We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

All I can say is that you have to go to understand. Everything from the moment we arrived until the moment we left was great. If you go, be sure to read the guest books in the rooms -- they have some great stories and add to the charm of the place. We went for our anniversary and could see ourselves going back there many, many times in the future.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    184
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
71
837
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Tickle Pink Inn was a stop on our 13-day driving trip around California for our 10th anniversary, and was our favorite night of the entire trip!

We booked the best suite in the house, for which comparable suites in the area were going for double the price. We knew about the wine and cheese reception, so we arrived at 4:30 to take part in that. It was a perfect way to begin our stay, as we were able to unwind from our day-long drive from Lake Tahoe on a deck overlooking the Pacific ocean.

We made our way through the long pathways to our room, #34, and were stunned when we placed the real key in the door and opened it! The photos on the web site don't do it justice...it was a GORGEOUS room! Windows from floor-to-ceiling with spectacular views of the waves crashing along the rocks below, a large comfortable bed, hot tub, beautiful bathroom, bar area, fireplace, flat screen TV and more.

There wasn't anything we thought of that wasn't provided for in the room. Wine opener, wine glasses, coffee, candles, fans, bottled water, robe and slippers...everything! We started the evening with a bottle of wine we bought in Napa earlier that week and sat on the balcony to watch the sun set. At around 8:00, there was a knock at the door for a delivery of complimentary chilled champagne. What a great touch! Be sure to give the guy at least $5 for bringing it. Time for the hot tub (details omitted). Then, we started a fire in the fireplace and read through room #34's journal. It was fun to read about the people who stayed in the room throughout the year. Each patron seemed to have a special reason for staying at the Tickle Pink Inn, and a special story to share.

In the morning, we ordered breakfast (complimentary) to the room, rather than walking back down to the lounge where the wine and cheese reception was the night before. We sat on the balcony to soak up more of the viewe before checking out at the last minute.

This was a very special stay for us, mostly due to the Inn's staff, the beauty of the area, and our love for each other. We will return without hesitation!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxin-n-relaxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed in an Ocean View suite (room 34) and it was just wonderful. The room was very large with a sitting area and woodburning stove. The balcolny was large with fantastic views over the ocean. The room was clean and fully equiped.

Carmel is a lovely town, very quaint with lots of shops and galleries and plenty of restaurants.

A drive down to the Big Sur is a must, the scenery is spectacular.

Tickle Pink Inn is a lovely hotel and a great base for exploring the surrounding areas. we will definately stay there again the next time we visit Carmel.

  • Liked — The view from the balcolny
  • Disliked — The road in front of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane5600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

$395.76 got us 1 night in Room 8 (we could not stand another night).
The hotel advertises rooms with views of the Pacific, log fires, jacuzzis etc.
What we got (for our $395.76) when we arrived at room 8 was a pile of the hotels dirty laundry that made getting through the door a challenge, a room that was bijou in size, a view of a 'cove', armchairs that faced away from the TV (and we couldn't move them), and little sign of much else.
$395.76 did get you the 'champagne' in a bucket. This turned out to be cava, and sickly sweet, flat, and with an aftertaste that reminded you of vegetables you were forced to eat as a child. We poured it down the wc.
$395.76 does however, get you a level of intimacy with your neighbours to either side, and spectacularly, in the room above. We can tell you their taste in music and tv, and for the room above exactly during the night when they made use of the facilties (and what they did!).
$395.76 does not appear to include ear plugs (perhaps this could be reviewed by management?), so it would be wise to take your own.
After a sleepless (and endless) night I asked reception if I could speak to the Manager (this was about 7.30am). I was told he would not be in until 10am, and when I asked to speak on his mobile was told this was not possible, I was also told a room change was not possible.
I was also told that in the circumstances the charge for taxes would be waived - comes as little surprise to discover they have been charged to my CC.
So, after a memorable 15 hour ($26.38 per hour!) stay we headed back in to Carmel where we found a great hotel - much nicer room, great people and much less cost. (It's the Homestead).
Our travel tip? When on Route 1 and you see the sign for the Tickle Pink - drive on! There's much better value in Carmel than this pretentious establishment.
Before writing this review I tried faxing the manager for his comments - the fax did not work, so I emailed him - still awaiting a response.
We stayed in a total of 8 hotels during our trip - all were vastly superior to the Tickle Pink.
D&M, Windsor, UK

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank DavidK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtoff, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2008
We are very sorry that this guest did not find anything positive to say about his experience with us. Regretfully, management only became fully aware of this situation upon the receipt of an email from the guest on October 27. A response was immediately sent out, but as of yet, we have not received a reply. It is our policy that, on a daily basis, whether the manager is on site or not, he is made available (by cell phone if need be) to all guests and for whatever reason. It is disappointing for us to learn that this guest experienced something different from our standard policy. We have since provided him with an appropriately generous discount in consideration of the hardships he endured.

Addressing these hardships, it was unfortunate that a laundry cart was inadvertently left near the entrance of his room during the time of his arrival. We have taken the appropriate steps to prevent this occurrence from happening again. It is equally unfortunate that he did not enjoy our complimentary bottle of sparkling wine (and chocolate truffles), as the great majority of our guests enjoy both its consistent body and flavor. While noise is a common complaint for many hotels, we make every effort to control and alleviate any disturbance when notified. Our resident night manager is also available after closing hours to respond to any complaints.

We apologize for the disappointing experience of this guest, and we would certainly hope that future potential Tickle Pink Inn visitors will take into consideration the overwhelming number of positive reviews and experiences shared by other previous guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed there for a week on our honeymoon and absolutely LOVED it! We were in room 4, which had a fireplace and a beautiful view from the patio. We had daily visits from the seagulls, enjoyed the complimentary wine & cheese (there was a wonderful Pinot Grigio from Chateau Julien), and made a point of exploring the area. Simply amazing. We'll go back for an anniversary for sure.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottb211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed for one night over the 4th July weekend,we got the last room,which had a 'partial' ocean view.
The setting is wonderful with beautiful views over the sea.
Our room was lovely and the bed superb.
Lovely fresh coffee making equipment.
We went for complimentary cheese and wine and met some very interesting people.Then we were brought an iced bottle of sparkling pink cava and a fresh rose.............what a nice touch!
Dinner was in the hotel next door (they booked it for us),and was lovely.
In the morning we sat in the jaccuzi before a delicious breakfast and then set off on the rest of our 2 week tour of California.
We chose the hotel (or B&B) as it's called ,from previous recommendations on tripadvisor and my thanks to all those people.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsnBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsmore, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed at the Tickle Pink Inn from 23 to 26 September. We had the very last room available - a suite. This was spacious but a bit bland in soft furnishings and decor. Nearly everything (cushions, bed quilt, couch) was olive green (including the sunken bath) or brown! Having stayed at quite a few modern "designer" hotels, we liked the charm of Tickle Pink, but felt an injection of colour in the decor was required and the brown carpet did not give me that luxurious feel! I now rather dislike gold taps and shower cubicles, and my taste would lean towards updating to limestone and modern frameless showers and chrome taps. Any bath that is not white now seems very dated!
The views from our balcony were amazing and although there was some noise from the road, this was more than compensated for by what we could see.
Breakfast, however, was a problem. It is served in a small space in the corner of the lounge and it is too small an area for the number of guests wishing to use it, hence people are jostling for the toaster, coffee, pastries and muffins. I was disappointed by the pastries and the hot dish was rather unappetizing - it was the same every day. Fresh fruit salads and an improved choice of cereals would be appreciated.
Having said all of this, we enjoyed our stay here. The reception staff were helpful and everything worked as it should. The beds are large and comfortable, and judging by the size of the standard rooms, a suite is worth the extra money. It is just that the "interior decorator" in me came to the fore!

  • Liked — spacious rooms and views
  • Disliked — drab colours
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BindiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing