We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven at Lobos Lodge”
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Lobos Lodge is a BEAUTIFUL place to stay if you are heading to Carmel, CA. The management (Mark) was supper eager to please and help you with directions, dinner plans and attractions. It is a Spanish Style hotel with beautiful gardens & fountains. Our room was beautiful and the beds were turned down every night when we returned home for dinner. Our daughter loved the mints left on the pillows and the breakfast delivered to our door each morning. If you are really lucky "Sophie" will greet you at check in or when you visit the main office. Thank you Lobos Lodge for a wonderful stay! Jeff, Julie & Hannah (NJ)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Lobos Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 473 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Lobos Lodge from 7/17 - 7/19/2011. We had our two young boys with us so we stayed in a big room (#51) with a queen size bed, day bed, and also a pull-out couch (but not comfortable to sleep on). There was plenty of space which was really nice! The location of the hotel was perfect for us!! We can walk to the beach from the hotel! It's also perfectly situated at the start of all of shops and restaurants. Oh, there's a parking lot for guests (great bonus!). It was also nice that breakfast was delivered to us (it's included) however since we are from the east coast, we woke up way too early and had to wait 2 hours for breakfast to be delivered at 8:30 (the earliest time possible). The 2nd morning, we didn't bother to wait for their breakfast. We walked to a nearby restaurant and came back in time to tell them we didn't need our breakfast delivered. Also, just fyi, our room did not have air conditioning. We only had a fan. It was a little stuffy in the afternoon and early evening but then it cools off during the night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RYMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

For the first time ever we relied entirely on reviews in tripadvisor when choosing Lobos Lodge for two nights on our road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We were searching the usual sources for a place to stay and although it didnt appear anywhere else the reviews on this site tempted us to take a chance.
Cleanliness and location are generally our major considerations and the hotel is sited at the sea end of the town and spotless.The rooms are large, comfortable and private. Car parking is free and the juice, pastry and fruit appreciated for breakfast. It must also be said that the price is extremely reasonable.
The only two drawback we noted were that there was no in-room safe (important for overseas travellers) or deposit facilities at reception and we had some trouble working the heater to maintain preferred room temperature (although that may not be a fault with the hotel).
Our sons who had their own room a short distance from us voted this the best room they stayed in duirng the 4 week trip, after only the Bellagio in Las Vegas, so I assume they also gave their stamp of approval.
While we always check tripadvisor and other sites when seaching for accommodation, we were extremely grateful to the reviewers for putting us onto the Lobos Lodge.

Room Tip: We were in room 18. Both 17 and 18 have seaviews when standing on the private balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bigbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Good location, delicious croissant for breakfast, and a large, clean room (although the furnishings looked like they came from the 70's -- a shag rug? Really?). But we didn't get much help from the woman at the front desk. We were staying in Carmel for the last two nights of our trip to the central CA coast. We asked if we could print out our boarding passes for our flight back to the East Coast the next day (we were flying on Southwest, and the quicker you print out the boarding passes, the better chance of getting a boarding number that would let us actually find two seats together). The woman told us no -- that they had no capability of printing out boarding passes (she said this as she was printing out an invoice for us). This is the first time that we've ever been told a hotel/inn/bed & breakfast wouldn't print out a boarding pass. She did direct us to the local library to see if we could use the computers there (we ended up having a friendly captain on a sailing trip we took the next day print them out for us when we were telling him about our experience). And then when we tried to change the time for the delivery of our breakfast on our last morning (the delivered breakfasts are scheduled in fifteen minute intervals between 8 & 9:30 each morning), this same woman at first told me no -- they were very busy, and we had to keep the same 8:45 delivery time that we had chosen that first day even though I told her we were trying to leave before 8:45 so that we could make it to the airport in time. She did call me back after speaking to Suzanne (I guess she is the manager), and said they'd deliver our breakfast at 8. But really -- why tell us no at first and get us even more ticked off by the lack of helpfulness.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JSL0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Heading down Hwy1 from San Francisco this was our second night of our visit that we had booked not booked a hotel so were happy when we pulled up in Carmel to find this place.. Friendly,clean & real good valley for money.. We had a large room with a small patio.. By no means ultra modern or old style chic but very clean & very welcoming.. We recommend going for a second floor room tho as the floors/ceiling is very thin & the slights movement upstairs echoed thro.. You get a healthy fruit breakfast , muffin & coffee or tea thrown in too..
Carmel it's self is a cute little town with loads of art shops & plenty of other places to blow some $.. With a very good supply of quality restaurants..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here for an anniversary trip to carmel. Our room was ready early was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We stayed in room 44, which was on the Ocean ave side and did not have much traffic noise at all. We even slept with the sliding door open and the window and did not hear anything. Our unit did not have air conditioning, not sure if any of them do, but we did not need it. We would stay here again. Plus they offer free parking and its a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grd24girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Currently staying here with my wife for our anniversary, and it's been SUCH a wonderful choice! So relaxing...quiet quiet quiet; cozy room & friendly staff. Right in the heart of where the shops are- very fun neighborhood. The room is clean & certainly awfully romantic with the fireplace & homey feel. Would recommend this place to any couple in love looking for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigfinklefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $125 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing