small breakfast table and king bed.

The decor was a bit tired but for me it added to the casual comfort of the place. We really loved our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 are on the upper floors and have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spockis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were just driving through Carmel, looking for a place to stay, Spontaneously. We saw that Lobos Lodge was rated highly on Trip Advisor, so we decided to check it out. Not only is this place very reasonably priced, but it is very clean, and charming. We had a full size room with a king bed, sitting area and full bathroom for only $155 a night. The gave us a free continental breakfast, AND FREE INTERNET! The Lodge is located at the base of town and we were just steps away from all the shops, and from the sea cliffs.
The only drawback? The beds :-( The mattresses are almost like trampolines: very bouncy, no cushioning, and not so easy on your back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing