We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Large rooms and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Save
You added Lobos Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Large rooms and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed just for one night but that was not enough! The hotel is set over a wide area and to get to your room you walk though outdoor paths and well kept gardens. Almost made you feel you were staying in a cottage and not a hotel. Rooms were large, well apportioned and the bathrooms had everything you needed. Breakfast delivered to your door was a nice touch, but there are better dining options up the road anyway. Can't find much to fault the place really.

Location of this place is mega, a short walk to the beach and the main road with most restaurants and shops is on the doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingLowLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    149
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
73
269
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed just one night here but wished we'd stayed longer. Very close to the shops, restaurants and beach, the location was perfect for our short stay and the room was huge! We had a massive bed, sitting area, fire, very large bathroom and the little balcony was an added bonus. If you want wifi this is not the place to stay but if you want a large, comfortable, clean and central place to stay with a little continental breakfast to start your day then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If all rooms are like ours then I doubt they have a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripNaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arrived in the enchanting town of Carmel on a Sunday afternoon and checked into Lobos Lodge. Had picked my room when booking. Check in was easy and friendly. Hotel is located on a hill so there are multiple levels. We were on the intermediate level facing Ocean Av with a small balcony. Room was spacious with a king sized bed, full couch, small table and small gas fireplace. Bathroom had a seperate toilet/shower room and loads of counter space near the sink. Mirror and sink arrangement not the best for a short woman but a common problem in most hotels. Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. There is parking in a tight lot but in Carmel space is at a premium!

We took their recommendation for dinner that night and for lunch the next day and were not disappointed.

Continental Breakfast of pastry, fruit and juice arrives at a pre-arranged time to your room each morning. Just enough so that you don't have to go out looking for breakfast and can relax in the AM.

Location is great for anything in center of Carmel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There is a site map on their website, take a look and decide where you want to be. If you mind road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzy214Burlington_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed one night on our way up the coast. Stayed first weekend in May and got "winter rates"....$125 a night! Perfect location; right in the thick of things....Shops, restaurants and a short walk to the fabulous beach. Rooms were spacious with quasi living room/dining area with small refrigerator for wine/cheese, etc. Great deal....check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
453 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We only had one night in Carmel and stayed here on the recommendation of some people we met in LA. Very well located at the end of Ocean Ave (almost) and rooms we massive. Ours just had an ocean glimpse but the room more than made up for it. Easy walking to shops and restaurants and staff were very helpful. They offer a complimentary breakfast delivered to your room at a time you specify (from the range they give you). It is small but enough to get you started. The best thing for many travelers is the12pm check out, but don't bother asking for a late check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is one of the best values in Carmel. The location can not be beat. The room we stayed in was large, old but completely up dated with new paint, counter tops and furnishings. Safe off street parking. A continental breakfast delivered to the room, with fresh flowers!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CareyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed one night but will be back. The room is more like a suite, very large and comfortable. Very convenient location close to the beach and on the main street of Carmel. You can walk everywhere. They bring a continental breakfast to your room. Simple but sufficient for a light breakfast. There are some views and you have a little patio or deck with most rooms as well as a fireplace. Our room 25 was in very good condition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing