We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegantly relaxed property”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

After a holiday visit with family and friends we wanted some quiet time for ourselves. Close to the ocean was a prime consideration.

We found the website somewhat confusing but thanks to superb service from reservations we ended up with a perfect suite. Killer view straight across the road and over the trees to the Pacific, fireplace, large living room and spacious bedroom. Wraparound deck with guardian gull!

We particularly liked that in such an elegant room there were two (concealed) refrigerators, a small sink, small microwave and some dishes and silverware. Also a coffee maker. For tea a call to the front desk brought a jug of hot water, cups and tea. Any time.

It was a treat to be able to bring in some food and eat in the room or on the deck, esp. after travelling for several weeks .

Breakfast was filling and varied each day. Beautifully arranged. A bit brisk for us to eat outside, but some hardy souls did.

Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Warm cookies each afternoon sure help too! We received excellent restaurant recommendations as well.

Very good value for money and who does not like feeling pampered and special. We would love to go back. Seemed to be some magic dust in the bed. We both slept so very well.

And yes, we travel a lot, all over the world and can be VERY critical. Tickle Pink doesn't need or deserve criticism from us for this stay. Hence the high ratings!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quoi de neuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

I am so happy that you enjoyed your Suite...and slept so well. And thank you for recognizing the efforts of our staff. They truly enjoy hearing such positive comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

We visited Tickle Pink this past November, and decided to finally getting around to review. We had room #24, 2nd floor with the best views of the coast. Large expansive deck/balcony. We enjoyed our time here immensely. Although pricey, we felt it was worth the price of admission. You simply cannot beat the experience of having such a beautiful, serene place to visit for relaxation and ambiance.

My wife practically melted into the bed and could hardly wake her up in the morning to get her down for our breakfast treat. We did not want to leave the room, it was so nice to be there.The pluses:
1. large suite
2.comfortable bed
3. fireplace
4. view
5. peaceful and intimate setting
6. highlands location
7. expansive balcony
8. good breakfast options
9. afternoon wine and cheese
clean room

minuses:
1. Dated decor
2. uncomfortable sofa
3. small bath area
4. creaky floors near door
5. terrible parking, hard to find a spot and tight.

We had one odd experience our first night. The fire alarms wen off and made a horrendous noise throughout the whole hotel complex. The staff could not turn it off. the fire dept came and we expected that we would need to evacuate. We got no information or any explanation on what was going on. We had absolutely no idea of what to do. This was around 9:00 pm. Imagine, having the alarms in the room and the whole hotel blasting for approx 1/2 an hour.

The least the management could have done is offered us some short of explanation or maybe a discount for the situation due to our discomfort and inconvenience. The staff at the front desk were not very warm and friendly. I would describe their attitudes as distant and aloof maybe. They just seemed to not be very personable. I mean, this was our first time, and we were excited to be there. Oh well, it did not ruin the whole experience of it.

I got time to do some jogging in the hills, very pleasant forest surroundings and nice people walking their dogs. Other fun things to do include visiting down town Carmel and Point Lobos for some power walking on the trails. We had a great time.

Tip: you can park across from park on Highway one and avoid the entrance fee, just walk on in.

Room Tip: room 24, 2nd floor for optimal views of cove and beach, large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
I would like to apologize for the fire alarm inadvertently sounding. The system was just installed and the alarm company was still trying to work out all the "bugs"...and that is why our staff may have seemed a little distraught. Fortunately, it has since been repaired and all is working fine. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my birthday. We were in room 2, it was wonderful! The view from the room was amazing! The room felt like home with all the small touches that they add. Since it was my birthday, they delivered champagne with chocolate and a card to the room after we checked in. It was very surprising and thoughtful. We enjoyed the champagne and watched the sun set on the porch. Breakfast was better than I anticipated. The description is continental, but I felt they went above just continental offering a variety of juices, fruits and hot items. They also offered happy hour with wine and cheese. It was delightful to sit and enjoy the view with wine and some some food. The location was perfect! It was very close to Point Lobos National Park. We came to enjoy the sites and views. I didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back! You won't be disappointed! We didn't enjoy the hot tub, but we walked by the area and it was very lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We do have the perfect location for viewing nature, (the whales are migrating) Point Lobos is spectacular as well. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Well, where to start with this hotel? It really is like no-where else I’ve ever stayed before, and I mean that in a good way. Really smooth check in, quite a few steps involved getting to the room but I’ll gladly gloss over that and anyway the porter did offer to help us. The hotel knew this trip was for my husbands 50th birthday and there was champagne and chocolates waiting for us on arrival – lovely touch. The room was huge with a lounge area that included an open fire, and a bedroom area that included a whirlpool bath. Absolutely stunning views over the bay, great at any time of day.
Every evening there is a wine and cheese reception which is a lovely idea, and this can be enjoyed either indoors in front of the fire or on the heated outdoor terrace watching the sun go down. The hotel is quite remote and there aren’t many eating options in the vicinity although I gather there is an arrangement with the Hyatt property next door and they will deliver food. Here’s my tip.........go into Carmel for a lovely languid lunch, stop off and buy snacks on the way back to the hotel, enjoy the wine and cheese reception, hire a DVD from reception (no charge), light your fire, watch your DVD and eat your snacks – BLISS!!
I must give a special shout out to the lady on reception (sorry didn’t get her name) when I asked for help due to excruciating toothache. She went out of her way to help and I’m very grateful.
Tickle Pink Inn truly is a special place

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to assist with your toothache. Hope you are feeling better and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was not our first stay at Tickle Pink Inn. We had stayed here about ten years ago. This time we had room 23. What a wonderful view from the room. The bathroom was a nice size and so was the room. ..extremely spacious and quiet. Even though we went in the summer, we had the fireplace on every night. The breakfast was wonderful and I couldn't have been more pleased with the reception. A bottle of champagne was waiting for us in the room. We needed to leave early on our departure day and they gave us our checkout receipt the night before. We recommend Tickle Pink Inn to anyone staying around Carmel. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Room 23 is an excellent location..views are wonderful, room extremely spacious as well as the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctgvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

There is something to be said about our "coastal fog" during the summer. Toasting with champagne in front of the firpelace! We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 20th anniversary. The room was spotless and well maintained daily and offered exceptional views from the large balcony. Upon arrival, a bottle of champagne and chocolates arrived, the person who made my reservation asked if the stay was for a special occasion, and they followed through, a nice touch. Breakfast is served daily, and while not extraordinary, it's a definite step up from plain old continental and gives you the opportunity to have a bite and coffee before starting the day. It's served in a lovely area with both indoor and outdoor tables, with heaters outdoors. The staff keeps an eye out that things are restocked as needed, so there is plenty to choose from. There is a small, but beautifully designed hot tub that we enjoyed during our stay, with surprisingly no other guests on each visit, it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Good location with easy access to main roads, but high above them, so you really only enjoy the sounds of the water with outstanding views.

Room Tip: Rooms with a full view are worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDKSRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your anniversary getaway and were able to enjoy all the amenities the Inn has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I don't even know where to start with this place. It's a slice of heaven! My fiancé and I stayed for two nights in a Ocean front suite/hot tub room. We were in room 34. I requested a upstairs room, but they were all taken, but trust me if you get "stuck" with a lower room....it's still breathtaking!

The noise level for a lower room isn't bad. Yes, we heard the people upstairs, but only in our bathroom (and you can shut the door to the bathroom which decreased the sound even more) and only when they put their hot tub on. It was more of a "humming" sound....it wasn't ridiculously annoying or anything. I'm guessing we got lucky with the people above us? Because we didn't hear them at all....just the hot tub when they used it.

Breakfast was extremely nice and I enjoyed every bit of it!

I REALLY enjoyed the complementary wine, cheese, fruit, and crackers. The view was GORGEOUS! It was so nice to sit and enjoy wine and food while viewing the beautiful sunset.

Tickle Pink does have room service, but it's limited. They have a snack menu and an extensive wine list. My fiancé and I didn't want to drive anywhere for dinner, so on both nights, we ordered dinner from the Hyatt-- that was bought to us in our room --the Hyatt is literally next door, so service was quick. There is a Hyatt dinner menu in each room. The food was delicious. Room service for both places ends at 10pm.

This place really pays attention to the little details. I was bummed out because I had forgotten candles (to put by the hot tub), but to my surprise, there were some in the room that we could use. I thought that was a nice touch. The showers are nice and big and they even have a phone by the toilet.

The TV is not in a fixed place...which we really liked. You can swivel the TV to the living room area if you wanted to watch something on the couch) ,towards the bed, or even watch a movie/show while relaxing in the hot tub.

The view was PHENOMENAL from the balcony (and everywhere else in and around the Inn) and service was GREAT ---they really try to accommodate your every need and want.

For some, the price for this particular room could be an issue, but obviously they have other rooms that are cheaper. It was actually an issue for me, so that is why I waited until they had their WINTER rates (20% off a room) and we went on a weekDAY. It was considerably cheaper and worth it! The weather was extremely nice for the month of January and it was pretty warm.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We are pleased you appreciated all the little details and were able to take advantage of our "Winter" rates. It is hard to believe it is winter with the spectacular weather we have be having. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
619 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $231 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing