We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey, but comfortable”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisey, but comfortable”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We we were looking forward to our short trip down to this beautiful town, but really kinda of disappointed in the experience. I will say the room was very nice decorated well, comfortable bed large bathroom, and welcoming chocolates and wine. Now the bad we came in the first night late but there was a pleasant woman to greet us, she did not explain very well how to get to our room and they had so much construction tape and roped areas off with little signage it was difficult in such a small boutique inn.Took us a good 15-20 minutes to figure out where our room was and ow to get to it. Now we get into the room and open up the sliding door to road noise down below, I was really surprised.This property is on the other side of the highway and you here the noise bounce off the walls. No ocean sounds at all. We couldn't see the ocean as it was dark only the roof tops of the other rooms. We had a very nice comfortable bed which was so great as I have lower back problems and this was perfect for me! We had a family that was above us, and they had small children that really ran in the room and made a a lot of noises. Not the the children's fault but the parents in my opinion. We travelled all over with our kids from 6 months old and taught them to be respectful in hotel rooms and hallways as they might wake someone up, but apparently this family didn't have the same respect for others. I believe they must have a had a ball of some sort as you could hear the plunk plunk plunk and then running like they were trying to catch it. So, about 1:30 am they finally settled down, but early 6:00 biy they were back up and just full of it!!! So, dang upsetting. You know the Inn wasn't really at fault but I just couldn't listen to another night of that if they were staying above us. So, we went to the small breakfast and couldn't find the location as the blockage of hallway and no signage. So I went to the front desk and asked and the nice lady asked how my night was I explained and she apologized said she would look into what was available for the second night if I wanted to come back after we ate.(very nice) My husband and I went to the breakfast room and it was so small and tight with one other couple and you guessed it the family of 5. Wow just amazing how they behaved in the small breakfast room. So we got up and went out to the patio next door where they closed a room and used the outside area for breakfast, not really optimal with one table dirty and only one chair that was too low for the table we just got up and left. When I checked back in with the front desk , she had one other room that was I guess much bigger and nicer than our room and offered it for double the price!!! I was flabbergasted so I declined and just went back to our room. My husband called a few other places but no luck for that night! So we endured they rude parents above us and did not even attempt the breakfast the next morning got up ready and left cause we couldn't even sit outside and enjoy looking at the ocean as our neighbors were there!!! So, I guess I would maybe try this again under different circumstances with the inn's construction done, and making a reservation that would not have anyone on top of our room or maybe farthest away from street .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swilley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We wish to thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review. We are all very grateful that our renovation work is complete...and thank all of you that endured it along with us. We are also very sorry that you had such a poor experience with "noisy" guests. Our Night Manager has been informed to keep a closer eye on such occurrences. We are hopeful that you may be able to return some day...and have a more positive stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    186
    61
    28
    12
See reviews for
73
861
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

What you see from the parking area of The Tickle Pink Inn, in no way provides a hint of the fantastic room and view that awaits. I do not know what the view is from other parts of the hotel because we did not want to leave our room, but I will say that the panorama that you are treated to from room 31 is nothing short of breathtaking! Move the balcony furniture around a little bit and you are treated to a fantastic view of the Pacific while sitting in the whirlpool tub inside of the room.

Skip room service though, which is provided by the hotel next door (Hyatt, I think). The food we had was not good at all.

Room Tip: I can only speak for room 31 and will say that if you plan your stay to be able to be in that room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMoonAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
All of our rooms do face out towards the ocean (and away from the parking lot). I am pleased #31 was to your liking. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband I and stayed here in early March to celebrate our babymoon and my birthday and we were very happy. This place hits all the marks for a pregnant lady and dad-to-be. Upon arrival, we were brought delicious sparkling non-alcoholic cider and a box of chocolates. The warm cookies in the lobby and afternoon wine (for him) and sparkling cider (for me) and cheese reception satisfied my constant urge to snack. I slept wonderfully in the soft bed and took several relaxing baths in the big tub. At night we watched movies we checked out from the front desk from the super nice and professional staff. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean from which I could see migrating whales passing by.

The Tickle Pink Inn is a short drive to Carmel, Monterey, and Pacific Grove. All cities have great restaurants. We're an outdoorsy couple, so we spent most of our trip in nearby Point Lobos State Park. It's a great spot for hiking and watching wildlife like whales, sea otters, and sea lions. Make sure you pack your binoculars and cameras!

Our stay at the Tickle Pink was a very romantic and memorable experience and I highly recommend it for any couples considering it as a babymoon spot.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor. You won't hear any highway noise; they're much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellohaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Congratulations!
I am glad you were both able to rest and relax during your time here together. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I stayed here for two nights. All the staff were very friendly, hospitable, and helpful. The hotel was very charming, clean and had amazing views. We were in room 12. I think it is the best value because it is a cove room that has view of ocean and cove, but is cheaper than ocean only view rooms. I did my research and it was well worth it. The breakfasts on the deck were fantastic. Expanded continental is
understatement. We really enjoyed the wine and cheese reception!! We did have issues though. They were doing roof work both days and it kept my wife from napping. The staff helped with a discount which was nice. Carmel and big sur are one of the most amazing places we ever been too. Unplugging from normal life and seeing the mountains, oceans, redwoods was perfect.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Binwinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Our Cove View rooms are a favorite for many of our guests. They offer a beautiful view of the ocean and the coastline. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I am very sorry for the noise disturbance. We did have a maintenance issue that has since been addressed. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livermore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband whisked me away to Tickle Pink for an early Valentine's Day celebration! We stayed in room 6, and it was breathtaking! About 10 minutes after getting settled, complimentary champagne and chocolates were delivered to our room. After enjoying a toast to the good life, we ventured down to the wine and cheese reception, amazing. Two types of reds, white, sparkling, and even sparkling cider were offered. There were 3 soft cheeses, several assorted varieites of hard cheese, fruit, crackers, and bread. It was a small, delicious feast, with the sunset as our backdrop. We then retired to our room, and enjoyed a real wood fire. The location of Tickle Pink made it very easy to visit Carmel-by-the-Sea for both shopping and dining. Our continental breakfast the following morning was quite a spread, and delicious! We also enjoyed the noon check out, we were able to enjoy a cup of coffee and the view, without feeling rushed.

Room Tip: Rm 6 has both cove and ocean views, along with a fireplace and large balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank towanda324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
There is nothing worse than being rushed while on vacation. I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy your stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Tickle Pink is a wonderful small hotel in a beautiful location. It has the best views of the Northern California coast you can imagine, and is close to the restaurants and shopping of Carmel, CA. The hotel is convenient to Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway by a 20 minute drive. It has great service, and a nice breakfast and afternoon wine/cheese reception. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Preston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Even though we are close to many favorite area attractions, I feel that we are just "far enough away". I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were celebrating a Birthday and our Golden Anniversary. We stay'd at Tickle Pink Inn, 50 Years ago when it was named Tickle Pink Motor Inn and it's even better now, then what we remember back then.
Not only spectacular white water views of the Ocean from a private balcony but you will also be pampered to perfection. The office and service staff are World Class and extremely quick to assure your needs are promptly taken care of.
The Continental Breakfast and evening Wine & Cheese are beyond perfection. The Buildings and Grounds are continuously maintained and the Rooms are spotlessly clean. Even after a 6 Day visit we didn't want to leave, that's the ambiance of Tickle Pink Inn! Tickle Pink Inn will be an annual event from here on...
Hats off to the to the friendly and helpful staff at Tickle Ping Inn!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOOTLTUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
The view here speaks for itself, but as you note, it is our staff that we feel makes us so special. I am very pleased that they surpassed your expectations. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
857 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,657 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing