We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic hideaway - as advertised!”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2009

When we checked into the Tickle Pink Inn, like everyone else, we were thrilled! Yes, it is older. There really isn't any room service per se, and the rooms/grounds are a little smaller than they appear on the website. That being said, we were staying here for a romantic getaway and got just that! Greeted by an amazing staff, complimentary champagne, chocolates and a room with a view that we never wanted to leave! While the room was a little smaller than expected (#19), it was perfect and very clean - right down to the comfortable king sized bed! The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and we cannot imagine someone being dissatisfied with the choices. The wine and cheese reception is a must! Two different types of red, two of white, various cheeses with bread and/or crackers and fruit. A great place to meet and chat with others - or take back to your room! And the sunsets......ahhhhh. A wonderful meal can be found just steps away at the Highland Inn or a short drive into Carmel. One of the best parts is sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine (or whatever) and reading the stories written in the 'room's diary'. We felt a part of something special while there and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spencersbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
There are newer reviews for Tickle Pink Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2008

Maybe it depends on the room you get at the Tickle Pink Inn. We stayed in room 34, and it was absolutely terriffic! Our stay was part of a two-week journey that took us from San Francisco up to Lake Tahoe, down the Pacific Coast Highway to Los Angeles and back to San Francisco. We are glad we stayed at the Tickle Pink Inn!

We arrived in time for the wine and cheese reception, so we headed to the deck to enjoy that before settling into the room. We made sure we had a big lunch, so the reception would be enough to carry us through the night, as there is no restaurant on-site and we wanted to maximize our time in the room. The room itself was stunning! The wall of windows, a huge balcony and a view to die for! We immediately popped open a bottle of wine and parked our behinds on the balcony until the sun had fully set. Then we changed into our robes, and it was back onto the balcony. There was nobody on either side of us, but even if there would've been, the balcony was pretty-much private.

Our champagne arrived about 8:00, a little later than we would've liked, as we were well into lounge-mode! But, we stayed up late to fully enjoy the jacuzzi, the balcony and the view. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we stayed in it until the last minute! There wasn't a thing we wanted that wasn't provided in the room...hot chocolate, coffee, wine glasses, wine opener, fans, etc. I know I few times I said, "it would be nice if I had a...", and found it shortly thereafter right in the room.

There were two downsides:
1. No screen on the sliding glass doors, so if you want to leave the door open at night, expect a few insects to come in
2. The kitchen staff (for breakfast) doesn't speak very good English, so our order didn't get delivered, and we had to call again after an hour of waiting.

Other than that, kick back and enjoy the room to its fullest!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WithLoveFromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We were returning from a visit to see our Son and Family in SF. We stayed a TPI and loved it. They exceeded our expectations. Room was very nice, wine and cheese party excellent as we met many neat people and enjoyed the wonderful Xmas decor and fireplace.
Room view of ocean was great in Room # 18. We previewed more spacious rooms with our new friends but our room was clean, nicely decorated and fit our value/ cost budget.

We also like being outside of Carmel by the Sea but close enough for visits and dinner.

TPI was great for us and our budget.

Bill G, San Diego

1  Thank EdwardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

All I can say is that you have to go to understand. Everything from the moment we arrived until the moment we left was great. If you go, be sure to read the guest books in the rooms -- they have some great stories and add to the charm of the place. We went for our anniversary and could see ourselves going back there many, many times in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Tickle Pink Inn was a stop on our 13-day driving trip around California for our 10th anniversary, and was our favorite night of the entire trip!

We booked the best suite in the house, for which comparable suites in the area were going for double the price. We knew about the wine and cheese reception, so we arrived at 4:30 to take part in that. It was a perfect way to begin our stay, as we were able to unwind from our day-long drive from Lake Tahoe on a deck overlooking the Pacific ocean.

We made our way through the long pathways to our room, #34, and were stunned when we placed the real key in the door and opened it! The photos on the web site don't do it justice...it was a GORGEOUS room! Windows from floor-to-ceiling with spectacular views of the waves crashing along the rocks below, a large comfortable bed, hot tub, beautiful bathroom, bar area, fireplace, flat screen TV and more.

There wasn't anything we thought of that wasn't provided for in the room. Wine opener, wine glasses, coffee, candles, fans, bottled water, robe and slippers...everything! We started the evening with a bottle of wine we bought in Napa earlier that week and sat on the balcony to watch the sun set. At around 8:00, there was a knock at the door for a delivery of complimentary chilled champagne. What a great touch! Be sure to give the guy at least $5 for bringing it. Time for the hot tub (details omitted). Then, we started a fire in the fireplace and read through room #34's journal. It was fun to read about the people who stayed in the room throughout the year. Each patron seemed to have a special reason for staying at the Tickle Pink Inn, and a special story to share.

In the morning, we ordered breakfast (complimentary) to the room, rather than walking back down to the lounge where the wine and cheese reception was the night before. We sat on the balcony to soak up more of the viewe before checking out at the last minute.

This was a very special stay for us, mostly due to the Inn's staff, the beauty of the area, and our love for each other. We will return without hesitation!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxin-n-relaxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed in an Ocean View suite (room 34) and it was just wonderful. The room was very large with a sitting area and woodburning stove. The balcolny was large with fantastic views over the ocean. The room was clean and fully equiped.

Carmel is a lovely town, very quaint with lots of shops and galleries and plenty of restaurants.

A drive down to the Big Sur is a must, the scenery is spectacular.

Tickle Pink Inn is a lovely hotel and a great base for exploring the surrounding areas. we will definately stay there again the next time we visit Carmel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane5600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

$395.76 got us 1 night in Room 8 (we could not stand another night).
The hotel advertises rooms with views of the Pacific, log fires, jacuzzis etc.
What we got (for our $395.76) when we arrived at room 8 was a pile of the hotels dirty laundry that made getting through the door a challenge, a room that was bijou in size, a view of a 'cove', armchairs that faced away from the TV (and we couldn't move them), and little sign of much else.
$395.76 did get you the 'champagne' in a bucket. This turned out to be cava, and sickly sweet, flat, and with an aftertaste that reminded you of vegetables you were forced to eat as a child. We poured it down the wc.
$395.76 does however, get you a level of intimacy with your neighbours to either side, and spectacularly, in the room above. We can tell you their taste in music and tv, and for the room above exactly during the night when they made use of the facilties (and what they did!).
$395.76 does not appear to include ear plugs (perhaps this could be reviewed by management?), so it would be wise to take your own.
After a sleepless (and endless) night I asked reception if I could speak to the Manager (this was about 7.30am). I was told he would not be in until 10am, and when I asked to speak on his mobile was told this was not possible, I was also told a room change was not possible.
I was also told that in the circumstances the charge for taxes would be waived - comes as little surprise to discover they have been charged to my CC.
So, after a memorable 15 hour ($26.38 per hour!) stay we headed back in to Carmel where we found a great hotel - much nicer room, great people and much less cost. (It's the Homestead).
Our travel tip? When on Route 1 and you see the sign for the Tickle Pink - drive on! There's much better value in Carmel than this pretentious establishment.
Before writing this review I tried faxing the manager for his comments - the fax did not work, so I emailed him - still awaiting a response.
We stayed in a total of 8 hotels during our trip - all were vastly superior to the Tickle Pink.
D&M, Windsor, UK

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank DavidK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtoff, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2008

We are very sorry that this guest did not find anything positive to say about his experience with us. Regretfully, management only became fully aware of this situation upon the receipt of an email from the guest on October 27. A response was immediately sent out, but as of yet, we have not received a reply. It is our policy that, on a daily basis, whether the manager is on site or not, he is made available (by cell phone if need be) to all guests and for whatever reason. It is disappointing for us to learn that this guest experienced something different from our standard policy. We have since provided him with an appropriately generous discount in consideration of the hardships he endured.

Addressing these hardships, it was unfortunate that a laundry cart was inadvertently left near the entrance of his room during the time of his arrival. We have taken the appropriate steps to prevent this occurrence from happening again. It is equally unfortunate that he did not enjoy our complimentary bottle of sparkling wine (and chocolate truffles), as the great majority of our guests enjoy both its consistent body and flavor. While noise is a common complaint for many hotels, we make every effort to control and alleviate any disturbance when notified. Our resident night manager is also available after closing hours to respond to any complaints.

We apologize for the disappointing experience of this guest, and we would certainly hope that future potential Tickle Pink Inn visitors will take into consideration the overwhelming number of positive reviews and experiences shared by other previous guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
893 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
583 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $231 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing